Beat logo

My Move-It Playlist

Confessions of a self-proclaimed music junkie

By Nev GracePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
My Move-It Playlist
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

I am not lying when I tell you that I live, sleep, and breathe music. Ask anyone in my family and they’ll tell you that I always have my iPod on me at all times: headphones in and volume so loud it’ll get to the point where someone will have to yell to get my attention.

Now, we’ve all heard the “I love music,” and the “Music is my life” shtick from everyone and their dog. But can you really blame them? Come on, you’d have to be soulless to not enjoy music and the symphony of magic that tags along with it.

Music helps me, and probably you in some manner, express my feelings, emotions, and moods (being a Capricorn-Aquarius cusp sign, expressing myself can be a bit tricky. Okay that’s a lie, a lot tricky), and to boost my energy and motivation. I even went through a phase as a kid where I couldn’t fall asleep without some form of music playing in my room. I grew out of it eventually, but not before I made the bedtime routine a bit of a nightmare.

Upbeat songs give me a rhythm to work to; be it exercising or finishing up a detailed project. From a very young age, my mom would blast music whenever we did some housework, or just for the hell of it. I have it engrained in my DNA that upbeat, rhythmic music equals high energy and motion. Plus, it helps to clear my head so I can focus on the task at hand. A huge bonus for someone like me who has a million things a minute ping-ponging around in my noggin’.

My taste in music is nothing short of eccentric, much like my personality. It zigzags between stuff that’ll make you grab tissues, to songs that’ll have you head-banging and violently playing air-guitar. No joke. Growing up I was heavily influenced by what I heard in movies and everything my mom introduced me to from her favourite bands when she was a teen (you just can’t beat 90’s music). I have songs from practically every genre and sub-genre, from Indie Folk, to EDM and Classic Rock, and everything else in between. Authors are no different. The Civil Wars, Fleurie, Elvis, OneRepublic, Kansas, Imagine Dragons, Sia; the list goes on and on. Even as I’m writing this I’m listening to ‘Lose Somebody’ by Kygo and 1R. Fantastic song, by the way. Now that you have some insight into the enigma that is me, you can kind of start to understand my playlists and all of their mismatched glory.

For the sake of your sanity, I’ve condensed all of my go-to high energy, move-it tunes into one Master Playlist (the caps are necessary): 40 songs. 2 hours and 29 minutes of sweet, sweet tunes, in my humble opinion. Now, the average person probably only spends an hour-ish exercising at a time (unless you’re not average), so my track is a bit long, but it gives you lots of variety for all your fitness needs.

It was really hard to narrow it down, honestly. I personally only use one playlist with all the songs that I love and just toggle through and bounce around according to how I’m feeling. But, I couldn’t justify putting you through a 92 song, 5 hour and 50 minute playlist, of which I’m constantly adding to. I’m not that crazy.

But if you’re brave enough to venture into that particular bottomless pit, you can find it through my Spotify profile (affectionately dubbed ‘Hunter’s Playlist’, as it started out as a Supernatural track but soon got out of hand).

So without further ado, I present the link to my Move-It Playlist on Spotify.

I really hope you enjoy what I believe to be some seriously amazing tunes.

Cheers!

-Nev

playlist
2

About the Creator

Nev Grace

Just a nerd who loves writing and too many fandoms and fictional characters for my own good 🙃

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.