Beat logo

Confessions of me

A soundtrack

By The Invisible WriterPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 7 min read
26
Confessions of me
Photo by Jack Hamilton on Unsplash

~

In quiet little moments, that grow smaller

I shrink like Alice, swallowing a pill, doubt my only friend

half the size I was, the confidence I felt, slowly vanishing

sliding into darkness, I disappear, below the surface

to drown alone, beneath the waves, chin on my knees

looking up, from the bottom, pretending not to hear

the voice I keep quiet, whispering

I told you, I always told you

they always laughed, when you fell

they never liked you, never at all

I should swim, I should say its not true

but I just sit below the water, and listen.

~

Gary Jules, Mad World

~

Sandy blonde hair, lifts from her shoulders, a breeze of sea water

sails in from a calm ocean, her eyes catch mine, blue windows revealing a

light from her soul, a tidal wave she always brings, rushes up in crests

and falls of everyday, we have ever spent together, my voice carries

a single confession, mixing with sounds of salt water, coming

and leaving, across grains of sand ... You are my harbor in the storm

her hand inside mine, we escape into a waterfall, washing over

our skin, our foreheads touching, her smile greeting mine

we move closer, desire taking over, our lips longing for the other

breaths falling short, heaven teasing us, in perfect moments

we step from the water's cascade, cool air rushing, against our frail bodies

she presses into me, music only we can hear, fills the air

an outside world keeps spinning, unnoticed, as we dance alone

fading from a busy, hustle all around us, our hearts beating

a single rhythm, a million hopes and dreams, passing silently

between our eyes.

~

Lights (feat Coeur de Pirate) , Peace Sign

~

In a world searching for freedom, I am lost, I am also saved

a hero sometimes, a villain others, I have failed, I have overcome

fought for others, fought only for me, I have looked for redemption

from the things, I have sung in this life, a Lion hunting, a Caribou fleeing

a witness to harm, a saint to many, a prisoner, a jailer, a pair of feet

standing on the trials of time, a speaker for forgiveness, from the troubles

I have seen, a voice asking the same for the people, I have met on this path

of journey, in the hours and days, I have traveled with an imperfect soul

searching to be better than who I was.

Bob Marley, Redemption song

~

I have felt drops of rain, cleansing my tired soul, felt rays of sunlight giving

rebirth, felt dew forming on my skin, my spirit has been freed in a dream

soaring past white clouds, floating in my mind, an eagle spreading it's

wings into a heaven, stretching out beyond a clear blue, my body has

flown over lakes and rivers, hills and fields, my essence has been a rainbow

shinning in the light, of storms that drifted away

I have seen clearly, from mountain tops

looking at valleys below, my arms moving from my sides

my feet lifting from the ground, all of my cares, fading in the distance

I have spun circles, with my eyes searching, the colors of a horizon

nothing but blessings, filling my heart, all of my bad feelings

disappearing, in the glow of a new dawn, stretching fingers across

an early morning sky.

~

Jimmy Cliff, I can see clearly now

~

In dreams, that kept leaving, like dust clouds blowing

in small tornadoes spinning, above forgotten dirt roads

I have performed, in front of imaginary, audiences

on stages, in futures, that never seemed to materialize

I have kept, reaching out my hands, to dreams that

always seemed to be, inches from where, I could grasp them

I thought if I kept trying, if I didn't give up, then maybe...

but even as I kept, growing older, and those dreams kept

not coming, I thought if I kept believing, that one day

I would touch the stars.

~

Kevin Johnson, Rock&Roll I gave you the best years of my life

~

I have felt the strength of a hand, angry across my face

been knocked down, by the fury of a strike

felt the kinetic energy, of an impact, sending me to the ground

I have looked, into the eye of the storm, decided not to surrender

pushed my way up, gotten back to my feet, proclaimed

I'm ready, refused to give in, to lay down, to walk away

wiped blood from my face, stayed strong, stood against the world

an underdog, making a fight, in the middle of a ring

unwilling to take another fall.

~

Survivor, Eye of the Tiger

~

In moments, that danced like rain, dropping on the ground

I have lost everything, heartaches have ripped

every piece of fabric, holding my fragile, spirit together

bottles of liquor, have given me comfort, against tears

falling into my soul, I have lived, while I died, while I couldn't

let go, while I buried my pain so deep inside, I refused to

move on, even though I knew the road, would always be going away

I have told lies, just to get me by, just to give an empty hope

to a dying dream, because I wouldn’t believe, that all I wanted was gone

I have gotten down, on my knees, when all I had was a prayer

to make it through, another night, without the one

I needed most.

~

Morgan Wade, Stay

~

I've had good memories, made bad ones too, had friends I've lost

friends I've gained, places I’ve wanted to go, places I've already been

a child raised by a mother, a father raising daughters, a father raising

a son, I've watched my children grow, comforted when they scraped knees

celebrated when they rode bikes the first time, always giving each my best

I've tried to teach them, to show a better way, from my mistakes

felt joy when they smiled, heartache when tears ran down their cheeks

sometimes I was tired, sometimes I needed a break, but I always stayed

time has gone by, in the blink of an eye, three have gotten older

one is still young, the children, the babies I had, the drops of water

who started in streams, who went along currents, to rivers flowing into

oceans, who became sails, filled with wind, are parting into open waters

I miss everyday they held my hand, everyday I was their world

the hardest part of letting my older ones go, has been watching them begin

to live their own lives, I know they have to go, I know I have to let them

leave, but wherever they go, I will be there, no matter where their paths

lead, I will love them with every breath I take, with every beat of my heart

I see my youngest as she grows, and I know, she is the last moments

like this I will have.

~

Yusuf/Cat Stevens, Father and Son

~

I've had nights, when I couldn't sleep, days when I couldn't wake

times when all I could see was pain, when all I could do was think about

the other side, times when I got so lost inside my skin, I couldn't

recognize my face, times when all I needed was faith, from a church

standing in my heart, only I didn't know, if the doors would still open

times when the weight was too heavy, when I didn't know, if there would

still be a preacher inside, behind a pulpit with a sermon, for a lost sheep

trying to find, their way back home, through the darkness.

~

Aloe Blacc, Wake Me Up

~

I've had mornings, when I opened my eyes, wide awake

mornings, when I couldn't wait to get outside, days on the basketball court

when I was young, nights drinking under the stars, days when the sun

seemed like it would shine, all summer long, nights when I was thankful

to be alive, when nothing seemed like, it could go wrong, when my friends

surrounded me, when the good times seemed like they would

go on forever, when the world seemed like, it was finally turning

my way, when the only thought, inside my head was

I hope it always stays this way.

~

Ice Cube, It was Good Day

~

Thank you for reading

playlistart
26

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.11 months ago

    WOW, omg, such a truly beautiful and unique collection of songs and incredibly thoughtful and emotional poetry, Will 🥹❤️ I can't believe I missed this, but I'm so glad I found it! I love "Mad World" so much and omg, the French in "Lights" had me like 😍 And, as always, your words are stunning. 🥹

  • Good one Will. I love several including Cat Stevens and the cover of Mad World.

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    So beautifully written of your story with poetry and music intertwined. You blended pain and joy in words that express the human experience. Thank you so much for sharing. Two of my favorite songs I really enjoyed listening to, " I Can See Clearly Now" and "Wake Me Up". ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Take guts to put something out there so personal. I feel like I know you better. i like your reflections on parenting, I found them especially relatable.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Spectacularly written!! So creative and original!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Will, this was such a beautiful poem/ story about what it is to be human and what that experience was like for you! I also loved the music additions that created a change in tempo/ really set the mood for each section! So smart!

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    I really enjoyed this, a very unique take on the challenge. Well done, indeed.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Love the idea and the execution. Well done!

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    Unique and fascinating approach to the challenge. Kind of next level thoughtfulness going on here. Impressive. ❤

  • A great original take on the challenge, most of these are in my collection. A Top Story contender definitely.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oh how unique!! I love the way you did this! At first I thought it was the lyrics to the songs but I caught on haha. The section about the kids growing up really spoke to me ❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Haunting, poetic, melodious, I loved the first one, I love it by Susan Boyle though. Kevin Johnson was haunting. Aloe Blacc is groovy-hippie days. I think first time listening to Ice Cube. Poetry is poetic. I really enjoyed this. Bravo.

  • Iris Harris11 months ago

    Admittedly, you have inspired me! I love the song selections you have for this piece, and the confession behind each one. Well done. Thanks for sharing your love for music.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wow. This is beautiful. Well done.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    This is beyond brilliant– a life story through poetry. Very moving and emotional, along with some fantastic musical choices. A strong and very unique piece for the challenge- incredible job!

  • Wow I really like what you did with this. The story that progressed through with all the songs peppered in, and you chose some great songs that really complement the piece! Loved the flow of this, excellent!

  • There were nights I couldn't sleep and days I couldn't wake...so well done

  • Julia Alfred11 months ago

    I couldn’t figure out a way to draft something for this challenge but this was different and quite engaging. The words were rolling off my tongue as if they were mine. Outstanding!

  • Oh wow! I really loved your poetic style for this challenge! It was so beautiful and I enjoyed all the songs! You did a fantastic job on this!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    'Sup 'Invisible' Chum ~ Eye C/U ~ You "Spin-Circle" with your always jump-around Topics! You always seem to have the ability to "Cross out the Wrong Words" *Please see 'VM Creators' Shout-Out ~ Your versatile talent is overwhelming ~ - More Please - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    This is such a beautiful rendition of the melodic milestones challenge. I really enjoyed the imagery you employed when creating poems representative of each song. Really, really well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.