Beat logo

Breaking Benjamin: A Band With A Story to Tell

And Why Their Music is The Perfect Escape From Reality

By Anna KerrPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

I won't lie, my taste of music is all over the map. From heavy metal and hard rock, to fiddle music and jazz, there's not much I won't listen to. I typically take an interest in the lyrics, and the stories being told in the songs I listen to (for example, I recently expanded my horizons into rap when my boyfriend introduced me to Machine Gun Kelly). But, that's not what my purpose is today. Today, I want to showcase songs from one of my all time favorite bands, Breaking Benjamin.

Their songs all tell a story; ones that are told so well told. There are not many songs by them that I do not like, and there are many I can relate to. If you haven't listened to any of their songs, I can safely tell you, you're definitely missing out.

Without further ado, I've managed to narrow the list down to their best ten songs for those days where you just need to escape reality.

10. Dear Agony [Dear Agony, 2009]

This was one of the first songs I had heard from the band, and I think from the beginning it was instantly one of my favorites. It's hard not to get lost in the story of this song. Though I'm sure the artist has their vision and symbolism for the song, it's hard not to create your own.

In this song, the vocalist talks about the pain and suffering he has been through, and wishes for nothing more than the pain to end. Lyrics like "I will fight for one last breath \\ I will fight until the end" suggests an apparent suicide. He has fought a long battle, but is ready for forever to drag him down.

Maybe to most people this wouldn't be their 'go to' song to escape reality; but for me, and many others, this song has helped them through tough times of their own.

Check out a preview of Dear Agony here, on Apple Music, and here for Spotify.

9. Close to Heaven [Dark Before Dawn, 2015]

This one reminds me of forgiveness. It’s another favourite of mine from them, one that I always find myself listening to when I just want the world to go away. Like a lot of the songs on this album, I believe he is speaking directly to God in some instances.

Check out a preview of Close to Heaven on Apple Music, or Spotify!

8. Red Cold River [Ember, 2018]

Once you see the video for this song, it’ll really get you thinking. It has a dark message, and a deep meaning. Hate can be consuming; and so can grief. Without giving away too much of the video, it really shows us the power grief and hate have over a person; it tells a chilling tale.

Check out a preview of Red Cold River on Apple Music, or Spotify! If you really want chills, see the YouTube Video below!

7. Dance with the Devil [Phobia, 2006]

This song reminds me of the ‘dance’ we can sometimes have between good and evil. This song is from the album, Phobia, so it likely is in reference to his struggle with alcoholism. On their latest album, Auroa, they invite Adam Gontier to sing along since Ben, and this version is also a good listen. Regardless of which one you listen to, it has the ability to sweep you away.

Check out a preview of Dance with the Devil on Apple Music, or Spotify! They also did a version featuring Adam Gontier from Three Days Grace, check that out here too!

6. Without You [Dear Agony, 2009]

This song at first always reminded me of a person, but the more I listened to it, the more I realized it was not about a someone, rather a something. While a lot of people can interpret this song as being about a woman or man who left, I take it as the singer speaking to his self. Since his struggle with alcohol is well known, I believe this song is him talking to his other self. Regardless of whichever way you look at it, the song is filled with such emotion, it’s hard not to love. Give it a listen, maybe you’ll have your own interpretations!

Check out a preview of Without You on Apple Music, or Spotify!

5. Angels Fall [Dark Before Dawn, 2015]

This is another song with a great music video, that I definitely encourage you to watch. The song itself serves as a reminder that regardless of everything that we go through, and regardless of the circumstances we’re in, there always is hope.

Check out a preview of Angels Fall on Apple Music or Spotify! Also, be sure to check out the music video for this one too- find that here!

4. Anthem of the Angels [Dear Agony, 2009]

Anthem of the Angels was an instant favorite of mine when I first listened to it. The song is sad in nature, but it takes me into the mind of the singer. It's a song about watching a loved one die from dementia. They are forced to watch as their loved one slowly fades away, and eventually forgets the singer altogether. But, despite everything, the singer never leaves their side; they never will; they'll go through it together.

Listen to a preview of Anthem of the Angels here for Apple Music, and here for Spotify

3. Breath [Phobia, 2006]

This was I think the first ever song I heard from them. This is what immediately had me hooked on them as a band, and had me listen to all their other songs. The song reminds me of an absuive relationship, whether it be with a person or substance.

Check out a preview of Breath on Apple Music, and on Spotify!

2. Ashes of Eden [Dark Before Dawn, 2015]

I always considered this song my 'soul jam'. Of all the songs of this album, this is definitely one of my top choices, though it's very hard to choose. This song reminds me of someone who is singing to someone who is gone. They sing to the sky, wondering if the person is still with them, and if they are, why can't they feel their presence? It seems as if this song is being sung perhaps to God, and he is seeking forgiveness; he doesn't want to be left alone. This song gives me chills every time I listen to it, and it'll always find its way onto my playlist when I'm having one of those days.

Check out a preview of Ashes of Eden on Apple Music, and Spotify.

1. The Dark of You [Ember, 2018]

And my first choice song, and in my opinion on of their best songs, is The Dark of You, from their album "Ember". The song seems to be about losing faith in humanity. It’s just one of those songs that I listen to, close my eyes, and let the lyrics take me away. It has deep meaning, and was easily one of the best songs in my opinion on the album.

Check out a preview of The Dark of You on Apple Music, and Spotify!

Be sure to of course, give all of their music a listen; trust me when I say you won't regret it! It was hard enough to narrow this list down to just ten- just listen to them all!

bands

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna KerrWritten by Anna Kerr

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.