Beat logo

My Time With B. B. King

Time with The King

By Apostle CashPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
I think my Guitar has a Crush on me

From a little boy I've always enjoyed playing music, It didn't matter to me rather it was the drums, the piano, the organ, the lead guitar or the Bass guitar or even a flute I was ready. I was adopted at 8 months old and the family that took me in was a very musical but church going group of people. It wasn't long I found myself wanting to play something too. In those days we would walk to church down a long dirt road and as we got closer and closer you could hear the people singing. The Church floor was wooden so you could hear them keeping time with the patting of they're feet as they were singing. One Sunday I went into the church and sat in my favorite seat right down front as always but this Sunday the Pastor Elder John pulled out an electric guitar. Wow, boy did he play and those old people danced all around with so much joy I thought I was dreaming. I was about 6 years old then and I'm sure that was when the "I Got To Do That" bug bit me. Every Sunday I would go to church in a hurry, sometimes actually running to hear Elder John Play and see those people shout and dance. One Sunday it was very hot and an usher handed me a fan to fan with but somehow, I ended up holding it like a guitar and trying to help Elder John Play.

I guess my mom thought I looked like a little Tiny Tim so she got me a Ukulele instead of a regular guitar. That was ok though, I could hear the melodies and I learned to play that little ukulele. My uncle Jake was one bad guitar player but he lived in New York and I only got to see him once a year when he came down to Florida. He traveled with different bands playing music and I loved to hear his stories about the road. One year when he got ready to leave to go back to New York, He asked me would I keep his electric guitar for him. Wow!!!!! He went on to say, don't break any strings and keep it clean and in the case when you're not playing it. I had a small blue Panasonic Radio with the white ear piece and I would listen and then I would play what I heard. We lived way out in the sticks and there was nothing to do and nobody to play with so I got real close to that old guitar and I learned it very, very well.

Today, I play my own custom guitar named "MaMa"

Apostle and MaMa

Over the years my music has taken me many places most people only dream of and it has allowed me to meet people from literally all walks of life. I got to record with Mr. Bo Diddley in his studio while he was with us. He taught me a thing he called "Bo Poppin" then I got to hang out with Mr. Jimmie Bo'Horn of KC and The Sunshine Band. Performed at The House of Blues with The Reverend Al Green and then the one and only Godfather of Soul Mr. James Brown.

After The Concert with The Godfather of Soul James Brown

I traveled back and forth doing Concerts at The House of Blues for 14 years and I came in contact with many people but when I got to spend some time with The Blues Boy himself Mr. B. B. King, it blessed my heart and changed my life.

B. B. Kings Lucille

Mr. King was indeed the King not only in his music but in his character. I found him to be one of the nicest people you could ever want to meet. As I sat and talked with him he shared lessons of life with me that I will never ever forget. One night I remember he wasn't feeling well and one of the guys came and asked me If I would come on the bus with him for a little while. He was sitting all the way in the back of the bus and he didn't look well. We started talking and as the conversation went on we ended up talking about his grandchildren and that seemed to make him smile and feel some better.

After our last little hang out I was asked to perform in a musical called "It Ain't Nothing But The Blues" I played and sang a few songs and one of them was The Thrill Is Gone by B. B. King. The musical was SOLD OUT for 9 weeks every night and boy did I enjoy myself playing B. B. King. Me and my guitar Mama have been a lot of places and teamed up with a lot of people and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Apostle and Mama at Work

Mr. B. B. King made a very strong impression on me and I seriously doubt that I will ever forget the little time God allowed me to be with The King. Just being around him, hearing his stories and learning from him is a gift in and of itself and most definitely considered a BLESSING FROM GOD to me.

Mama

January 9, 2008 my manager and best friend passed away in a hospital in Kissimmee Florida. Her name was, "Mama"... She not only managed our group, she performed with me on stage. People everywhere loved to hear me call on Mama. When she got the microphone she took you to a place where you felt no pain, no sadness or disappointment, only Joy and Happiness. When she got tired of singing, she would dance until even people in wheelchairs were trying to move right along with her. While we were on the road Mama was also our cook. Every meal mama fixed was like a huge Thanksgiving meal you would have at home but she did it all right in her hotel room. Everybody affectionately called her Mama and they always enjoyed hanging out with us.

When she passed away I had my guitar custom designed In memory of her with her picture on the back and her name in the guitar frets on the front.

I Miss You Mama

There are times I miss Mama so much I cry and I wish she was back here with me. It took me a while to be able to walk out on any stage anywhere without her. But knowing Mama, she's up in heaven showing the angel how to dance when they sing Hallelujah. People like Mama and B. B. King are once in a life time Joys.

Music turned my life of hurt and pain into a life of Joy and Happiness. it placed me in the company of so many people I know I would never have met other wise. If you have the gift of music don't waste it. Music is a TRUE UNIVERSAL LANGUAGE that will bless and touch the hearts of everyone you meet.

by: Apostle Cash 🎸

humanity
1

About the Creator

Apostle Cash

I am a person who loves to see others reach their greatest potential rather on a job, in a relationship or just in life in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.