Beat logo

Hard Goodbyes

Songs That Get Me

By Paula ShabloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Fiddler on the Roof, 1971 Paul Michael Glaser, Michele Marsh, Topol

I have always been a theater fan, and I love musicals. I’m kind of a little old lady now, so as you can imagine, I have seen quite a few of them over the years.

“Fiddler of the Roof” has remained my absolute favorite, even after all the time that has passed since the first time I saw it.

I never have gotten to see it on Broadway–I have never even been to New York City. My first encounter with it was the movie, which came out when I was in Junior High. I saw it in the movie theater in my hometown. After the first viewing, I bought another ticket and watched it again. I was enchanted.

I still am.

If the movie was on television, I would rearrange my schedule around it. While my kids were growing up, they were repeatedly exposed to it. My daughters insisted “Grease” was the word, but I maintained then and now that the real word is “Tradition”.

Years after my first exposure to the story, my then-husband had knee surgery in Jackson, Wyoming, and while he was recuperating we went to see a local production of the play. He had never seen a musical on stage, and he, too was enchanted. It surprised us both—he’d expected to take a little nap, and I expected he’d ask when we could leave. Instead, I watched him watch the show, delighting in his obvious pleasure.

It’s that sort of story, the one that hits you right in the feels. Children growing up; falling in love; leaving home. Strife in the community. Strife in the world. The anguish of losing a home and dealing with bigotry. This one never gets old or loses relevance.

And, oh! The music!

The magic of video streaming means I can watch this whenever I want, and I watch it all the time. Every song is a delight. A couple of them are real tear-jerkers.

This one always gets me, though: “Far From the Home I Love”. It has struck me in different ways over the years.

As a kid, the first time I heard this song, I swore I would never put my father through the pain of having to say goodbye to me.

But, of course, I did. I didn’t stay home forever. Like everyone, I grew up. I moved out, first remaining in town, and then on to another. Every move took me further and further away.

As a parent, every time one of my own children moved away, this song came to mind. I would remind myself that they had their own lives, their own loves; that going away might be best for them, no matter how I felt about it.

Saying goodbye is hard. Staying “home” isn’t always possible. I think we all have gone through the feeling of wanting to stay and wanting to go at the same time. It is not easy.

Right now, I spend most of my time with my mother. When I go home, saying goodbye is especially hard. Although my plan is always a week away at most, I do have to face the fact that she is in her 80s, and there is a chance I won’t see her again. The last time I went home for a week, I came back and brought my father home from a nursing facility and put him into Hospice care at home so he wouldn’t be alone in his last days. We said goodbye to him less than two weeks later, and I thank God neither of us were far from home when he took his last breath.

Soon I will make another week long journey far from the home I love, and I am fearful. How do people do it, I wonder. How do they leave, not knowing if their loved ones will be there when they return? Still, I could disappear from this life myself and Mom could live into her 100s.

We’re promised nothing.

For whatever reason, when I say goodbye to family, this is the song playing in my head. Other family members are on the other end of each trip, and I always have hope in the words, “There, with my love, I’m home.”

I leave one home, and I’m content in the other. And then, I leave that home so I can be content here. With each leaving, I hear the sad strains of the song again. I have loves, and not one of them has failed to stray from home. Nor have I.

They say it’s a small world, yet everyone is so far away…

Have a listen. Have hope.

Far From the Home I Love

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JNTNU7etW8&feature=youtu.be

humanity
4

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.