Beat logo

Ghosts of Halloweens Past

A Middle-Aged Woman's Retro Halloween Party Playlist

By Misty RaePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
13
Ghosts of Halloweens Past
Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

Welcome to my Gen X Halloween bash! We're the generation that knows how to have a good time and tonight's gonna be totally awesome! Strap on your dancing shoes, grab some punch and let's take a creepy trip down memory lane, before Bieber and when The Weekend was just those 2 days you had off after working all week, 'cuz we're gonna party like it's 1999!

Let's start things off with THE Halloween song of our youth. You guessed it - Michael Jackson's Thriller. What starts off as young Michael and his galpal watching a werewolf movie quickly turns into a choreographed dance with the undead (because, you know, the undead only ever come to life to dance if the choreography is tight). This song and the video are a 12- minute cornucopia of cheesy Halloween cliches. But we're children of the '80s and isn't that really what the decade was, cheese and cliches?

Maybe werewolves and the undead aren't your thing. That's okay, we've got a little something for everyone at this party. How about the Devil? The little horned one in red is always a favourite this time of year. And if we learned anything from '80s sitcoms, we all have a little devil inside us that pops out, sits on our shoulders and tries to convince us to do naughty things when we're faced with a dilemma. What better way to pay homage to the little evil-doer in all of us to jam to INXS' Devil Inside:

And don't worry, there's also something for us "devilish" ladies. I had to reach way back to 1976 for us to find Sir Cliff Richard and Devil Woman (said in my best Casey Kasem voice):

Okay, the party's in full swing now! The witches' brew is flowing and it's time to slow things down a bit. Grab a partner for a slow jam, or just sit back and rest your weary feet. I know what you're thinking, there can't be a slow song that fits with the creepy, spookfest that is Halloween. Au contraire, my friends, as it turns out, the '80s elevated hiding the creepy in sappy love songs an art form. Don't believe me? You will.

Our first slow dance of the night will be from my all-time fave, George Michael. Come on, you didn't actually think you were coming to MY party and there wouldn't be some George. Father Figure is a beautiful song, just look at the lyrics:

That's all I wanted

Something special something sacred in your eyes

For just one moment to be bold and naked at your side...

So romantic, isn't it? Yeah, until you watch the video and realize that our lovely George is a cabbie who is creepily obsessed with and stalking a model. Bad George, bad! Just bad enough to make my list.

Speaking of that witches' brew, we have to have something for my pointy hatted sisters. I give you, Witchy Woman by the Eagles because what's Halloween without witches?:

If the '80s elevated concealing the creepy inside catchy pop tunes then The Police with their frontman, sinister sneering Sting, were the ultimate masters. With songs like Every Breath You Take and King of Pain, Gordon Sumner and the boys just have to be part of any retro Halloween playlist.

Next up is Alice Cooper's 1989 offering Poison. This song hit #91 on the year's Billboard Top 100. Why am I including it? Because this guy literally looks like Halloween to me. When I was a small kid, he terrified the bejeezus out of me. He'd come across my T.V. screen and I'd run like hell out of the room in tears.

No Halloween party is complete without ghosts so, let's pay homage to our spirited pals with a couple of fun classics. First up, yes, it's the unlikely kings of Halloween, The Police and Spirits in a Material World:

And of course, Ray Parker Jr's Ghostbusters. I know, I'm groaning right along with you. Yes, it's '80s cheese at its ripest, but you know what? I can hear you saying, "I ain't afraid of no ghost," as you're reading this:

Time for another slow dance. I could take the easy way out and just play Every Breath You Take, but we're trying not to be too obvious (besides, Gordon Sumner and the boys have had more than enough attention on this list). So, I offer yet another love song from the decade of decadence which sounds romantic until you watch the video. Total Eclipse of the Heart was one of my favourite songs of 1983. The lyrics are beautiful as Bonnie Tyler waxes poetically about her beloved "bright eyes." Here's the problem, she's the incoming headmistress at a boys school and "bright eyes" is a student. Creepy much, Bonnie?

Don't worry vampires, I haven't forgotten about you. First up on the list is Love Bites by Def Leopard (get it, "bites"?).

And next, a catchy little tune that reminds me of my first year of university and my crew back in the day. So for Shelley, Colleen, Mich, Sherri and Doug, this one's for you, Great White and Once Bitten, Twice Shy:

The night is still young and the party's hoppin' but lucky number 13 just feels like the appropriate place to stop this list. To that end, I'll include my husband's special request, because well, I had to invite him, he lives here ... The Cocteau Twins and their ode to the Greek Queen of the Underworld, Persephone:

I hope you enjoyed your time here at my retro Halloween party, I know I did. Stay spooky! ;)

Me and a couple of pals at an 80s themed party in law school, circa 2008-9

playlist
13

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.