Beat logo

Ledisi: Power and Passion

Inspiring Music that Seeps into Your Soul

By Sasha BrownPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I believe Ledisi is a powerful, talented black female artist we should celebrate. I discovered her about a year ago and I believe she deserves more mainstream recognition. She is a R&B and Jazz recording artist who released her first album in the early 2000s. At that time in my life, I had never heard of her. I was in my early 20s and didn't really broaden my music horizons beyond the current radio jam or my favorite decade of music, the 60s! She may not be as well known as Janet Jackson or Beyoncé but her style is unique and her voice shines in all her songs.

Pieces of Me is a power example of her talent and relevancy. You can feel the emotion in her voice and the song inspires the listener to reflect. It’s haunting and one of those songs every woman regardless of age, race or background can connect to.

So when you look at my face

You gotta know that I'm made of everything love and pain. (These are the pieces of me)

Like every woman I know

I'm complicated fo sho

But when I love I love til there's no love no mo. (These are the pieces of me)

She has a strong blues, jazz, and R &B sounds. Blues in Night showcases this style and her amazing sass and rich vocals. I especially like Them Changes. It’s a fun song that makes you want to dance and clap your hands. Her voice carries the upbeat, jazzy style of the music. I have never seen her perform but I can imagine the energy in the room. This song is another one that I connected with and feel so many people can, especially during the past year of so much change and uncertainty.

There was a time when I gave up on people

Disappointment just led me to be alone

Then one day I was told

To just stand on my own

And it's so true

It's so true

Just forgive no regrets

Go on and live and forget it

You can't go back again

Learn to leave in the present

Learn from your mistakes

Like the seasons it all has changed

Oh, everything must change

Sometimes it's nice to discover an artist you have never heard of and know nothing about because then it's all about her body of work versus her role in pop culture or prescence in Hollywood or social media. While I do think she is deserving of more mainstream attention, I wonder if that would have changed how I connected to her music? I know she has a large fan base and has won awards, including Grammys so she is probably more known than I realize, but it's sometimes nice to imagine she's more of a friend singing her stories to me versus a far away celebrity. She's coming alongside her listeners and relating to our shared human pain but also encouraging us to be strong, stay present and keep moving forward. Viewing her as a friend versus a celebrity creates a stronger connection to her words for me, it makes it more relevant and real her music is to me.

Her voice and words have such an inspiring sound and message that every woman can relate to. You can feel the anguish in her voice in her love and reflective songs and the strength she has in all her songs. I think she's a great example of an artist that empowers all people and gives a voice to young girls and woman. To quote Pieces of Me:

As the pieces of me start to unfold

Now I start to understand

All that I am

A woman not afraid to be strong, STRONG

She is a force!

celebrities

About the Creator

Sasha Brown

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sasha BrownWritten by Sasha Brown

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.