Beat logo

Going to my 'Happy Place'

Nothing can cheer me up faster a Disney song

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Going to my 'Happy Place'
Photo by Glenn Haertlein on Unsplash

Some days, work is just draining. ( Well, most days) Leaving the office in a bad mood can put a damper on the rest of your night, which is why your ‘driving home’ playlist can be absolutely crucial. To take me out of the work mindset, I like to refresh myself with music that takes me to my happy place. “And where is that?” you might ask.

“Well, the happiest place in the world!” I’d answer.

Yup, I’m talking about Disney World.

I grew up in a Disney family. We vacationed in Disney World annually as a kid, and I remember it now as a place where the stress of school, work, and life melted away. I had a lot of great memories from those times, life learning how to ride a bike, visiting mickey, and the time when my mom threw me off a golf cart. (That’s a different story) Regardless, Disney has been a big part of my life and listening to my favorite songs from Disney movies always helps me destress.

Beauty and the Beast is one of my all time favorites and the playlist is superb. Nothing more relatable than a book reader who feels ostracized from society, and ends up being kidnapped by a man/beast and being forced to live in a castle for eternity, am I right? Well the first part at least. The song ‘Belle’ and ‘Belle (Reprise)’ have both made their ways onto my playlist.

Favorite Lyrics

Belle

With a dreamy, far-off look

And her nose stuck in a book

What a puzzle to the rest of us is Belle

Belle (Reprise)

I want adventure in the great wide somewhere

I want it more than I can tell

Next up, Frozen. Although I was in high school by the time the movie came out, it stole my heart just as fast as any child’s. Disney really proved their ability to continue making blockbuster hits with this one. ‘Let it go’ is a given for any Disney playlist, but I also love ‘For the First Time in Forever’.

Favorite Lyrics

Let it Go

I'm never going back, the past is in the past!

For the First Time in Forever

But for the first time in forever

At least I've got a chance

The little mermaid walked, so the show 'H2o' could run. (Or swim?) Still, nothing has ever made me want to be a fish more than The Little Mermaid. I used to fall asleep listening to the soundtrack from the movie, so the lyrics from ‘Part of Your World’ have been engraved in my head since I was six years old.

Favorite Lyrics

Bright young women sick of swimmin'

Ready to stand

Hercules? More like hunkules! My love of Greek mythology must be attributed to this movie in some way. It is an absolute perfect mixture of education, romance, comedy, and action, all tied together with a killer soundtrack. Top of the list obviously being ‘ Go the Distance’. Just inspiring.

Favorite Lyrics

I know every mile, will be worth my while

When I go the distance, I'll be right where I belong

Nothing like a Disney movie that kills someone off, brutally, in the first 10 minutes. I'm talking of course, about The Lion King. The Lion King has had songs that have been heavily praised, like getting Best Original Music Score in the year 1995. (Not that any of that matters to a six year old, I just liked that talking animals.) ‘Hakuna Matata’, ‘ I Just Can’t Wait To Be King’ and ‘Circle of Life’ are all included on my negativity detox playlist.

Favorite Lyrics

Hakuna Matata

It means no worries

For the rest of your days

I Just Can’t Wait To Be King

Everybody look left

Everybody look right

Everywhere you look I'm--Standing in the spotlight

Circle of Life

There's more to be seen than can ever be seen

More to do than can ever be done

In 2010, Disney released the movie Tangled, a revamp of the story Rapunzel. With such lovable characters it is no surprise that the movie was such a success. This classic princess romance is a must see, and the soundtrack is a must hear. ‘I’ve Got a Dream’ being my favorite has secured its spot as the last on my playlist.

Favorite Lyrics

Call us brutal,

Sick,

Sadistic,

And grotesquely optimistic

'Cause way down deep inside

We've got a dream!

If you want to listen to my nostalgic Disney detox playlist, click here!

Hey guys, thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story maybe let me know by sending a like. Tips are appreciated as well!

list
2

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.