Beat logo

Meet The Humans by Steve Mason

The Third Album By The Beta Band Man

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Meet The Humans

Introduction

Someone (probably Marek at RPM) cajoled me into buying this album. I took his advice and may be listened to it once. Steve Mason was a member of The Beta Band who are a favourite of mine and I always loved “It’s Not Too Beautiful” which sampled that swirling theme from Disney’s “The Black Hole” and from that, I bought all their albums.

I loved the almost laid-back sound that often carried some harsh discordant threat sometimes. “It’s Not Too Beautiful” is a perfect example of this, but I may do a piece on The Beta Band in time, but this concentrates on the Steve Mason solo album.

Now Meet The Humans

This is one of the many albums that I thought I would never listen to again and went on my Discogs Market Place, but one day I put it on to play and thought, hell, this is actually very good.

I took it off and since then it has been played a hell of a lot. The really weird thing is that I don’t really know any song names because I listen to it as an album and I can’t really think of any other album that I listen to in this was. The songs are distinct but they all make you feel so wonderfully warm and comfortable.

I will list the songs and say something about some of them and provide some YouTube videos but it is an absolutely unexpectedly beautiful album that I seriously could put on auto-repeat and never switch off.

This is the copy from Amazon, and if it tempts you to buy the album, you will not be disappointed.

Third solo album from Steve Mason. Written at home by Mason, the tracks were then rehearsed in Brighton with touring band mates Steve Duffield and Greg Nielson, before being recorded with Elbow keyboardist and producer Craig Potter at Blueprint Studios in Salford. Following his 'double political concept album' 'Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time' this album is a move towards a more simple ethic; 'an album where each song is a separate entity, where there is no great narrative running through it.' 'Meet The Humans' is shot through with a sense of renewal following Steve's recent move to Brighton, swinging musically across dance, pop, folk, dub, and deep house influences. It's a record which repeatedly returns to core themes, the possibility of others to redeem the self, the opportunity of change for the better in the individual, the joy of life and the world we inhabit, it's arguably the most complete and direct of Steve's long discography - eleven personal stories combined into one positive and proper whole, the sweep of the human condition written large and full of love and hope and joy.

1 Water Bored

A wonderful opening song and you know that this is going to be something really special. Before I started writing this I didn't know the song title but I love this song.

2 Alive

This I did know the title of, and after "Water Bored" you get a song that is possible even better. I have it playing now and it is making me feel absolutely wonderful. Maybe it's just me, but it is a wonderful way to actually spend your time and the chorus is perfection. I have this album on often while I work.

3 Alright

This comes in with subdued but crunchy electric guitar, but with Steve's ethereal voice the feel is still perfect for the album. To listen search YouTube or buy the album (you won't regret it)

4 Another Day

A beautiful interlude, wonderful chorus, another I didn't know the title of. There is some heavenly brass, and you don't skip any songs on this album although you may repeat them.

5 Ran Away

This features strings and has a gorgeously warm feel to it. Love this one too, and I think I knew the title of this one.

6 To a Door

From the first notes this one grabs me like falling into a fluffy eiderdown, it is totally gorgeous, and I didn't know what this was called.

7 Hardly Go Through

This is maybe slightly darker in feel, but with the gorgeous strings and Steve's heavenly voice, this is another absolute beauty, if you have got this far you must be thinking you should have this album in your collection.

8 Through My Window

This is a wonderful mood piece almost recalling Brian Eno's ambient work, based on a two-note backing, very calming and relaxing.

9 Planet Sizes

This starts off a little more urgently than most of the songs on the album before slowing down and dropping into an absolutely beautiful chorus.

10 Like Water

A beautiful (I have used that adjective a lot in this review for good reason) string intro, leads into another absolute treasure. Find it and take a listen.

11 Words in My Head

A drum beat leads us into the album finale, and you know you have to listen to it again and put it on repeat.

Concluding Meet The Humans

I have to be honest, in my opinion, this album is faultless, I probably play it more than any other album, and often many times a day. Can I give a higher recommendation?

I was not sure I could I actually write this review, but now I realise that I have hardly scratched the surface, and have enjoyed writing this so much because I have been listening to the album as I write, and I now know the song titles too.

Below is a Best of The Beta Band if you would like to investigate them as well.

90s musicalbum reviewsbandscelebritiessong reviews

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author2 years ago

    I enjoyed this music! Well written.

  • Excellent album and one that has been on my must buy list a few times over the past year. Thank you for sharing your detailed thoughts on this album I enjoyed the read.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.