Beat logo

F.U.V

My Anti-Valentines Playlist

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
F.U.V
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

Lately, I’ve been having a lot of fun making playlists. I find it relaxing and a good way to express yourself through the music. Of course, when Vocal announced it’s anti-valentines playlist, I gave it a go straight away. I reccomend anyone who‘s a writer on Vocal to give their challenges a try, because they do have some challenges that free members can write for as well. At the moment, they have a very generous three month trial. I’ve attached my playlist on Spotify below and I’m gonna go through with why I picked them.

My Anti-Valetine’s Playlist is a mixture of stuff including old pop, some rock and Disney songs. They’re the first lot of songs that came into my head for the Anti-Valentines theme. I don’t really hate Valentine’s Day, but I think you should show people that you love them every day and not just Valentines.

1. Pennyroyal Tea - Nirvana

“I’m a liar and a thief!”

This is one of my favourite Nirvana tracks, and it couldn’t be further away from the theme of Valentines.

2. Angels - Within Temptation

“You broke a promise and made me realise it was all just a lie.”

One of my first songs I ever heard from this group and I still love them today. They’ve got a big variety of songs in their catalogue in various forms. So they have something for everyone.

3. I Walk Alone - Tarja

“Keep all the roses, I’m not dead.”

I think this song is about her brutal firing from Nightwish and how the fan base responded. It also is a perfect anti Valentines song. The snubbing of the roses and embracing a winter storm.

4. Let It Go - Idina Mendel

“A kingdom of isolation, and it loks like I’m the Queen...”

The lockdowns around the world made this song hit a little bit harder. It’s still a great empowering ballad even if it has been overplayed to death.

5. Belle - Beauty & The Beast

“There must be more to this provincial life.”

The best way to celebrate Valentines is to binge watch Disney films in my opinion. Someone who I used to be friends with also had a birthday on Valentines Day. She loved Disney, I miss her. I hope we can be friends again some day.

6. Hong Kong Garden - Siouxsie & The Banshees

“An old custom to sell your daughter.”

Hong Kong Garden is an old track from the seventies that I think holds a lo of relevance today. Lyrics relating to regimes, sexist traditions, racist thoughts and also pollution and climate change. The beat is so infectious and sweet. This is one of my favourite songs from them.

7. Clint Eastwood - Gorillaz

“I’m useless, but not for long. The future is coming on.”

This song isn’t romantic, but it’s still awesome. It’s a great track to switch off from the world too.

8. I Think I’m Paranoid - Garbage

“I don’t think I like you much.”

This song gives me an anti-valentines vibe. It’s also a nice song with a slick rhythm.

9. Word Crimes - “Weird Al” Yankovic

“It was fantastic. That was sarcastic.”

Have you ever had a Valentine’s card littered with so many crimes against the human language, you wanted to call the police department? Weird Al has a song just for you.

10. When You’re Evil - Voltaire

“Your tears are all the pay I’ll ever need.”

If you’re bad at the whole Valentine’s thing, that’s okay. It’s not for everybody. If you’re a supervillain in training who just likes to sabotage everything to do with Valentine’s song here’s a song for you.

11. Me, Myself, & I - Beyoncé

“From now on, I’m gonna be my own best friend.”

Smooth R&B is one thing Beyoncé thrives at. Got a cheating partner, bye bye, it’s just me, myself, & I. Beyoncé sounds really nice because of how comfortable it is. I think it’s a perfect anti-valentines track for shamelessly single people.

12. Fighter - Christina Aguilera

“Your ride just came down in flames.”

This has alway been one of my favourite Xtina songs. I love how empowering it is and embraces self believe and dignity, whilst also being unfitted by thanking the abusive person for making them stronger. To this day, Fighter is still one of her best tracks .

13. Stronger - Britney Spears

“My lonelyness ain’t killing me no more.”

I thin this song really shows that Britney is a great singer. It’s a shame her record company damaged her vocals forcing her to do the baby voice. I love how empowering this song is. What’s also a great touch is how she made a reference to her debut single, Baby One More Time which smashed the world.

14. Hole In The Head - Sugababes

“I’ll kiss my ass before I think of you!

I listened to Sugababes a lot back in the day. Their album Three was one of my favourite albums to listen to at the time. To this day, it’s still one of my most played albums. Hole In The Head has awesome riffs and great empowering lyrics. Nice post-break-up song .

15. Eleanor Rigby- The Beatles

I look at all the lonely people...”

I love songs that tell a story. It’s a short song that packs a lot of emotion. It’s one of the last songs you’d play in a romantic dinner date. I really like the lines bout lonely people because I think it’s a song that resonates with anyon that’s dealt with loss. I think it’s a lot of people’s worst fears is ending p like Eleanor Rigby, dying alone with nobody to no mourners at your funeral.

16. Pepper Ann Theme Song

“Pepper Ann, she’s like one in a million!”

I couldn’t see the original version on Spotify, but IT HAD to be mentioned. Pepper Ann was a cartoon that was on the telly a lot when I was a kid. I really liked it, and one of my favourite episodes was a a parody was Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. The titular character is better over Valentines Day because of her parent’s divorce. Now whebever I see an anti-valentine’s thing, it always makes me think of Pepper Ann.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.