Beat logo

AFRICAN MUSIC

Zilizopendwa🎵🎵

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 9 months ago 3 min read

One of the remarkable aspects of Zilizopendwa is its ability to transcend time. Decades later, the music still resonates with listeners of all generations. It evokes nostalgia for a bygone era while remaining relevant and captivating to contemporary audiences.

In Kenya, Zilizopendwa produced a plethora of influential artists who contributed to the genre's popularity and legacy. These artists crafted melodies that became ingrained in the cultural fabric of the nation. Their music served as a soundtrack for both joyous celebrations and reflective moments.

One such iconic figure in the Zilizopendwa scene is Fundi Konde, a prolific musician who composed songs, such as Nyumba ya Mkubwa' and 'Zilipendwa'.

Another notable artist is Fadhili William, whose composition 'Malaika' achieved global recognition. This timeless love ballad has been covered by countless musicians worldwide, solidifying its place as a Zilizopendwa classic.

WAZEE WAKATIKE ( OLD MEN DANCE)

Usiibe, ukiiba (don't steal, if you steal)

We utafungwa buure (you′ll be jailed for no good reason)

Usiuwee, ukiua (don't kill, if you kill)

We utapata dhambi (you′ll be sinful)

Ee

Furahia miziki ya wazee (enjoy the old man's song)

Tukatike, wazee tukatike (lets dance, old men lets dance)

Tukatike, wazee tukatike (lets dance, old men lets dance)

Eh, eh

Kweli ndugu sikilizeni niwaambie (siblings listen I tell you)

Kweli ndugu sikilizeni niwaambie (siblings listen I tell you)

Wakati nilipooa bibi moja mrembo (the time I married a beautiful wife)

Na akaleta hasara (and she brought some loss)

Kuvunja vunja vikombe (breaking cups)

Kuvunja vunja visahanii (breaking plates)

Afunge aende kwao (she should leave for her home)

Afunge aende kwaao (she should leave for her home)

Kweli ndugu sikilizeni niwaambie (siblings listen I tell you)

Kweli ndugu sikilizeni niwaambie (siblings listen I tell vou)

Wakati nilipooa bibi moja mrembo (the time I married a beautiful wife)

Na akaleta hasara (and she brought loses)

Kuvunja vunja vikombe (breaking cups)

Kuvunja vunja visahanii (breaking plates)

Kuvunja vunja vikombe (breaking cups)

Kuvunja vunja visahani (breaking plates)

Usiibe, ukiiba (don't steal, if you steal)

We utafungwa buure (you'll be jailed for no good reason)

Usiuwee, ukiua (don't kill, if you kill)

We utapata dhambi (you'll be sinful)

And this one is for serenading your better half, your lover, your friend.

MALAIKA (ANGEL)

An angel

(Malaika)

I love you Angel

(Nakupenda malaika)

An angel

(Malaika)

I love you, Angel

(Nakupenda malaika)

I would marry you

(Ningekuoa mali we)

I would marry your sister

(Ningekuoa dada)

I fail and I have no wealth

(Nashindwa na mali sina we)

I would marry you angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

I fail and I have no wealth

(Nashindwa na mali sina we)

I would marry you angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

Money

(Pesa)

They disturb my soul

(Zasumbua roho yangu)

Money

(Pesa)

They disturb my soul

(Zasumbua roho yangu)

And what should I do, young fellow?

(Nami nifanyeje, kijana mwenzio)

I fail and I have no wealth

(Nashindwa na mali sina we)

I would marry you, angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

I fail and I have no wealth

(Nashindwa na mali sina we)

I would marry you, angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

A bird

(Kidege)

You didn't think about it

(Hukuwaza kidege)

A bird

(Kidege)

You didn't think about it

(Hukuwaza kidege)

And what should I do, young fellow?

(Nami nifanyeje, kijana mwenzio)

I fail and I have no wealth, you

(Nashindwa na mali sina, we)

I would marry you angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

Yes, I love you my angel

Yes, I love you my angel

I said, I love you my angel

I said, I love you my angel

I would marry you angel

Ningekuoa malaika

I would marry you angel

(Ningekuoa malaika)

Did you enjoy it? Let me know your thoughts.

classical

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Thanks for the lesson, I have to study some of these words. Malaika, angel. You are one of us sister/daughter, tortured soul seeking a home. Many of us here.

  • I'm so happy that you provided the translations so I knew the meaning of the lines that I was singing along to!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I love African music! Great work!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.