Beat logo

Jeiris Cook

Independent R&B Artist

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Jeiris Cook is an acoustic guitar solo artist with a sound that is reminiscent of old school blues, the 70s styled R&B and, Smooth Jazz. After going musically dark for nearly 13 years, he picked up his sister-in-law’s acoustic guitar in May 2016 and committed himself fully to learning to play the guitar. He has revived his passion for singing, by producing a unique sound of R&B and Soul music.

Jeiris’ newly released single, “Bad to the Bone” blends both R&B and Rock genres with soulful tones. He has just finished recording a new single "Enough is Enough" with Indie Records Recording Artist Mindy Davey. The single is available on all Digital Platforms. Jeiris will be releasing a new single on December 16, 2020, called "Dreams".

Jeiris is currently working on projects with notable producers in the music industry releasing new music, and entertaining everyone through Monae Management Music Therapy Sessions. Jeiris Cook Music has been featured on Urban Magazine, New Jersey Stage Publication, and Emmy Award Winner Randy Stress TV Show The Stress Free Zone Sports & Entertainment. His song, “The Villian” has been featured on three Spotify playlists. Spotify Release Radar, The Seeking Land Playlist, and On Your Radar Playlist.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Jeiris Cook

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the music industry?

Jeiris Cook:

The first concert I ever went to was to see Michael Jackson. I am probably among a handful of people on the planet who can say their first live music experience was seeing his showmanship live and in-person. If you have an inkling of love for music, that experience alone is enough to inspire just about anyone but especially me. After that, I didn’t just want to enjoy the music of others, but I wanted my own music to be the catalyst of inspiration for others. So I started writing songs at around 12 or 13 years of age with that aim in mind. I’ve been chasing that goal since and the music industry provides a great avenue to do it.

Tammy Reese:

How did playing the guitar come about?

Jeiris Cook:

When I really sit and think about it, my desire to learn guitar comes from two places. The first is being able to write songs without being dependent on someone else to provide music tracks. The other is I wanted to play out at local clubs and restaurants and be able to accompany myself. I learned from watching Youtube videos and I had an instructional book that I used for a time. When I was confident enough, I started playing and singing at open mics. I was terrified the first time I got up in front of a crowd to perform 4 years ago. I’m sure it wasn’t perfect but I’ve never looked back. I find that playing guitar, acoustic guitar specifically is therapeutic on an intimate level.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the proudest moments in your career so far?

Jeiris Cook:

Can I mention two? The first is when I recorded my first song “Apple Tree” which I’d written on acoustic guitar. I decided to keep it strictly acoustic and the way it came out more than exceeded my expectations. I was so excited to share it with the world. The second comes when I was invited to play my first SoFar Sounds show in Philadelphia. So many artists that I follow such as Leon Bridges & Andra Day came up through SoFar Sounds. Getting an invite to play for me was a nod to my musicianship in such a short time. I called my wife and could barely speak trying to tell her.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Jeiris Cook:

I’d say the biggest challenge for me is trying to balance fatherhood with music. Like any working parent, it can be taxing. Especially since I’m working mostly on nights and weekends. Whether I’m out performing or working in my home studio, I'm usually working nights. I came from a retail background before jumping into music full-time so my family is somewhat used to that schedule. But I have an awesome support system in my family, so we are making it work.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Jeiris Cook:

I'd say the biggest impact on my day-to-day life has been the reduction of live shows. Back in March, I had a month’s worth of dates vanish within a day. Things vastly improved in spring and summer. In fact, I was busier than ever because of all the pinned up demand caused by sitting in quarantine for 3 months. I also find that I’m writing and recording more which I’ve needed to do. I am ever the optimist, so I focus on what I can do instead of dwelling on what I can’t.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the benefits of being an independent artist?

Jeiris Cook:

The biggest benefit is always being in control creatively. I can make my own schedules, write and sing in any style I want. Collaborate with whomever I want. There are literally no restrictions on the creative side of things. Being an independent artist does mean that you have to be creative in how you cut through the noise and stand out in a crowded and highly subjective industry. I don’t have the big marketing and distribution budgets that national acts have but I enjoy the challenge of figuring it out. I have a graduate degree in marketing management and I’m finding that helps tremendously.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about your newly released singles.

Jeiris Cook:

In the past two months, I’ve released “Bad To The Bone” (August) & “The Villain” (Halloween). They are connected in that they tell the story of someone who moves from being a loner to embracing a life of bad deeds. Both songs are loosely based on the movie “Megamind” which my kids used to watch frequently. Next month on Dec 16th, I’ve got a sparkling new single coming out titled “Dreams” which is a throwback to my R&B roots. I’ve never been more excited about one of my releases than I am with this one. This isn’t to say I’m not proud of what I’ve done so far, but this song symbolizes a pivot to a different genre of music that resonates on a deeper level with me.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Jeiris Cook:

Right now I am writing a song called “Crazy” which is an R&B styled ballad. That will be released sometime early next year. I am in talks with an LA-based producer who has worked with lots of national acts. I’ve also got several collaborations I am working on, one of which was just released on Black Friday called “Enough Is Enough”. I’m featured on the track alongside Mindy Davey who is so talented and beyond inspiring. There’s another artist I’m working with from Utah who goes by “Mel Soul” he is also crazy talented. I won’t reveal the song’s title because everything is still in the works but it's unlike any song I’ve ever worked on. You can probably tell I’m really into doing collaborations because it amplifies the voices of both performers.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to join the music industry?

Jeiris Cook:

Learn your craft and make sure you’re always honing your skills afterward. I would also say to not take things personally. Meaning whatever musical style you choose, make sure you can stand by it in the face of withering criticism because music is highly subjective. No matter how talented you are, there will be some who won’t like your music. Last, you have to view yourself as a business and the music produced a product of that business. At the end of the day, it’s all about the partnerships you forge and what is sellable and marketable. You have to become your own best advocate.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to look like?

Jeiris Cook:

I’d like to leave behind a body of work that people will enjoy for generations long after I’m gone. I want to make music that is timeless like some of the greats such as Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding & Stevie Wonder. When you hear their music, you know the songs from the first few notes. That would be the ideal outcome but if not, at least I got to devote my life to creating works of art that I love and can be proud of.

Keep up to date on Jeiris Cook's career journey by connecting with him on Instagram.

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.