Beat logo

Feline Like A Song

A Playlist Of Songs With Cats

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
10

Introduction

I was not sure that I had already done and looking through my stories I don't think I have. I didn't think there were that many songs that related to cats apart from those from Disney films and "Love Cats" by The Cure, but then I started to remember that there was quite a lot in my collection. The beat generation referred to the cool ones as cats so there may be a few where the feline referral is more than a little ambiguous.

If you check my Petlife Vocal stories you will see that most of them are about cats, and as well as that there are the #CatsofVocal hashtag on Instagram and the page on Facebook.

And so to some music for all the Cool Cats out there.

Dave Wave - Electro Swing remix of "Everybody Want To Be A Cat" from The Aristocats

The original of this is absolutely brilliant but I do think this electro-swing remix does take it to another level. Watch, listen, dance, and enjoy.

The Coasters - "Three Cool Cats"

As I said in my intro these are not cats but they are cruisin for chicks, a great Lieber and Stoller song like many of the ones that were delivered by The Coasters. This was originally the "B" side of "Charlie Brown" so that was two pieces of gold in seven inches of vinyl.

Tyrannosaurus Rex - "Cat Black (The Wizard's Hat)" from "Unicorn"

I first heard this on the first album that I ever bought, "The Best Of T. Rex" on the Fly label, and last year I got it again on vinyl. I have "Unicorn" on CD and still love this song, so relaxed and full of mystical creatures, but I still don't know who "Cat Black" is.

If the video link doesn't work out of the UK, this one supplied by Randy should do

The Strolling Scones - "Phenomenal Cat"

I love this take on the Ray Davies song from "The Village Green Preservation Society" by The Kinks which you can read about here.

I also used the song as inspiration for this villanelle, which contains the original version of the song if you are interested.

Pink Floyd - "Lucifer Sam" from "The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn"

A favourite of mine from the first time I heard it, the absolute brilliance of Syd Barrett, a musical hero of mine, and for me, this never dates and reminds me so much of the antics of some of my friend's cats.

"That Cat's Something I Can't Explain"

Squeeze - "Cool For Cats" from the eponymous album

Again not about cats but a great song about members of certain in-crowds somewhere in England's capital city with a lot of innuendo.

David Bowie and Giorgio Moroder - "Cat People (Putting Out Fire With Gasoline)"

Recorded for the 1982 erotic horror film "Cat People", a take on the werewolf legend. Unhappy with the original recording, Bowie remade the track for his 15th studio album Let's Dance featuring production by Chic member Nile Rodgers and lead guitar by blues guitarist Stevie Ray Vaughan.

The Cure - "The Love Cats" - Single

An absolute favourite feline song. It's sort of an oddity in that this is a definitely upbeat fun song, from a band who are the epitome of Gothfrom which you expect much darker fare.

Still, this is just a great fun song and I could listen to it over and over.

"Thomas O'Malley" from "The Aristocats"

We started with The Aristocats and we will finish with them too. I hope you have enjoyed this short Feline playlist.

I love all these songs and videos and I hope that you enjoy them too.

pop cultureplaylistclassicalcelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Cool cats. Interesting piece. Well done.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Interesting article! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  • An absolute delight. Though the link for "Cat Black" did not work on my computer. (It brought up a screen that said "Video not available".)

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Cool collection of cat tunes 🐈‍⬛

  • Nice Article ❤️😉💬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.