Beat logo

Mental Health Songs That Got Me Through Middle School

The power of music can not be overexaggerated

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Mental Health Songs That Got Me Through Middle School
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

In recent years, mental health has become a huge topic in media and everyday life. Ten years ago, when I was in middle school, it was not such an accepted topic. I have depression, anxiety and anorexia, all of which got brought to the forefront of my mind in middle school. School is hard for everyone, that’s just a fact, but it is harder for some than it is for others. When going through grade school, I found numerous vices to help alleviate the mental turmoil that I experience; music being one of them. I don’t think I realized it at the time, but my favorite songs were never love songs, they were specific to mental health. In a time of dread and anxiety, it's no surprise that my go-to playlist was based off of songs portraying the same feeling and surviving them.

At your loneliest point, music has a way of feeling like an old friend.

P!nk was my favorite artist when I was in middle school. Her music was a blend of teenage angst, anger and hope. Luckily, her music has grown with her and now gives a ‘happily ever after’ vibe without having to sacrifice that edge that drew me to her in the first place.

F**cking Perfect

Favorite Lyrics

Made a wrong turn, once or twice

Dug my way out, blood and fire

Bad decisions, that's alright

Welcome to my silly life

The Great Escape

Favorite Lyrics

You're not gonna watch me checking out of this place

You're not gonna lose me

'Cause the passion and pain

Are gonna keep us alive someday

Twenty one pilots was also well represented in my middle school playlist. Looking back, they are what got me into alternative music. Although I am not a 'super fan', of all the songs I know none are about love or drugs which is something I respect. There is not a single thing wrong with writing about either topic, I just love that when given a platform, they decided to avoid the mainstream choice of writing about what sells. They are creating from their minds, bodies and souls.

Migraine

Favorite Lyrics

I begin to assemble what weapons I can find

'Cause sometimes to stay alive you gotta kill your mind

Car Radio

Favorite Lyrics

One thing consists of consistence

And it's that we're all battling fear

Oh dear, I don't know if we know why we're here

Oh my, too deep, please stop thinking

The biggest band during my time in middle school was Linkin Park. I have to say, although they have great songs, it is strange to think about dancing to a song about depression at school assemblies. Regardless, they provided the world with some amazing songs that allowed me to escape reality, if only for a few minutes at a time. I am unable to fully describe the mental anguish that the death of Chester Bennington still erects when listening to his music. He saved lives.

Numb

Favorite Lyrics

All I want to do

Is be more like me

And be less like you

Bleed it out

Favorite Lyrics

F*ck, this hurts, I won't lie

Doesn't matter how hard I try

Half the words don't mean a thing

And I know that I won't be satisfied

Now, for the world's best segues , Taylor Swift. Since the day I heard 'Love Story' to when she released 'Mr. Perfectly Fine' I have been a ‘Swiftie”. She is an undeniable talent. As much as everyone wants to pretend she only writes about her relationships, she does have many songs about mental health. For example, her song, “ Tied Together With a Smile,” is about her friend who has an eating disorder.

Tied Together With a Smile

Favorite Lyrics

That you cry but you don't tell anyone

That you might not be the golden one

And you're tied together with a smile

But you're coming undone

Change

Favorite Lyrics

That you cry but you don't tell anyone

That you might not be the golden one

And you're tied together with a smile

But you're coming undone

Shinedown is one of my favorite bands today as well as a top contender ten years ago. They recently put out an almost flawless album in 2018 entitled, “Attention Attention”. They are one of the few bands that aged gracefully, founding a way of creating music that matured as their following matured. They will always be a staple of my middle school career.

Sound of Madness

Favorite Lyrics

Lookin' so sorry, that I'm gonna believe

You've been infected by a social disease

Well then, take your medicine

Second Chance

Favorite Lyrics

"why you always running in place?

Even the man in the moon disappeared

Somewhere in the stratosphere"

Click here for my Apple Music Playlist

Hey guys, thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story maybe let me know by sending a like. Tips are appreciated as well! Happy Listening!

list
3

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.