Beat logo

Baker's Dozen Beats: A Fully Baked 4/20 Playlist

A List of 14 Songs for a Deep Breath on 4/20 (2022)

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published 2 years ago 8 min read
2
Baker's Dozen Beats: A Fully Baked 4/20 Playlist
Photo by Joshua Freake on Unsplash

April 20th is a mixed bag here. The day celebrating Cannabis is also marked by past tragedy in Colorado; it is the anniversary of the Columbine massacre.

Growing up in the Morrison/Lakewood area - not too far from Columbine High School - I recall the weeks after the tragedy as a young elementary school student being taught school shooter drills and being instructed to hide under my desk. I've been to the Columbine library - and memorial - many times in my life. So the day of April 20th is already heavy from the early morning hours. I hold a lot of pride for my home state, but this incident has left a lingering stain on the day that I still revisit each year.

By LoboStudio Hamburg on Unsplash

When I'm not pondering that dark part of state history or enjoying the plant the day celebrates, for the last few years, I've also had another cause to celebrate the day, though it too is stained with remorse. 4/20/2019, I was able to purchase my Mighty Caravan Brutosaur mount - costing me 5 million gold - in World of Warcraft. I had saved and worked hard to sell materials I'd farmed for months and was so ready to buy that mount.

My Bloodfang Widow, Fang (Left) and Mighty Caravan Brutosaur, Atlas (Right) in my Frostwall stables. Their combined cost was 7 million gold!

I technically could have bought it the day before - April 19th. I had the gold. But I didn't have the heart; my boyfriend's grandpa - a truly lovely man - had passed away that day. Out of respect, I postponed the purchase of my prize. Noticing the date I bought the mount - who I named Atlas - was 4/20, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to joke that this mount was the reason I never had much of a rare herb in game called Anchor Weed. Given the Brutosaur's red eyes, I was quick to make the connection that my mount must be eating the Anchor Weed to get high. The things we tell ourselves to make our in-game experiences that much more tangible, yeah?

By Levi Meir Clancy on Unsplash

But I know that's not why folks are reading! Who cares about that decades-old shooting and some expensive pixels that isn't directly involved? Folks came here for tunes and weed, damn it!

However, that heaviness each year at the memory of Columbine has me thinking...

...Why not take a deep breath this 4/20?

Why not make a short playlist that walks listeners through the day on April 20th? Well, that's just what I did folks! So get comfy - if I did this right, the Cannabis won't be the only high to enjoy!

Here is the full playlist I created, in the order it appears below. I suggest listening when and where listeners can relax, as some of the tracks can cause drowsiness. So take a deep breath, and let's go on a proper 4/20 journey!

By C D-X on Unsplash

1) "Ride" - Twenty One Pilots

Starting off with a track that's a mix of "things are falling apart" and "I'm just going with the flow", "Ride" captures the general feel in the world these days. I wanted to start off with a few songs that held those themes to get listeners thinking about things they'd like to see change.

It's a 4/20 playlist - you think I'm not gonna offer some "hippie" advice like, "chill"? Buckle up - I'm a pessimist playing tour guide in place of the optimist who called in sick.

By Tran Mau Tri Tam on Unsplash

2) "Colorado" - Florida Georgia Line

Yeah, it's country. I know folks that can't stand the genre, but this song was a little more personal and defined than the previous; I wanted folks to think about more definite things they want to see change. Narrow it down from the wide abstract to something more intimately known.

This song sees us our pain and raises us a silver lining; what else can we do sometimes but count our losses and "blessings". If you're into that sorta thing.

Throw in my pride for my home state, and how could I possibly not add this track?

By Fr. Daniel Ciucci on Unsplash

3) "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" - David Lee Murphy, Kenny Chesney

4/20 - in the sense of Cannabis use - is all about those good vibes; it's called a high for a reason, you know? And this track does an excellent job at bringing those good vibes.

Here, I wanted listeners to start thinking about making taking the time - any length of it - to take a breath and enjoy themselves today. Maybe it's the song that gets someone through the roughest work day until they can get home and gratefully partake with the rest of us.

By Maria Cortes on Unsplash

4) "This Afternoon" - Nickelback

Love them or hate them, this song by Nickelback is here, folks! The song sets up the feeling for the rest of the day, and even walks through the plan! I wanted listeners to start thinking about their game-plan: how they want to celebrate, what needs to be done for that good time to happen...etc.

Got the weed? Got the snacks?

By Chang Duong on Unsplash

5) "My House" - Flo Rida

If the former song was meant to make folks start thinking about how to make their moment really theirs, this one is the call to action - it's time to get comfortable before the main event! Get the tunes right, the lighting, the snacks for the munchies! Your place, your time - make it yours!

It's finally time to...

By Drew Coffman on Unsplash

6) "Fire it Up" - Disturbed

Starting out with a telltale inhale and the gurgle of a bong, "Fire it Up" is the perfect song to start the actual high! Highlighting everything stoners love about the high, this song is a strong starter; just like those first few hits!

I don't know who needs to hear this, but I know someone does - Psst... Pass the smoke.

By Grav on Unsplash

7) "Follow Me Down" - 3OH!3, Neon Hitch

"Follow Me Down" takes us through the next stage of the high; that wonky, heavy, feel-good! Time is slow - or fast. Bodies are riddled with different sensations: head full of pleasant, swirling smoke, limbs comfortably heavy and relaxed, and maybe the faintest longing for some calorie-dense creation only a mind under the influence of a true high could even think to come up with!

By Michael on Unsplash

8) "New Americana" - Halsey

Here, I'd like listeners to consider the struggles - and progress - the simple act we've all participated in by this point has endured. In many places, it is still illegal; those who smoke it legally, don't forget our brethren are still waiting for their turn with the pipe! Recognize and celebrate our small victories for those who can't!

By Franck on Unsplash

9) "The Lazy Song" - Bruno Mars

By now, that feel good feeling should be all over, and this will be just the jam folks were waiting for! Enjoy that disconnect from the rest of the world just a little longer...

By Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

10) "The Ramblin' Rover" - Silly Wizard

Yep, it's time to start heading back into reality. Slowly.

We'll start with this light-hearted tune about the wide variety of people we're bound to encounter. Start thinking about people as a whole. All of humanity. The struggles we all share in, and the planet we all call home.

It's bittersweet.

By Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

11) "Go to Sleep (SYRE Remix)" - Bearson, Kailee Morgue, SYRE

Here, we start to zone in on individuals again. Start thinking about the people you see everyday, but never really interact with. The daily routines. The little things we want to change in our lives. Others' lives.

By Jimmy Conover on Unsplash

12) "Three Little Birds" - Bob Marley and The Wailers

Here, I really wanted folks to focus on all the things they've thought about throughout the playlist. Things they'd like to see change - and how. Thinking about things going right. A nice future.

I know, I know - I'm not used to this much positivity in my posts either. Bear with me!

By Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

13) "Daylight Outro (Remix)" - Matt and Kim

We get ready to exit the playlist with an easy-going beat and relaxed stance towards the future. Maybe we will all one day, "see without these frames". It's certainly a nice thought, at least.

By Kent Pilcher on Unsplash

14) "Weightless" - Marconi Union

That's right - this Baker's Dozen has 14 tracks! As I discussed in my Baker's Dozen for February Vocal Feed Reads, some bakers opted to give out 14 items instead of 13 due to superstitions about the number 13. Being made for 4/20, I decided I wanted to be generous with this playlist.

This last track is instrumental only, and is supposed to be relaxing to the point of sending listeners off to dreamland, so I do suggest folks use caution if they are already drowsy. Make sure all heated items are turned off and stable, don't operate machinery - including vehicles, and take that deep, deep breath!

If they don't fall asleep, listeners should find the track to be relaxing, and I encourage folks to keep thinking better thoughts.

By Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

Closing out, I would like to remind everyone partaking in celebrating 4/20 of a few important things:

1) Do not drink and drive or smoke and drive! It's a day to celebrate; let's keep it a day of enjoyment, not tragedy!

2) Do not pressure others to partake! Moreover, keep an eye on your drinks, surroundings, and friends! Creepers take advantage of those that aren't fully sober. Make sure friends get home safely!

3) Go slow! When trying a new product, it is best not to underestimate it - you never know how - or when - it might affect you! Newcomers especially, start small!

4) Make sure all heating elements are fully off before leaving them unattended! And that children and pets cannot access your Cannabis products!

5) Take a deep breath! Seriously, take a moment to "tune in"! Even if you don't partake on 4/20!

Thank you for reading! This concludes my Baker's Dozen Beats for 4/20/2022! For more cannabis and feel-good content, consider checking out a few more of my pieces on Vocal.media, listed below!

Baker's Dozen: Cannabis Strains I Loved in 2021 - A Past Top Story here on Vocal.media!

Life in Azeroth: Letters to Shadowsithe Ghoststrike - Letters sent to my main in World of Warcraft!

The Cuddly Power of Stuffed Animals - and Crochet Butterflies

House of Fur - A look at our critter crew!

playlist
2

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.