Beat logo

A White Sport Coat

Looking for teenage love

By Michael FriganiotisPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

A White Sport Coat…..

The year was 1957. I was all of 14, just starting to discover girls, and wondering how to actually get a girlfriend. I knew it was going to be hard! Too young to own and drive a car, too young to go to the pub, or a club, too far to the beach, too hard to earn much money…the odds were against me.

I had acquired a portable battery radio from a friend. Yes, it was big and clunky by today’s standards – transistors were not invented yet. And I had no clue where the stations were, or what type of music they played.

I turned it on, and my first song that I heard was Marty Robbins singing ‘A White Sport Coat’ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zD8MnvyAi6I Was it a pop song? If so, where was it on the charts? It didn’t matter. I was hypnotized by the lyrics.

Never mind that it was a sad, depressing song. After all, here was this dude, wearing a white sport coat and a pink carnation, ready for the dance, but rejected for another. How could she?

I didn’t share his depression. I went on the hunt in every men’s wear store in the city to find that white sport coat. The red carnation could come later. Store after store, I received a blank look from the sales staff. Didn’t they listen to the radio? Weren’t they aware of trends? Obviously not!

Admitting failure, I finally settled for a light fawn sports coat. I needed something in which to look smart and alluring. I gave up on the carnation. Dark brown trousers and a pale yellow tie made up the outfit. I couldn’t wear it to school, as a uniform was compulsory. So I dressed up on the weekend, and went to the local dance hall, alone.

Once inside, I realized I was anything but ‘cool’. No-one wore an outfit like mine. They were probably much more fashion conscious than I was. A small consolation – there were no white sports coats either, so at least I had been thorough in my search.

I stood on the side of the dance floor. Not one girl came up and asked me if I wanted to dance. I’m not sure that they were ‘allowed’ to anyway. Weren’t they supposed to just stand, or sit there, and wait to be approached? And I wasn’t going to do that anyway. Rock ‘n roll? Jive? The sounds of Elvis, Little Richard and Fats Domino wafted through the air. I wasn’t going to make a fool of myself and probably end up flat on my back while attempting the best dance move ever.

After a while, I left, never to return. No coat, no girl, no deep and enduring love…….

The pretend sports coat languished in the wardrobe. The carnation never happened.

I had to find love in other ways, and I eventually did.

Many years on, I still stop and look twice when I see a guy in a white sport coat – yes, they do exist, but few and far between. I feel like going up to the guy wearing it and asking – ‘did you get lucky while wearing that coat?’

And Marty Robbins? I discovered he sang country music. And when I became a country music DJ on radio, I would play that song now and again. Memories would flood back to me. But I never told my listeners the back story. Would you? I’m in a blue, blue mood……….

Mike Friganiotis

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.