Beat logo

(G)I-DLE's new song is making me go "DUMDi DUMDi."

There is no concept that (G)I-DLE cannot do.

By Mi WorldPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Neverlands' long-anticipation of South Korean Girl Group (G)I-DLE's another comeback song this year, "DUMDi DUMDi." The music video for the song was released two hours ago in the U.S., and all I can say that the sound is different from any other song they have ever done. (G)I-DLE are amorphous, fierce young women who have proved to the Kpop world that there is nothing that they cannot do.

The group debuted not too long ago in 2018 with their song "LATATA" under Cube Entertainment, a South Korean music label, and an entertainment company. The song was written and produced by leader and main rapper, Jeon So Yeon, who competed in various survival shows before the group debuted. Soyeon produces and writes the majority of the songs for the group as well as the choreography. She is truly a queen who deserves to be crowned with garlands of flowers.

The girl group consists of members, Soyeon, Soojin, Shuhua, Yuqi, Minnie, and Miyeon. (G)I-DLE is a multinational group that not only comprises of Korean, but also Taiwanese, Thai, and Chinese. Like many Kpop girl groups, members face flaws that are evident most people at the beginning of their debut. Over time, members get better and work harder when they prepare for their next comeback.

Two years ago, when (G)I-DLE was first introduced to the world, some members were not as confident during interviews and stage performances. Luckily, the girls were able to acknowledge their weaknesses and work on their improvements.

In my opinion, I think that after “LATATA” hit the charts in not only Korea but worldwide, the girls were diligent and persistent with every comeback. Although they hadn’t received many wins on music shows, they have been nominated in many categories, competing with very talented groups alongside them.

In April, (G)I-DLE released their album “I trust” with their leading single “Oh my god,” which now has over one hundred and four million views on YouTube. Nevies or Neverlands (fandom) has nicknamed the “Oh my god” era as a lesbian anthem because of the chorus, which reads, “Oh, my God. She took me to the sky. Oh, my God. She showed me all the stars.” I think that the “Oh my god” era was the group’s most robust and unexpected comeback, but I was wrong.

I honestly believed that I wouldn’t like (G)I-DLE’s new song, but after I watched the music video, I found myself streaming the video like crazy. I was not disappointed. Everything was immaculate and different from any other concept that the group has tried.

The song itself had a nice tempo, beautiful chorus, and charming lyrics. Down to the setting, visuals, and costumes, chef’s kiss is all I have to say.

(G)I-DLE just might be the next Red Velvet, but hear me out before you come for me. Red Velvet and (G)I-DLE have different sounds and styles as girl groups. However, at the start of (G)I-DLE and Red Velvet, most people did not have as much faith in them as others did, but both groups kept working harder for each comeback and came back, slaying us and blowing us away with everything that they had.

Ever since “DUMDi DUMDi” was announced to be released on August the 3rd of 2020, (G)I-DLE fans have put their differences aside, came together, and supported their queens. In fact, the gifted singing and dancing group have had an increase in their fanbase. I know numbers shouldn’t really matter, but their Instagram account now has 5 million followers, their YouTube channel has 2.31 million subscribers, yesterday it was 2.28 million subscribers, and within three hours, the music video has over 2.45 million views. Fingers crossed that girls will get to at least 10 million today.

Honestly, I am so proud of the girls. All of their hard work is paying off, and they are getting the recognition that they deserve. I hope that this song will win show awards on, brighten the summer through these troubling times across the world, and be the best girl group that they can be.

Also, I hope that we, Nevies can support our girls by voting on the music shows, streaming their music on multiple platforms, and voting for them on the MTV VMA’s website because they are currently nominated for an award for Best K-POP video.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Mi World

a safe place for poems, tv and movie reviews, album reviews, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.