Beat logo

My Life's Playlist

Music Keeps Me Sane

By Antonio SanchezPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1

Music has been something I have looked to for a spectrum of emotions. I presume many other people in this world do the same as me. I listen to quite a few genres, but there are songs in particular that I appreciate from genres I do not usually listen to. For the purpose of this story and challenge, I will be focusing on songs that speak to me on a very personal level.

Being the multiracial child of individuals from a much older generation has had me exposed to a wide variety of much older music. Songs like Earth, Wind & Fire’s “September”, Kool & The Gang’s “Get Down On It”, and Village People’s “Y.M.C.A” are just a few songs that were played on the old cassette tape my parents recorded while riding around in an old family van. Being a child while hearing this music has left a positive mark on me that fills me with nostalgia.

The Rocky films are very influential and powerful to many who know of them and watched them. I saw these movies as a preteen and they have always conveyed a “never give up, never give in” message. I would argue that these series of films have an equally as powerful soundtrack. “Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor, is as iconic as the films and it never stops giving me a rush of adrenaline every time I hear that guitar riff.

Around this same time, we moved to the Southeastern United States and the active radio stations were a bit different. This was in the early 2000’s when Bluetooth and streaming were nowhere near the beasts they are today. Still had some Backstreet Boys CDs that I listened to in a portable CD player. Some of my favorite songs by them are “I Want It That Way” and “Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely”. Hearing them harmonize made me want to start singing; something which I soon realized I had a knack for. I had heard country music for the first time which was not something I was into. Some would say that is unfortunate due to their bias towards it. I know now as an adult, I just couldn’t relate to the lyrics as well as others since I was from the city. I happened to listen to pop songs that contained a slightly similar structure to country music that I enjoyed. My first time hearing Kelly Clarkson’s “Breakaway” was quite an experience. The sound of guitars and drums was new and something I wanted to find more of. It was the first time I sat and listened to the lyrics to understand the meaning behind them. Another popular song by Clarkson “Behind These Hazel Eyes” was a bit heavier than usual which was something I had become a bit more into. Then Fallout Boy’s “Sugar We’re Goin’ Down” was released in 2005 and I was hooked. I didn’t even focus on the lyrics but I loved the vocals, instruments, and tempo of the song.

The year 2007 had come around with the release of Transformers starring Peter Cullen, Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox. The movie that introduced me to Linkin Park’s “What I’ve Done” and started me down the rabbit hole of rock, alternative rock and metal. YouTube had gained popularity, and we still had an old computer with a dial up service. I was like a madman looking up the movie, finding out what a soundtrack even was, and eventually finding the song. I’d spent countless hours looking into Linkin Park and realizing that their music was something I could relate to very easily. They were like an old friend that got me through tough times that I never got to meet, but one that I am eternally grateful for.

Years went by that my life was filled with music by various artists in the rock, metal, and alternative genre until I was introduced to Flux Pavilion’s “I Can’t Stop”. Another rabbit hole was known to me as I looked into sub-genres like Electronic Dance Music, Dub-step, and Electronic Pop. This was usually either upbeat and energetic music that was opposite of the usual angsty, lethargic sounds I was used to. It was here that I realized that in this period of my life I had to grow as a person. One song by the Danish Band, Blue Foundation, called “Eyes On Fire” was remixed by Zeds Dead. It's a song that I will still go back to this day, because the meaning I have always taken away from it was the willingness to fight one’s own darkness.

I can’t speak on one’s own darkness and the battle within without mentioning the late Avicii. Also known as Tim Bergling, the Swedish artist made a beautiful song with American singer and rapper, Aloe Blacc (Egbert Nathaniel Dawkins III) called “Wake Me Up”. This song never ceases to make me emotional, especially considering the circumstances of Bergling’s death. So many people were saddened to hear of his passing due to suicide, but the legacy he left will live on throughout the ages. I still sing this song whenever it comes on.

Having become a more well-rounded individual throughout the years, I have enjoyed many different genres and songs from many different artists. Experiencing so much music had inspired me to pick back up an old guitar that my grandfather gave me. These days, I play some of my favorite songs that I had been obsessed with learning like Said the Sky’s “Walk Me Home” featuring Chelsea Cutler. A Day To Remember made a song called “If It Means A Lot To You” which I sing almost daily, and practice frequently on guitar. I hope that I can make music like these artists someday that will be immortalized in such a positive way. Maybe anyone who reads this story will be inspired to create something great. “Don’t Stop Believin’”

playlistmetalelectronicabandsartalternative
1

About the Creator

Antonio Sanchez

Hello there, I am an aspiring writer and artist that has been creating ideas since I was very young. I would like to use this platform to share these ideas on a much larger scale.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson11 months ago

    "Don't stop believing" great song. I heard that on a podcast about doctors and nurses listening to that song at the end of every shift during the first year of the pandemic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.