Beat logo

J Breezy—VERSATILE

J Breezy

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2

What’s your full name and where are you from?

Jason Jeremi Maduafokwa

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

What makes me different as a person is my understanding of other cultures since I been to and lived in several places in the world. Also, I feel like I come with a sense of unpredictability. Obviously, a upcoming artist that no one has ever heard of would be unpredictable but if you were to meet me, hear me talk, and get an idea of who I am. The thought of me switching from several genres or even being an artist in the first place would throw you off. What I bring different is my mix in genres of music. I was born and raised in Lagos, Nigeria so I fully familiar with afrobeats because I have been listening to it my whole life. I moved to America when I was 13 where I became fully familiar in Hip-Hop/Rap. Also in America is where I became familiar with dancehall to since it has some similarities to Afro beats. With UK drill, I have been listening to UK music since 2009. Tinie Tempah, Labrinth, Professor Green, Giggs, etc were some of the first UK artists I listened to and then as the years went by, I started becoming more familiar with Drill. I also have went to England several times in my life and am an avid Arsenal fan which helped pick up on the UK accent through the sport’s commentators and listening to fan cams of Arsenal to hear how the people sound.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

In life, I want to be able to fully support myself with a stable amount of income. I want to be able to give back to my family that has been providing so much throughout my life. I also want to be known for being good at something.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I don’t know. I don’t like to predict my future so I don’t sike myself out and what I wish doesn’t happen but I hope I’m in a great place by then. That’s why I got to work hard now so I am able to get an idea of where I will be in those years. Hopefully, I am in a penthouse apartment with 2 cars and running my own business of some kind around that time.

What do you bring to the music world?

Through life I learnt it’s better to show results rather than tell what you are going to do but I feel like I bring unpredictability in my tracks. One track could be just a regular rap song then the next song is an afrobeats song then the next song is a UK drill song. For me, I feel like I am really a student of different genres of music. Instead of just rocking by to songs, I’ll instead start studying how the artist made song a hit. How many words are repeated in the chorus of hit songs. Seeing if saying a lot of words with regular bars vs saying less words with substance is the way to go. The tempo of the beat and flow of the artist. Really just other things like that.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

Being the guy that least expected to go down the career path of music and make it. The older I get, the more I realize that it’s better to be the underdog so ppl don’t know what to expect from you.

interview
2

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.