Beat logo

11 Songs To Listen To On A Rainy Day.

I really hope this helps.

By Mi WorldPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Recently, two days ago, it was raining cats and dogs outside, and the weather was being a pain to the muscles in my legs and arms. While I was listening to my professor’s lecture on Zoom yesterday evening, I was starting to feel tired, so I fell asleep. When I woke up, my screen was black, and that’s when I realized that the session was over. I got out of my bed and noticed that it was still raining from that morning.

So, get this while I’m staring out of the window, I think to myself, Wow, this is a really great time for me to listen to music. Then I decided to write an article about the best fourteen songs to listen to on a gloomy rainy day.

1) “Selfish” by Madison Beer

First of all, I should warn you guys that the intro is truly magical and puts you right into a Disney film. Beer sings about someone who she loves, but can’t fix, even though she wants them to change. This person is unwilling to modify themselves because they’re selfish. Beer tries to look past the person’s faults and view them as a good person instead of who they are. Also, might I add, the synth waves that are included during the pre-bridge prepares you for the bridge and Beer’s high note. I highly recommend listening to this song; it’s a good one.

2) “From The Bottom of My Broken Heart” by Britney Spears

This oldie was sung by the Princess of Pop back in the late nineties. If anyone of you remembers the music video and also wanted to lie in a field filled with sunflowers and swing from a tire swing, you are not alone. Despite being born in 2001, I am a sucker for throwback music, especially from the nineties and the eighties. Anyway, this song is sweet and sentimental, and a great choice for a rainy day.

3) “To Build A Home” by Cinematic Orchestra

Oh, my goodness, need I say anything at all about this beautiful masterpiece. I’m sorry, but if you haven’t heard this song before, you’ve clearly have not seen any drama movie or series because the moment the song plays is when something big and something impactful happens to the main character, if not sad. This song was featured in many movies and shows like Nappily Ever After, Edge of Seventeen, Step Up: Revolution, Grey’s Anatomy, etc. Something about this song just butters my croissants, if that makes any sense. Overall, it is a work of genius, and I genuinely want to give the writers behind the song a hug.

4) “Still Don’t My Name” by Labrinth

Labrinth is astounding, and he deserves all of the awards. I’m sorry, but it had to be said. This song has gotten a lot of recognition on Tik Tok, and many uses have used this sound in their videos. I am glad that people are finally giving this song attention. Also, let’s not forget the epic beat drop that makes you want to explore a new world or embark on a journey to your dream location. Please, do not sleep on this song, it’s worth listening to, I promise.

5) “Ghostin’” by Ariana Grande

Man, I really adore this song. Everything about it makes me cry, especially since it is about Mac Miller. (God bless his precious soul.) Anyway, I recommend listening to this heavenly piece of music. Grande’s harmonies are remarkable, refreshing, and airy; I love it. I feel like I am floating on a cloud while crying pink tears out of my eyes.

6) “Kiss It Better” by Rihanna

Don’t even get me started on this work of art. The guitar solo in the introduction will grab your attention as soon as you hit the play button. It’s about a woman not being able to untangle herself from an old relationship because she is still attracted or addicted to her ex sexually. Despite the meaning behind the lyrics, it’s a chill song to lie in your bed and gaze at the neon pink lights in your room.

7) “All The Stars” by Kendrick Lamar & SZA

Many of you may recognize this song from the soundtrack of Black Panther, the best movie of 2018, in my opinion. SZA’s melodious voice and Lamar’s rapping were the perfect combinations when it came down to this song. It has also been played on Tik Tok.

8) “Too Sad To Cry” by Sasha Sloan

I think all humans at one point in time have felt like crying just doesn’t solve any of your problems, and at some point, you become so numb to your feelings. This song definitely speaks for itself. This is one of my favorite songs because I relate to it, and it means so much to me. What can I say, I’m a Cancer, and I’m a crybaby.

9) “Moral of The Story” by Ashe

I remember this song playing on the sequel of To All The Boys I've Loved Before, To All The Boys: P.S. I Still Love You, and Peter and Laura Jean were kind of broken up. This is also another Tik Tok favorite, and as a matter of fact, the app made me fall in love with this song. This song will probably make you cry and reminisce about a relationship you had or never had.

10) “Fresh Pair of Eyes” by Brooke Waggoner

If anyone of you remembers this song playing on Pretty Little Liars when Aria and Mr. Fitz, aka Ezra, made out in his car while it was raining outside, you’re a gem. To be honest, I lowkey shipped this relationship despite it being inappropriate and illegal, but I loved them together. The singer who sings this song has a pure and delicate voice that makes me want to go dance outside in the rain.

11) “Stained Glass” by Madison Beer

If you guys haven’t realized, I really like Madison Beer’s songs. It’s always something different and unique with her music. This song will send you into an early 2000s film, preferably Requiem For A Dream or any other dark indie movie. This song also reminds me of Rue's character from Euphoria and her struggle with addiction. It’s unpredictable, raw, and I love it.

Before I close out this article, I should inform you guys that it’s best to listen to these songs, slowed down, and reverbed. They truly will shake you to the core, especially if you’re having a bad day or whatever. I hope you guys take a chance to listen to them, and while you’re at it, put some Lana Del Rey and Billie Eilish on.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Mi World

a safe place for poems, tv and movie reviews, album reviews, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.