Beat logo

The Power of Music

When You Hear The Music Play

By Apostle CashPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Back in the 60's and 70's people mostly heard songs on the radio from a small radio they carried or a radio in their car or playing in a store somewhere as they shopped. It didn't really matter who was singing, rather they were black or white, young or old, it was the way the music made you feel that made that song your favorite song. Every time that song came on the radio it made you feel happy or think of the person you loved or just think of a happy moment. There were houses on a block where only one or two homes had a radio and when that song would come on they would play the radio in the window so everybody could hear that magic song that seemed to make everybody smile at the same time. All music is not like that now but every now and again you hear a song that reminds you of those days.

Music is how we bring life to our feelings and our emotions this if why it is so easy to connect with songs you hear or see performed at a concert. I was blessed to meet The Great Mr. Bo' Diddley when he was alive and what a time. He invited me and my band out to his home in Archer Florida to record with him. I was a little ashamed because I had never really been a big fan of his but I knew who he was. We both shopped at the local Sears Store and often met around town. On this special day when I arrived at his home I was made welcome and it wasn't long we were in the studio hooking up and getting ready to record. I pulled out my guitar and got ready. After a while the man himself walked in with his square guitar and put it on. He had not heard any of the songs I was doing but when he stroked his guitar it went straight to funk city. It sounded like a guitar and a organ and a few other instruments all mixed together. Bo' Diddley took me and my band for a ride with something he called "Bo Poppin" all I could say was WOW!!!

We were two men from very different times and places in life but music brought us together instantly. We became very good friends from there up until he passed away. I was asked to come back to Archer Fl not to long ago to Celebrate his life with his daughter and family and his lead guitar player Mr. Scott Free. What a guitar player. We did People Get Ready as a tribute to him and it was a set filled with much love and joy and even a few tears.

The Power of Music has brought many people together over the years. Even the mighty Rolling Stones were fans of Bo's music. Some times when I have some extra time I stop by a music store just to meet, see and hear other people enjoy the gift of music.

When I was a young boy my uncle Jake gave me my first electric guitar. He had lost his eyesight but he could still place and sing like nobodies business. He said "The music was in his Soul" and he would play until the day he died and he did just that.

Music is indeed very powerful, it also triggers our positive energies and all of this together helps us to find our place in life as well as success, Joy and Happiness.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Apostle Cash

I am a person who loves to see others reach their greatest potential rather on a job, in a relationship or just in life in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.