Beat logo

Let's Celebrate Anti-Valentine's Day!

A playlist that's *almost* as good as roses, chocolate, and kisses.

By NaabiahPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

Everybody loves Valentine’s Day! Everyone besides single people. The idea that cheesy, movie-like love is real love is so damaging. Not to mention how materialistic that day is! It puts so much pressure on couples to buy expensive gifts like diamonds, and single people to find love (or at least a date) before the 14th. Maybe we should reverse the clock and go back to elementary school, to put the “eat” (ie: candy) back on Valentine's Day! During my entire life, I’ve never celebrated Valentine’s day with a significant other, so my Valentine’s day playlist consists of OODLES of not-so-love songs. I hope you enjoy it!

Dear lovers,

kissing passionately underneath the covers.

Red velvet cake buyers,

We already "love

never expires!"

The following playlist is meant for

divorcées,

the newly-heartbroken,

and “single pringles”

who choose to not mingle.

Because roses are red,

Violets are blue,

and the idea of anti-Valentine's

is far overdue!

1.) Lonely Hearts Club- Marina and the Diamonds

This song is ESSENTIAL for non-participants of Valentine's Day. My favorite line from this song is "Love will never be forever, feelings are just like the weather." THAT SPEAKS VOLUME! Growing up, I read lots of romance-themed books, like Cinderella and Snow White, that are centered around the idea that "when you find true love, you get a happily ever after" which is FAR from the case. Even though I'm still learning, we as a society have to grasp that love is fluid and changing.

2.) Nobody-Mitski

Ah, a no-brainer! My favorite lyrics in this song are, "I've been big and small, and big and small, and big and small again. And still, nobody wants me..." This song is so authentic and relatable! I've never had a Valentine or boyfriend since, well, ever! It really lowers my self-esteem, seeing as though I've changed myself, and throughout my modifications, still, no one finds me attractive! I think this is such a well-thought-out song and is lyrically relatable.

3.) All I Wanted- Paramore

I love Paramore, and this makes my playlist complete. This song, unlike the others, have very heavy drums and vocals to match. I originally found a snippet of the song from TikTok, and I am so glad I listened to the whole song. This gives major 2009 middle school vibes, like an emo girl who just got dumped. The best verse (in my opinion, of course) is "I could follow you to the beginning, and just to relive the start. And maybe then, we'll remember to slow down at all our favorite parts." Although I don't have much experience with dating, I can only imagine how much you'd want to turn back the clock and cherish the good times of the relationship.

4.) February- Beach Bunny

I have 3 words to describe this song: Work. Of. Art. Some of the lyrics in this musical Mona Lisa include: "You melt away from the cracks of my fingers... maybe by Monday, I'll be okay. Any day's better than February. Sometimes I wonder how life would be... But if you called and you asked me to stay, would you give me the world or walk out in a day? Because I'm so afraid that if I let you in when the going gets rough, will you leave me again, like February?" Just, wow.

5.) So Sad, So Sad- Varsity

I found this song thanks to my YouTube recommendation and have loved it ever since. Arguably, the best lyrics are "So sad, so sad. I could never make you stay," and, "So sad, so sad, I reply upon cliche to help me explain why I will never be the same" As I mentioned, we are conditioned to think cliches are ideal love, when that's not true and can lead to a feeling never being satisfied, or "never the same" in a relationship.

6.) Space Cowboy- Kacey Musgraves

Country artist Kacey Musgraves is known for her love songs like, "Love is a Wild Thing," "Butterflies," and "Golden Hour." However, this song embraces letting your significant other go. The lyric I love the most is, "I know my place, and it ain't with you. Well, sunsets fade, and love does too." Many people look at their past relationships and think of how sad it was to have to let them go when really all the broken relationships bring you one step closer to the realization that you are enough. We don't need someone to give us happiness.

8.) Watch Me While I Bloom- Hayley Williams

This brings us to my final song, "Watch Me While I Bloom." From the album "Petals for Armor," this song is so perfect for the people who just got out of a relationship and are beginning to find themselves as an individual. Here, she says "If you feel like you're never gonna reach the sky 'til you pull up your roots, leave your dirt behind" This is so empowering; you really have to leave the "dirt" or person who's keeping you from being your best self, to "reach the sky" and become your best version of yourself.

Same.

Relationships are hard and Valentine's day is harder. It's a constant reminder that we're single. But if you listen to good music made by people who understand the struggle of not being loved, having to let a loved one go, or finally accepting the fact that you have to grow to love yourself, it makes Valentine's Day stigma a bit more bearable. That being said, Happy Anti-Valentine's Day!

playlist

About the Creator

Naabiah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NaabiahWritten by Naabiah

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.