Beat logo

Butterflies & Hurricanes by Muse

A simple song that had affected me during a troubling time in my life.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

It was probably one of the worst times in my life. I had a lot of crazy things that happened up until 2012. My grandfather had just passed away from cancer. My mother had given up on fighting cancer herself and decided to go through palliative care to end her life. Obviously, I was distraught about the whole thing.

To add to the stress, I had just purchased a brand new home and bills were starting to pile up. I thought my mom would have had the chance to come and check out my house before she was too bedridden. Unfortunately, her illness was taking a toll for the worse. I was able to show her pictures but I was never able to show her the house in person.

When she had to go to the palliative care hospice I knew it was all over. She wasn't even responding anymore. She was in a deep coma only able to wake up once in a while not realizing who we were or what was going on. It was a devastating thing to go through.

I needed something to pick me up but I didn't know what would help me out. I would go to various social gatherings and tried exercising but I was going through a deep depression at the time. Usually what I did when I wanted to get out of the monotony of life was to get new music.

All of the music I had was pretty played out for me. I needed something new that could possibly bring me out of my funk. I needed to check out different genres.

Where I live there's a buying and selling website similar to Craigslist called Kijiji. There I perused through all of the CD's that were on sale. Since I wanted to check out something new I decided to see if anyone was selling groups of CD's for one lump sum price. Fortunately for me, CD's were just going out of style at that time and everyone was unloading their collections.

One of the collections seemed pretty interesting to me. It was a collection of CD's that included The Strokes, Yeah Yeah Yeah's and Muse. I had remembered a friend back in the day that loved the Yeah Yeah Yeah's so I thought it would be an interesting collection to purchase so I pulled the trigger.

I met up with the seller close to the hospice that my mother was staying in. When I got home I thought I'd transfer the CD's to my MP3 player. Yes, I still had an MP3 player at the time. I didn't get with the times until much later on.

When I played the music on random the first song I heard was Butterflies and Hurricanes by Muse. I had listened to alternative rock in the past but this was something totally different. It was more with synthesized sounds so it was electronic and acoustic instruments. The song almost sounded operatic.

Needless to say I was hooked from the very beginning. It was an epic sound for an epic moment in my life. It was haunting and encouraging at the same time. The lyrics of the song just fit my mood perfectly because I was angry and scared at the same time. It felt like I was on an epic journey to greatness but I knew that the worse was yet to come.

The song hit every chord of my body at the moment when I was listening to the song. I stopped on the spot and just listened to the song. I couldn't believe how well this song resonated with me at the time. It made me a fan of Muse.

I listened to the rest of that CD and I was hooked to the rest of the album. I played the other CD's and I was amazed with my purchase. Not only was Muse the right artist for me to listen at the time. In a way the Yeah Yeah Yeah's and The Strokes helped me out too.

I just can't get over that first time I heard Butterflies & Hurricanes. It was possibly one of the most drop what you got moments that I've had in my life with music. It was one of the few times that I heard a song and I felt like it knew exactly what I was going through at the time. For the next few weeks that was my anthem on my MP3 player. It was like a theme song going everywhere.

If anyone in Muse reads this, I would like you to know that your music had really helped me go through a really difficult time in my life. Thank you for helping me feel like I wasn't alone and giving me the courage to go through with the all the obstacles that came along in those tough moments. You inspired me to push through and make the best of what I had.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.