Beat logo

Memories Are Made from Music

Memories are important, and music holds more memories than a photograph-album alone

By Carol TownendPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
6
Memories Are Made from Music
Photo by israel palacio on Unsplash

Have you ever heard a song, and said to yourself "Oh, I remember this? It was played at that awesome concert." Have you ever heard a song that was playing when you got your first kiss, and then turned to jelly from head to toe? Music can do that; it can trigger memories both good and bad, and it can even evoke tears of happiness, joy or sadness. Take for example, Savage Gardens 'To the Moon and Back,' this one gets me every time, because it reminds me of when me and my now-husband first kissed when we met in a hospital where we were in-patients. The whole ward cheered because they knew we were in love before we even knew it! Memories are worth holding on to, and music has a clever way of reminding us that our memories are to be treasured.

Roxette holds a whole lot of memories for me. These were songs I listened to a lot in my younger years, and songs that myself and my husband shared after we left hospital together before we got married 'Come back before You Leave' is a song by Roxette that I love, and one that will stay with me forever. I listened to this during a time when I was very unstable and unwell with mental health problems. Everybody had walked away from me except the man I am now married to, and I couldn't convince myself that he would stay, so I dedicated this one to him. 'Dressed for Success' and 'hotblooded' are confidence building songs for me, one reminds me of how much I worked on my confidence skills to get the man I love, and the other reminds me that I am worth achieving my goals. Using music in this way is good therapy, it enables you to reinforce the affirmations you hold in life and swing the passion to achieve what you want. Songs like 'Dressed for Success' remind us to never give up on our dreams, and that with motivation, we all have the power to make them come true.

All of the above are reasons I create playlists, one of which is attached to this article. Music plays an extremely important part in my life because it helps me express what I can't, gives me the motivation to achieve, lets me know I'm worthy and valued; and reminds me of all the good in my life including memories of people in the past and now, who make my life worth living. For me a life without music isn't worth living! I'd be dull and boring without it and I can't imagine ever living without it! I still remember those days as a child and in my teens when I used to drive my parents mad, because I would play my music on the loudest volume that I could find. I actually feel sorry for them, because I used to listen to anything from classical, reggae, pop, techno, dance, rave, rock, metal and so many others, I couldn't possibly list them all here. The staircase was my 'dance stage' as a youngster, where I would pretend to be a very famous singer on stage, showing off both my vocal and dancing talents to the world. In fact, I still sing and dance along to my favourite songs today, but not on the staircase, and I still use my old but very much loved PS2 and SingStar to sing along with. I can also be found singing along with many songs I find across the web. I just love music, and many of the songs I sing along to hold many different memories for me.

I also listen to much older music. I'm planning to write another article about that later. There is a passion in me for music, especially when it ignites memories. Music is a very beautiful thing, in the sense that it can create memories from long ago in ways many other things can't. It can make you sing, smile, dance and be happy, and it can also help you to express sadness, frustration, anger, and many other feelings in ways that you do not have to feel guilty about. Music is good for mental health, it is good for expressing those words you cannot say, and in return it helps you to stay in control of those feelings.

I hope you will listen to my playlist and enjoy those songs that still fill my heart with warm feelings today, and one more thing. Happy listening!

humanity
6

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.