Beat logo

Oh! The Misunderstanding of Being a Teen!

In these crucial years, adulthood starts to take shape. You discard your childhood shell and armor yourself up for the world beyond your door.

By Sylvie GagnéPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
6
Oh! The Misunderstanding of Being a Teen!
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

1975. Gen X: I am one of those like they don’t make them anymore.

High school. I hated it. Loved learning but hated the people: students and teachers alike! What a bunch of idiots, mean spirited persons were they! I was their sacrificial lamb.

Music was my refuge. It always had been ever since I was able to put on a record. I love all style of music, but here are the songs that mark me most as a teen.

1. Queen of Rain - Roxette 1992

I have always been a loner. In Grade 10, I became depressed. I was hearing hallucination commands. I knew if I told someone, they’d say I’m crazy. I was suicidal. I didn’t know it then, but it was the beginning of my bipolar disorder that was showing its ugly face.

Queen of Rain helped me through those hard times, to pull me forward, towards something better. I also had a major Crush on Per Gessle!

“There's a time for the good in life

A time to kill the pain in life

Dream about the sun

You queen of rain

It's time to place your bets in life

I've played the loser's game of life

Dream about the sun

You queen of rain”

Songwriters: Per Gessle, Hakan Persson, Mats Gomez, Escolar Roldan Luis

2. No Justice – Harem Scarem 1993

Of course, I felt like everyone was against me, even my parents. They didn’t see the depression creeping in, they didn’t care. Or so I thought back then.

“Whatever I take

Or whatever I give

Doesn't seem to matter anymore

When there's no

Justice in the world

No justice in the world

You feed the fire when you say it's all over

No justice in the world

When you realize that the devil's got your number”

Songwriters: Hess Harold John, Lesperance Peter Alan

3. If There Was a Time – Harem Scarem 1993

This song is about the imperfection in all of us, how I failed my family and myself. I also learned that, even though everyone is imperfect, we are still worthy of forgiveness and mercy.

“Is there something wrong with my brain

(...)

Last time I checked I'm at 34 sins

Another won't matter 'cause I'm never gonna win

Hoping now I'm on a road that I can change

Cause I'll change

If there was a time when I needed to pray

That the cold wind blows away

If there was a time when I needed a place

To wipe the guilt free from my face

If there was a time for mercy in my life

It's right now”

Songwriters: Hess Harold John, Lesperance Peter Alan

4. Saviors Never Cry Harem Scarem 1993

So time went on, I chose to do things I’m not too proud about. Yet, at the same time, I became my own hero, within my mind, who could save myself from the bullies, the bad events in my life and in the world, save myself from my dysfunctional parents and my darkest thoughts. Now, I have a much more healthier relationship with my parents. But then again, hindsight is always 20/20.

“I've sown and you've sown the seeds of youth

Time won't and I don't conceal the truth

So get up and fly away

Or forever be in doubt

You know - saviors never cry

You're hot on the heels of hope and love

Dreams can never die

Tear down the walls you hide behind”

Songwriters: Hess Harold John, Lesperance Peter Alan

5. Livin’on the Edge Aerosmith 1993

I remember the cover art of this album, Get a Grip. It is a cow’s udder which has a piercing and a branding of the band’s name. My father thought it was utterly ridiculous! I was in my heavy metal phase: that is all that I would listen to. However, I quickly discovered that the lyrics of certain songs made sense and had a lasting effect on me. I never was a racist. I embrace diversity and I keep on questioning myself and all who surrounds me.

“There's somethin' wrong with the world today

(…)

If you can judge a wise man

By the color of his skin

Then mister you're a better man that I”

Songwriters: Steven Tyler, Mark Jeffrey Hudson, Anthony Perry

6. Civil War – Guns N’ Roses 1991

This song was probably the one reason I started listening to Guns N’ Roses. The lyrics of Civil War are so deep: terrifying, oppressing, yet true. Still today, unfortunately. Be any kind of war, death is always the champion, regardless of the reasons for the war itself. Warfare is big business, but mass casualties are it’s true cost.

“My hands are tied

The billions shift from side to side

And the wars go on with brainwashed pride

For the love of God and our human rights

And all these things are swept aside

By bloody hands time can't deny

And are washed away by your genocide

And history hides the lies of our civil wars”

Songwriters: Axl Rose, Slash, Izzy Stradlin, Duff McKagan, Steven Adler

7. Don’t Drop That Bomb on Me – Bryan Adams 1991

Where I grew up, we had about an acre of land onto which many trees lived. The natural environment of my home made it possible for me to grow up near various ecosystems. We had a pond, a small forest like area, gardens, green lawns. Through the years, I saw many animals: robins, woodpeckers, chickadees, grosbeaks, partridges, great horned owls, crows and ravens. On land: groundhogs, rabbits, frogs, moose, mice, snakes, bats and many more. I grew up with a love of the land and nature. My yard was my salvation: I could be whomever I wanted to be when I was outside. Naturally, I’ve always been concerned with the environment and climate change (which was just at the greenhouse gas effects at the time).

“We sailed our ships upon the shores

That once were out of reach

Turned the silence into war and bloodied up the beach

Trashed the forests and the trees

Til there's nothin' left to cut

We raped the rivers and the seas and turned the land to dust

It goes on and on

On and on...”

Songwriters: Bryan Adams

8. Keep the Faith – Bon Jovi 1992

A few days before high school graduation, I got into a major argument with my friends. They picked that day to tell me they didn’t want me at their grad party. I was too bossy for them! They couldn’t control me, was the main reason. Oh, and I had a date for prom and they didn’t. Jealous, petty girls! One of them even had the nerve to go tell a teacher I was going to kill myself, while hiding razor cuts on her wrists. I was so pissed! I had half my world pulled out from under me. It hurt like hell! And I could have become bitter and cynical. I kept on listening to Keep the Faith on repeat for hours just to calm myself down that afternoon, after school.

“I have suffered for my anger

There are wars that can't be won

(…)

And it's hard to hold on

When there's no one to lean on

(Faith!) You know you're gonna live through the rain

Lord, we've got to keep the faith

(Faith!) Don't you let your love turn to hate

Now we've got to keep the faith

Keep the faith

Keep the faith

Lord, we've got to keep the faith

(…)

"I been walking in the footsteps

Of society's lies

I don't like what I see anymore

Sometimes I wish I was blind

Sometimes I wait forever

To stand out in the rain

So no one sees me cryin'

Trying to wash away this pain"

(…)

There's things I've done I can't erase (Everybody needs somebody to hate)

Every night we fall from grace (Everybody's bitching 'cause they don't get enough)

It's hard with the world in your face (Everybody needs)

Trying to hold on, trying to hold on (Everybody, keep the faith)

Lord, you've got to keep the faith

(Faith!) Don't you let your love turn to hate

Right now we've got to keep the faith

(Faith!) Keep the faith

Keep the faith

Try to hold on, trying to hold on, yeah”

Songwriters: Child Desmond, Bongiovi John F, Sambora Richard S

9. Terre Promise – Éric Lapointe 1994

Part of being bipolar is having mania. I didn’t know it at the time, but it would take me hours to fall asleep. So, I’d tune in to my town’s radio station which happened to be broadcasting Montreal’s Radio Énergie, which played both French and English hits of the time. Yeah, I lived in a small town tucked away in the northern part of a province. I would listen to the radio in hopes of hearing my favorite songs, like this one, Terre Promise, ‘cause I just loved it so much! And it spoke to me at the time because I still hadn’t decided what I wanted to do after high school. “Pushed by the wind, wherever the road takes you, someone is waiting for you to come in their life…”

«Poussé par le vent

Partout où la route te mène

Où quelqu'un t'attend

Poussé par le vent

Partout où la route te mène

Quelqu'un t'attend»

Songwriters: Éric Lapointe & Aldo Nova

10. 7 Seconds – Youssou N’Dour (Neneh Cherry) 1994

This is another song that I fell hard for. It’s about racism, violence, what women should think, like we are not human enough to have our own thoughts. It’s Africa in the grip of colonialism fragmentation, warfare, capitalism, power vacuum, apartheid.

I also digged the fact that it was sung in tree languages: Wolof, French and English. I also discovered it on those long restless nights, plugged into my radio.

“J'aimerais qu'on oublie leur couleur pour qu'ils espèrent

Beaucoup de sentiments de race qui font qu'ils désèspèrent

Je veux les portes grandement ouvertes,

Des amis pour parler de leur peine, de leur joie

Pour qu'ils leur filent des infos qui ne divisent pas

(…)

And when a child is born into this world

It has no concept

Of the tone the skin is living in

And there's a million voices

And there's a million voices

To tell you what she should be thinking

So you better sober up for just a second

7 seconds away

Just as long as I stay

I'll be waiting”

Songwriters: Youssou NDour – Neneh Cherry

11. Eye of the Tiger – Survivor 1982

I was bullied in high school. Verbally and physically. I had to learn to fight back, stand my ground, use my fists when necessary, and my voice when needed. It was hard. Most bullying was in grade 9, although I became very lonesome in grade 10. Grade 11 and 12 were slightly better. Almost at the end of high school, some punk kid in 8th grade decided to hit me on the school bus. I was not about to take it! He was twice my size and about the same height as I. I shoved him back. He charged me and tried to suffocate me. I kick him off me into the seat across from mine. Should the bus driver have not interfered, I would have drawn first blood. And this, my friends, is survival instinct!

“Rising up to the challenge of our rival

And the last known survivor

Stalks his prey in the night

And he's watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Face to face, out in the heat

Hanging tough, staying hungry

They stack the odds 'til we take to the street

For the kill with the skill to survive”

Songwriters: Frank Sullivan, Jim Peterik

12. Mighty Wings – Cheap Trick 1986

Every now and then, I got discouraged and down. This song would perk me up, make me strive for excellence and push myself to finish the task at hand. After all, there’s no glory in being second best.

“I take a chance on the edge of life

Just like all the rest

I look inside and dig it out

'Cause there's no points for second best”

Songwriters: Mark Spiro, Harold Faltermeyer

13. Papa – Paul Anka 1974

This song was introduced to me by my mother. She said it reminded her of her dad. It does remind me of my father as well. I still cry every time I hear it. I became aware how finite life can be, and that even should you have children, eventually, they will leave the nest and fly on their own. I have always loved my Papa dearly, to the point where I held him on a pedestal. I’ve grown since then, he is no longer on the pedestal, yet, still very dear to me. I am lucky to still have him in my life, just like my mom. I dread the day when they will pass away.

“Everyday my papa would work

To help to make ends meet

To see that we would eat

Keep those shoes upon my feet

(…)

Growing up with him was easy

Time just flew on by

The years began to fly

He aged and so did I

(…)

Every time I kiss my children

Papa's words ring true

Your children live through you

They'll grow and leave you, too

I remember every word my papa used to say

I live that every day

He taught me well that way”

Songwriter: Paul Anka

14. You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette 1995

First serious heartbreak. How much I did cry! My mother comforted me all night long and even slept besides me in my tiny bed. My heart was heavy and hurting infinitely! Or so I thought! This song is the anthem of teenager’s angst!

“You seem very well, things look peaceful

I'm not quite as well, I thought you should know

(…)

And I'm here to remind you

Of the mess you left when you went away

It's not fair to deny me

Of the cross I bear that you gave to me

You, you, you oughta know”

Songwriters: Morissette & Ballard

P.S.: The album was released before I turned 20 years old!

P.S.S.: I want to thank YOU TUBE, from which all the links are taken from.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Sylvie Gagné

I’m a high school teacher in a French Catholic board in Ontario, Canada.

I love traveling, cooking and listening to music.

I’ve always had a very imaginative mind since I was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.