Beat logo

DeQuiviante—Who the HELL is DeQuiviante?

DeQuiviante

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

My real name is Amenofis Mitchell but I go by DeQuiviante. My upbringing started really in Missouri City, Texas, but I was born in Panorama City right outside of LA.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

The artist and the person are one in the same. I don’t know how to be something I am not, I was never taught that. I was only taught how to be real, and real worked for me. In basketball I was truly a pass first point guard. I perfected my scoring ability because if people started playing me for the pass I could score with ease. I was never given the opportunity to be myself with basketball which is why it never worked out for me. But through music and life in general I have perfected my ability to score so that I can set others up. I get a sweet satisfaction seeing other people happy. Give me till my birthday you will see what I am talking about. I’m selfish, which makes me selfless.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to show the world that you can be you and make a living from it. To impact the world, but it starts with the people I love first. From there it will be my home city. From there it will be the nation, and pretty soon, the world. I am a selfless person; I love helping people. In a sense it makes me selfish but I’d rather be this type of selfish than any other type of way. I love who I have become and it will rub off on others. I am going to change the narrative so that there is no more hate taught. Watch what I do.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself being 5 years better than I was today. I am not in competition with anyone, I want to see everyone win. If I win, and the people I love aren’t winning, then am I really winning? Hell the fuck no in my eyes. If I have the power to help, that is what I am going to do. I didn’t do it for the money, I did it to show people you can do the same thing I am doing. Literally. Everyone has their talents, but not everyone believes in them. I feel like my job as an artist is to show people that leading by example works if you stick to your plan.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring the ability to find talent, along with provide stories that everyone can relate to. You may not like one particular song, but I have something for everyone. There isn’t a limit to what I can do in my mind. I went to school studying sports management. I know talent when I see it, and I can bring more talent to the music industry because there is so much in my city! Not even just on the music side, Houston has everything! We have culinary artists, martial artists, singers, rappers, painters, athletes, you name it, Houston has it. There is too much talent in the city for Houston to be as low key as it is.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

I want to show people that being you works. Yes, you have to be selfish sometimes, fill your glass, and when your glass is overflowing, you are able to help those in need. That sleep for dinner I had to eat, painful days, and sleepless nights, is not going to kill you. There are people out there who’s skin is literally attached to their bones and they’re still going. You missing a meal one night is not going to starve you, rather it’ll make you stronger.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.