Beat logo

My Get it Done Playlist

There is no rhyme or reason to my music choices but they are dang good.

By Amber NelsonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
This one is called "A Tornado Warning" but there is not one of their songs that's bad.

Number one on the list is Turnpike Troubadours, I have yet to hear music from them that I do not like. They are a perfect blend of unforgettable lyrics and pleasant melodies that won't annoy your co-workers. We went to their concert a couple years ago with friends at this teeny bar in a shady part of Salt Lake City and they are so good live! Like, So. Good. So much talent that you can't help but fall in love. At the time I did not know what to expect, my husband finds these bands and I was just along for the ride but am so glad that I was introduced to these guys. There is nothing better than a band that sounds just as good, or better live, as they do in the studio. Now we are just stuck waiting for them to get back to performing, the lead singer was going through some personal struggles the last that I heard and my selfish self just wants to see them live again. Not that the Pandemic is helping the situation.

Turnpike Troubadours- Every Girl

And another of my favorites, in case you don't know who they are. I remember this one from the concert well for some reason, smoky room, blue stage lights, my feet hurt from wearing my cute boots instead of the comfy ones. I was standing by the water cooler at the bar and my husband was ordering another drink, they had been playing non-stop for over an hour and I was enjoying every sweaty second!

P!nk- Blow Me (One Last Kiss) (Squeaky Radio Edit)

Pink is next on the list. Especially when I need to get a lot of cleaning done or I am just feeling a little crazy inside, there is something about a spot of angry girl music that makes me feel better about life. Gotta be careful with the littles around though, her lyrics are often explicit. It's probably a good idea if you plan on playing this at the office to find the edited version of her songs, but dang it, they are so full of emotion that you can't help but sing along. There is something about "Please Don't Leave Me" that just sums up the way that I feel when I've done something stupid and am seeking forgiveness from my better half.

Panic! At the Disco, High Hopes.

I'm not sure what it is but there is so much to love about this song and it has the upbeat tempo that will get you going and keep you productive.

Weezer- Say It Ain't So

They have been at the top of my list of favorites since Junior High. Junior High! Any band that can be likeable when you're fourteen and not totally annoying when you're forty is a keeper. My kids are in love with their remix of "Africa", so am I! Their music is both catchy and comical at times, there is so much to like about them and I am so glad that they are still doing their thing.

Robert Earl Keen- The Party Never Ends

This is another artist that I was blindly introduced to by my husband at a concert that I took a liking to. The band is fantastic live and although Robert can be a little hard to understand at times, there is something about this song that just makes you want to get up and move and just like the title, this is one of those parties that you are left wondering if it will ever end. in a good way. We have seen him live a couple times and I have loved so much when he plays this song because the crowd (an equal mix of older folks and college students) always starts stomping and singing along with the chorus of this number. Naturally those good feelings are brought back to the forefront of your memory when you listen to it, even when you're not there.

Mumford & Sons- Little Lion Man (Completely clean version)

It has probably become clear that I am a sucker for bands that are fabulously talented in the instrument department, this band from London is no exception. Funny thing is, the 'F' word coming out of the mouth of people from the other side of the pond just sounds natural. I was at the Pediatric Dentist's office with my son earlier this year and they were obviously playing songs from one of their iPods over the speaker throughout the office when this song came on, that lasted through the first "I really f-ed it up this time." I had to laugh when it was abruptly turned off. Whoops!

Last but not least, The Lumineers-Ophelia

This song is the winding down song, like you're feeling accomplished, you've done a superior job, you win!! It has nothing to do with that, it's about love, but it makes me feel like the sun is coming up. You have done your work and it's time to start a new day.

I remember the last time that I stayed up all night completing a project and the songs on my playlist coupled with a little caffeine were what kept me motivated to finish the job before my kids awoke and interrupted my zone. Not to say that I wasn't a zombie the next day, but the music was key. There is nothing better than your favorite songs playing when you are under the gun to get something accomplished, from housework, to yard work, to that big project that the boss just dumped on you, to filling cavities on a kicking and screaming toddler. There is just something about good tunes and hard work that go hand in hand.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Amber Nelson

Wife to my one and only, mother of 4, lunch lady, home chef extraordinaire, gardener, lover of the outdoors, writing for fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.