Confessions logo

The Time Mom Almost Killed The Kids In Disney

Why my mom isn't allowed to drive a golf cart

By Amanda MitchellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
The Time Mom Almost Killed The Kids In Disney
Photo by Kin Li on Unsplash

Since I am a legal adult, meaning social services can not take me away due to child endangerment, I am going to tell you the story about the time my mother almost killed my brother and I.

In my younger years, my family would drive down to Disney world to celebrate Christmas. It had everything my family could want in a vacation, golf for my dad, sunshine and a pool for my mom, a six foot tall talking mouse for my brother and me; It was an oasis. Since my father refuses to fly, we would drive 30 hours in our RV and stay at Disney's 'Fort Wilderness’ campground.

By Frankie Valentine on Unsplash

My brother and I were about three and four at the time, and seeing as we are so close in age, we always proved to be a handful for our mother. The best way to entertain us on vacation was always to bring us to the pool. Disney has some of the best pools I've seen, complete with water slides, tons of other kids, and an activities director who would gather groups for limbo and other fun pool activities. We were successfully entertained while my mo m relaxed in the sun, read a book, and worked on her tan. After spending hours at the pool, my mother would pack our stuff into the golf chat that was rented from the campground, and head home for dinner.

One faithful day, my older brother said to my mom, “ Mom, I want to sit on the back of the golf cart.”

“Okay.” Said my mother, completely unaware of how dangerous it could be to let a four year old sit, unattended, on the back of a golf cart, wrapped in a wet towel. My little three year old self sat in the front with my mom and we took off towards our campsite.

As we made our way home, we encountered a fairly busy rotary. RV’s, Disney transportation buses, and cars all lined up, awaiting their turn to go into the rotary. As a Bostonian, my mother tends to be a more aggressive driver, and since rotaries are nothing new to us, the second she had the opportunity she gunned it into the rotary. Buses be damned.

Due to the sudden forward movement of the golf cart, my brother went -swoosh- flying straight off the cart. He landed face first in the middle of the road, forcing every car to slam on their brakes. My mother heard him screaming, so on impulse, she leapt from the cart and went running towards her son. Only issues; I was still in the golf cart! The golf cart and I drove straight into a nearby bush, knocking me half out the cart.

Imagine the picture this made.

  • My brother is crying in the middle of the road, face covered in dirt and tears.
  • My mom frantically running towards him trying to pull him out of the way from oncoming buses and motorhomes.
  • Me, laying with my legs half in the cart and my face in a bush.

At one point, the Disney bus driver got out of his bus and tried to console my mom, who was frantically trying to calm down my brother. I'm still in the bush, with the abandoned cart. Once my mom remembered she had a second child, she asked the driver to help pull the golf cart out of the bush, and confirm that I am uninjured. It all took a maxim of five minutes. When we finally arrived home, my mother called my dad, who was out golfing, and tried to explain the story, without sounding too hysterical.

No one was hurt, and my brother and I hardly remember it, but the story is still told every Christmas as ‘The Time Mom Almost Killed The Kids In Disney.’

Childhood
7

About the Creator

Amanda Mitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.