Beat logo

Music Transcended My Soul

Noise of serenity

By kieshaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Music Transcended My Soul
Photo by Paulette Wooten on Unsplash

Music, lol one of the many loves of my life. I met music at a time of my life when my youth was running wild, and free, A time where finding yourself was an emotional and trying task, which needed special pampering and care. It was when I was in my teens that I was in my darkest state, that music became the medicine for my soul. I remember cool summer nights, grabbing my mom's cassette player, digging through her box of cassette tapes for an artist who connected with me at that moment. I remember grabbing Seal, listening to "A kiss from a rose on the grave" after a heartbreak, with a crush as tears streamed down my cheeks showing the pain I felt. The way the music resonated with my heart and soul as if it was speaking to me. I daydream about being with the Artist as he sang his heart out to me trying to fix what was broken. At this time I was deeply into music, I had a voice for it and loved to sing as if was center stage with the whole world watching. I would sing "Bring Me to Life" by Evanescence, as though I was trying to conjure up this the part of me that was hidden so deep from the world, for fear of being misunderstood. music was the drive in my life, it brought me great peace, and surrender. I felt understood when I would listen to the lyrics of Sade, "Soldier of Love", as it was my nature to be so loving, despite the circumstances I faced in my life. It was the way the music spoke to me, I could hear every beat, every drum, every instrument as though they had individual stories and when brought together told of a masterpiece of love, heartache, grace, and peace, creating waves of serenity that could take you to a world away from this one in which I lived. I remember when tough times took a toll and family fallouts began. I'd retreat to my room, lay on my bed, and stare into space trying to understand, wanting to scream out to everyone about why this family was so messed up but, holding my voice for fear of not knowing where to start, or making it worse. Then I would grab my headset, close my eyes and listen to Pink "family portrait" as her words filled my ears and spoke for me as I belted the lyrics out loud without realizing the whole house, maybe even the neighborhood could hear me. In time those moments where I felt joy, like when my family was together, or Hanging beside the pool with my friends late nights jamming to Linkin Park, Gwen Stafani, Black Eye Peas, which was one of my favorite groups who brought life to the night, talking about our preschool days, and what we would do or who'd we be in the future. Calming things down with some Reggae, which I loved, looking into the stars and talking about the Aliens with laughter and debates that followed lol, with the smell of chlorine scented pool water floating through the night breezes, as the wind pushes the trees, causing them to sway, tired but never wanting to leave that moment in time. (sighs) sorry guys nostalgia is kicking in as I sit here reminiscent of what made my youth so beautiful and memorable despite the struggles, and hard times. Remembering how my favorite song by Evanescence "My Immortal brought me, my first real true friend, cause kids who looked like me, couldn't understand my taste in music. How music brought the family together when I'd be the DJ lol it makes me smile. It's almost as if life is like different genre's of music, and with the right song or playlist, you can make people laugh, cry, bring joy and people together, fall in love, speak to someone's soul if you wanted but couldn't find the right words to say. I was never really good at sticking to one playlist because there many options and access to beautiful music in the world. I'd always find something different or new. No matter what I was going through, what I was facing, music helped me escape, help me feel more alive, feel as if I could take on the world. my playlist was the boyfriend that loved me, the mother who understood me, the friend who made me smile and laugh, it gave me a voice when I didn't think I had one, healed my heart and soul when I had given up. I don't know if you all will understand how I feel but, Music transcended my soul.

humanity
1

About the Creator

kiesha

I'm a mom of two girls, there's so much more to me that meets the eye. I'm and Artist, musician, scholar, and so much more. I have so many plans for my future , music, engineering and design own my own company and more. follow your dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.