Beat logo

Best Cover Songs

featuring All Time Low, Against the Current and more

By Anna KerrPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Best Cover Songs
Photo by Austin Neill on Unsplash

I have a very interesting taste in music. There's really not much I wouldn't listen to, at least once. From heavy metal, to jazz, to fiddle music, to alternative, I've listened to it all.

But through everything, I've grown to have a great appreciation for cover songs. In fact, sometimes I do prefer the cover version. That's what inspired me to write this. This is an appreciation post to those bands who absolutely kill the song, sometimes, better than the original artist. They're truly in no particular order, they're just ten of my absolute favorites.

10. Blank Space - I Prevail (Taylor Swift)

There's a reason this video has 73 million views; it absolutely rocks. In fact, it's what led me to their music and now, I can't get enough. They have so many good songs, especially from their latest album, True Power. I can't say I'm a huge fan of most of Taylor Swift's songs (don't hate me!), but this version is one of my favorite songs.

9. Hello - The Animal in Me (Adele)

The Animal in Me is probably my favourite band that does covers, and it's not even close. In fact, there will be more of their covers found later in this list. They have a way of bringing pop songs to life. I prefer pop punk over regular pop, so when this song came out it was at the top of my playlist. They also do have original songs, which I definitely recommend as well.

8. Animals - Ice Nine Kills (Maroon 5)

Besides the music video taking an interesting spin, Ice Nine Kills does a fantastic job of bringing this song to life and giving this song the "creep" factor, it truly deserves.

7. Ain't it Fun - Against the Current (Paramore)

I'll preface this by saying I love Paramore; they're a fantastic band. But I do believe Against the Current does a better job of executing this song. They're also another one of my favorite cover bands and have quite a few original songs as well.

6. Say Something - Anthem Lights (A Great Big World, Christina Aguilera)

I still remember the first time I heard this song; there were chills down my spine. Granted, I didn't give the original version much of a chance, I was hooked on this song, and this band as soon as I heard it. In addition to covers, they do "mash ups" of an artist's songs mixed into one song that are absolutely fantastic.

5. See You Again - The Animal in Me ft. Richard Rogers (Wiz Khalifa)

Here they are popping up again. This is another absolute amazing job done on the song, and it sends chills down my spine every time I listen to it. There's a reason they are my top choice in any covers they do.

4. Heavy - Fame on Fire ft Rain Paris (Linkin Park)

Again, Linkin Park is a great band, but there really is just something about this song that just is truly amazing on all levels. Fame on Fire is another band I would check out more of their covers; they truly are fantastic.

3. Rolling in the Deep - Go Radio (Adele)

I'm not an Adele fan by any means, but she does have some good lyrics, and Go Radio does a fantastic job of covering her song. They're featured on Pop Goes Punk, Volume 4.

2. Bad Romance Artist vs Poet (Lady Gaga)

Featured on the album Pop goes Punk Volume 3, Artist vs Poet does a really good job with this song, originally by Lady Gaga. Honestly, there are so many bands and artists I would never get to enjoy if it weren't for the cover songs introducing me to their work.

1. Blinding Lights - All Time Low (The Weeknd)

This is truly the cover song I never knew I needed until it came out. I think I have easily listened to this song at least one hundred (if not more) times. All Time Low also happens to be one of my favorite bands of all time. Their most recent single, Sleepwalking, has become an instant favorite. If you haven't checked it out yet, I highly recommend you do so!

list
Like

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.