Beat logo

Here's To Anti-Valentine (Karaoke Edition)

A bit of angst, a whole lot of attitude and power anthems for your anti-celebrations

By OPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Yes, this happens on a daily basis.

Disclaimer: A couple Valentines ago, I took a chance and dipped my feet into the world of DIY romantic grand gestures. On the eve of Cupid's infamous day of love, I did a last minute dash to the shops and woke up at 5am to craft a scavenger hunt bonanza which involved well-worded love letters, secret riddles, pretty damn good pancakes and creepily kneeling outside my boyfriend's window to stick up post-it notes of our favourite song lyrics...

Fast forward to now, I've ditched the rose-coloured glasses and currently embrace the single life! So it's only appropriate I share with you my Anti-Valentine Karaoke Playlist:

Being someone who gets nostalgic more than most, I managed to unlock some childhood memories that feature the theme song of my pre-teen years. Picture this: a 11-year-old girl with bright pink streaks in her hair, wearing a skull t-shirt and spike bracelets while pumping at full volume on her new CD player: Kelly Osbourne's underrated 2002 hit, 'Shut Up'.

All rage, no chill factor.

This throwback is pretty much a homage to our punk-rocker rebel phase and I'm here for it! It's that song you don't actually sing, but YELL at the top of your lungs. The one that stirs up the buried angst of our youth, and honestly has me ditch my anxieties for about 2 minutes just so I can feel like a badass with no care in the world.

Now switching it up with a heavy dose of sass and confidence, welcome to Meghan Trainor-ing 101 (hehe). Before you try argue that she isn't exactly an ambassador for Anti V-day, let me remind you that 'NO' and 'Me Too' take the throne as iconic numbers unapologetically about standing your ground and loving yourself.

I applaud how 'NO' hits the nail on the head that it isn’t a requirement to reciprocate interest and flattery thrown in our direction. And you don't have to apologise or offer disclaimers to ease the blow to another's ego. In fact, I always tell my younger sister that if an unwelcome guy tries to get up in my space, then his rejection will involve being on the receiving end of me singing loudly and aggressively,

"My name is NO, my sign is NO, my number is NO — you need to let it go."

Both songs address different sides to the pressure we experience, especially as women, to conform to certain expectations and romantic ideals. Real talk; you don't have to be in a relationship just because everyone else is.

Being single is totally fine.

It isn't you lacking something; it's a personal season in life with so many opportunities to take hold of and we need to hear this more often!

Meghan sums it up quite nicely—

"Who's that sexy thing I see over there? That's me, standin' in the mirror..."

To finish us off, Lizzo brings us full circle with a feel-good power anthem you should all know! 'Good As Hell' is equally fun and upbeat as it is empowering. When I hear it, I want to drop whatever I'm doing and just dance. I also love the song's no-nonsense attitude that really drives home the truth: you're worth it, so don't stick around with anyone who tells you otherwise.

Expect to keep this song on repeat because you'll be singing along, hair-tossing and sashaying down the catwalk that is your hallway. Facetime your single friends, or even the couples, and have a virtual dance party to remember. I'm sure Lizzo would approve.

Well that's, that.

I'm not sure about you, but I plan to forget how thin the walls are and karaoke the heck out of this playlist!

P.S. To my neighbours, if you’re reading this—I’m sorry…kinda.

playlist
2

About the Creator

O

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.