Beat logo

How has music helped me?

To me, music means a lot, and I believe music is universal.

By Brendaliz ColonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Since I was a little girl, I always have been attracted to music. When I'm sad, angry, happy, or need time to think, I listen to music. I was born in Puerto Rico, which, of course, means I'm Hispanic. Proud to be Hispanic, by the way. It all started when I was around five or six years old, and my mother used to collect CDs and cassettes—what a memory. Mother was born and raised in New York, so she is very fluent in English, not like me that struggles sometimes. She used to collect CDs of Mariah Carey, Shakira, Britney Spears, Celine Dion, and others. One day I went to my parent's room, and I found a CD; it looked brand new. Probably she hid it from me since I always would make her play the ones that were in the living room. Bingo! It was Celine Dion, mind you that I didn't know any English or I was aware of what kind of music I was hearing. All I knew was that I enjoyed it, and had a lot of fun.

Well one day, my father surprised me with a radio for me, and a CD. Since that moment, music became something else to me. My father and I would listen to music together, and finally, I was free to hear whatever I wanted, that by the way, mother gave me a couple of her CDs that were my favorite. I would pretend that I was singing and dance around the room. It was the only time that I would be free, in school I went through bullying, and nobody wanted to be my friend. My first friend was a little girl from kinder, or I would go by the classroom where they had the students that needed special attention. I loved going in there, at first they didn't let me because they thought that I was like the other that came to make fun, but I wasn't. I made special friends there, and I was devastated when some of them never came back to school since they transferred from school or they graduated. I spent most of the time, also in the library. It was my father's idea to spend the hour of lunch there with mom. He didn't go to school in a routine, but when he did, I was excited to be with him. I didn't like reading at; first; I hated the idea, but eventually, I started liking it, and finally, I would take home some books that I didn't have the chance to read during lunch.

I consider myself curious, but at the same time, shy, and here's why. When I wasn't at home listening to music, I was reading. One day at school, I was about seven years old or eight, I was starring the poetry shelf. I wanted so bad to read at least one book, but the librarian said that I wouldn't understand it, so that's why those books were only accessible by the students of sixth grade. But, she made an exception with me, and then I realized that I made the biggest mistake. Curiosity killed the cat. I caught myself learning how to read poetry, learning about poetry, and she also convinced me to participate in a poetry challenge that at that moment was going on. Not only I participated in that challenge, but I also attended another activity at school that got me in second place. I don't remember what happened about poetry, but my father was super proud of me.

Now I had two passions, writing and listening to music, but then the story hits a turn. Losing my father at a young age affected me very badly. I didn't want to be involved in anything that was related to books or music. So my mother had to make some changes.

In 2012 I felt motivated again on listening to music, I remember that my first CD after my father passed away was "I am... Sasha Fierce," by Beyoncé. She was like a therapy for me, when I had my first computer, I was searching more about her, and then I realized that she was more than just another pop-artist. She was an icon and a legend. She has inspired in so many ways that I am proud to say that to this day; she is my favorite artist. Over the years, her music has helped me a lot. Her work ethic is insane.

In middle school, they thought I was weird because I would say that my favorite artist is Beyoncé. They probably expected me to name a Puerto Rican artist, I don't know, but that's why I have always said that music is universal. Music is powerful, and it can cross boundaries. Yes, I have more favorite artists now, but I still listen to her music. I thank God for my parents, especially my mother, for allowing me to listen to the artist that I wanted to. I also thank my father; he always believed in me when no one else did.

My favorite song of Beyoncé when I was twelve years old was Single Ladies and Diva. Now that I am twenty, I love all her albums, I have learned to appreciate the art of music, and her music in a whole another level.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Brendaliz Colon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.