Beat logo

Just keep breathing

We Came As Romans

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
I do not own the image above, no copyright intended

I've discussed this band previously in one of my very first articles. We Came as Romans is still one of my all time favorite bands. I remember someone asking me once if there was any like; positive/happy post-hardcore bands. I immediately thought of "We Came as Romans". This band truly helped me through some very rough times in my life, especially as an angsty teenager. So hopefully if you're going through that phase right now while reading this article, they may be able to help you the same way they helped me. This is one band I truly regret never seeing live. Hopefully I'll have the opportunity to eventually even though it won't be 100% the same after Kyle's passing. RIP brother.

Just Keep Breathing

This article's namesake, Just Keep Breathing is literally what the song is. A reminder to just keep breathing when times get tough. This song is so simplistic in its message; yet so deep and meaningful. We need more songs like this in the world.

This song holds an incredibly special place in my heart. During my high school years, my school had a segment called "What's on your playlist?". In this segment students were chosen at random to recommend one song and why they liked said song. Then that song would be featured for roughly, 10-15 seconds on our weekly school news update. I actually had the opportunity to recommend this song for that segment. Thankfully they picked the perfect portion of the song to feature too.

"Am I still breathing?

Then nothing is as bad as it seems

So just keep breathing

Keep Calm, Keep Calm

The only real control we have is over ourselves

So let's get over it that we can't and we won't control anything else"

Hope

I mean the title of this song should honestly tell you all you need to know about this song. It's just all about hope, and trying to find hope during your darkest times.

"We won't fall to our knees

we are the ones who hope

So give me an answer

are you in or at you out?

We all fall, crawl out of the fear you're in

Don't give up"

Just like with "Just Keep Breathing", even the strongest of us need to be reminded of these words every now again. We all need a little bit of reassurance that we have friends, family or even just good Samaritans ready to help out at a moments notice at our lowest points.

Fade away

Shockingly the only song on this list to only feature clean vocals. No screaming at all in this song. Probably a good introductory song for those who aren't really into post-hardcore music. Another unique detail about this song is every member of gets their own personal verse to sing.

"I won't fade away

like the ones before

I won't let you down

...

I know your heart's been torn

I won't fade away"

We Are The Reason

I may be remembering wrong, but I believe this is the very first song I discovered by them. If memory serves me right that's why I appreciate them so much to this day. I know I've mentioned this many times so far in this article. However we can't ignore how much "We Are The Reason" talks about personal growth and self improvement. Just take a look for yourselves, starting off talking about being restless to eventually finding inner peace.

First:

And I know I've built a bed of unrest

That destroys my heart once I lay my head down

Destroys the crutches that I've built

I thought they were sound

Then:

And I know I've built a bed of peace

That restores my heart once I lay my head down.

Rebuilds the crutches that I destroyed myself.

What I wish I never had

Before I end this article, I want have one last song. I couldn't resist, I had to put one "angry" song on this list. Now here's what I appreciate about the touch WCAR puts on this song. This song really feels like a genuine struggle to let go of hatred, negativity, and anger. It never feels edgy like, "Animal" where at a certain point you just start to think "okay tough guy, calm down". Also of course unlike most metal bands embrace and celebrate those negative feelings. We Came As Romans reinforces the importance of self improvement and growth despite of our personal demons. Literally it's in the ending of this, which might I add is so powerful:

"These demons will never leave me

But I c0ntrol them, not the other way around"

I often crack jokes about my angsty teenage years, but boy am I glad I found this band. It was the perfect counter balance to a lot of the metal I was listening to that was just angry for the sake of being angry. Thank you for keeping me balanced.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

playlist
9

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.