Beat logo

New Hip Hop Heartthrob and Top 40 Chart-Topper J. Lock

Vocal Music Artist Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read

Meet Atlanta-based and Mississippi-born and bred recording artist J.Lock who just received the news of his 49th Annual Jackson Music Awards nomination for 'Hip Hop Male Artist of The Year.' The awards will be held in Jackson, MS on July 24 at the Jackson Convention Center Complex. Stay tuned because J.Lock is preparing to drop his new single, "Money" featuring rapper Finesse2Tymes on July 7.

Growing up, J. Lock was a quiet person. At the age of 14, he would begin to use music as an outlet and a form of expression. By doing so, music allowed him to be as free as he wanted to be. Being inspired by many of the greats such as Drake, Kendrick Lamar, and J. Cole, J. Lock made it his initiative to put his best foot forward and always remain true to himself.

"You wanna leave marks and footprints on this earth of your work to inspire others. I do what I do because it makes me proud and I'm working towards serving my purpose"- J. Lock

Stoner Road Music Empire imprint is celebrating a Top 40 chart position on his record "Selfish" with R&B icon RL (Next).

Join us as we learn more about the rising music sensation.

Did you come up with the idea for the music video "Selfish" featuring RL? Or did you leave that up to the director? What went into the storyline of the music video?

J.Lock: That was definitely Eric Wyatt, the legendary director in the game that came up with the music video idea for the "Selfish" story and everything in the visuals. I can't even take credit for that.

You're just racking up accomplishment after accomplishment. Top 40 charts, working with R&B legend RL and nominated for Best Hip Hop Artist of the Year for the Jackson Music Awards. Congratulations! What else do you hope to accomplish this year and beyond?

J.Lock: This year and beyond? I want to be at the Grammys, VMAs, and BET Awards, but my main focus is just getting better and being the best I can be. But definitely more awards and award shows are what I want.

You sound very determined, passionate, and humble. You're also so very talented. I would love to know what is your take on the music industry right now.

J.Lock: I think the music right now is just evolving. People say R&B is dead, but I don't think it's dead. Hip Hop has been taking over the game for years. What I do is authentic music and as an artist, I just want to make the most relatable and best music I can make. That's what I want to bring to the table.

Who are you outside of music or music?

J.Lock: That's a good question right there. Outside of music, I'm still a quiet kid from Mississippi. I'm only around my family and friends. I still like to push myself as a quiet kid from Mississippi who just happens to be good at making music.

Are there any other music projects or performances coming up soon? What exclusive news you can share with us?

J.Lock: Oh yeah, you can definitely catch me at the Jackson Music Awards on July 24, and my new single, “Money” drops on July 7!

Have you ever experienced doubt as a music artist? And if so, how did you overcome those moments?

J.Lock: No, I've never been in doubt in my mind. Once I was committed, I was committed. It was like this just gotta happen. This is gonna happen. No matter what happens it's gonna happen. My label can drop me tomorrow and I will still have the same ambition. I never had a single doubt in my mind about making it to the top.

There have been times when I was uninspired, but when I feel like that I always bring myself back to the commitment. It's gonna be a love-and-hate relationship. So that's gonna come with it. But it was never a doubt that when it's made it, I'll make it.

June is Black Music Appreciation Month. I would love to know who are some of your favorite music artists.

J.Lock: One of my favorite music artists is Michael Jackson. My twin brother and I tried to be like Michael Jackson in school. As far as rap music, definitely J. Cole, Kendrick Lamar, and Drake. Outside of that, Bryson Tiller, and Tori Lanes. These cats stand out to me because not only can they rap, but they can also make songs. That's very important if you want to be the top dog.

What should up-and-comers think about before considering entering this demanding and competitive creative industry?

J.Lock: They need to know that there are going to be obstacles. There are going to be trials and tribulations and they will definitely be tested. Great things come along with sacrifices and just dealing with certain things you have to go through.

You can't cheat life, and you can't cheat on certain things if you want to win. So I'd also say just be strong and keep your faith. For me personally, I'm a man of God so praying is where I get my strength and guidance come from. I just work hard but also I understand that it's going to be a balance. There are going to be good days and there are going to be bad days with the competitiveness of the industry, and the music business.

Mostly, just be yourself. Be aware and just work hard.

What keeps you motivated to keep going?

J.Lock: I'd say life itself because, such as just seeing my family and friends looking up to me and my little cousin singing my songs.

Music is what I love to do. That's the only way I can express myself. Just living, just taking in everything, and just reserving. That's my motivation and my inspiration.

What is the most meaningful song you wrote and why?

J.Lock: The most meaningful song I wrote? Well, I'll give you three. I'd say the first one is one of the most personal ones " August 31st". I wrote that when I was 16 years old and it still stands out today. It sounds like I made it yesterday. That's what I love about music.

Secondly, "On My Own". It's unreleased and very personal to me because I wrote it before I got signed and was working at Mickey D's and FedEx.

For the last one, I must say "Selfish" because working with the legend RL who is from Minneapolis and was next to Prince and Mint Condition. Just being around his energy has motivated my career.

What would you like to say to your fans that have supported you so far throughout your career?

J.Lock: I just want to thank them for watching, subscribing, streaming and just being a part of my growth. It feels great to have fans supporting me no matter what. This is who I am as a person expressing myself. I don't have to be fake and I don't have to be a people pleaser. I just want to thank them. Also, make sure you stream and download my new single, "Money" featuring Finesse2Tymes on July 7

Keep up to date on Instagram @j.lockofficial

Listen to "Selfish" on Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/48CMMlkZTK7CGI4TdFStFh

interview

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tammy ReeseWritten by Tammy Reese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.