Beat logo

A Short Stop At The Skipton Sound Bar

A Place I Love To Visit When In Skipton

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
10
Skipton Sound Bar

Introduction

A few years back ( probably more than a few) we discovered the Skipton Sound Bar. Back then it was essentially a second-hand music shop with a small bar and they were always playing Jeff Wayne's "War Of The Worlds", not a favourite of mine. At the time my vinyl collection was smaller than it is now and I managed to lay my hands on an original of Jethro Tull's "Thick As A Brick" complete with the full broadsheet newspaper cover. According to the band, putting together the newspaper took more time and effort than the actual album, which is still very good.

I also have a DVD copy that takes you through the newspaper on your TV screen as you listen to the album.

So each time I come to Skipton I always visit, at least for a drink.

Incidentally, this is my 1800th Vocal Story

Today In The Sound Bar

Today's Purchases

I dropped in and got a coffee intending to meet Fiona before lunch but decided to mooch around and see if there was anything worth buying. I had a look and there was a copy of Little Steven's "Bitter Fruit" on 12" vinyl, which was there last time I was here so that I would take it this time, then I noticed a 12" copy of "Dancing With Myself" by Fingerprintz so was happy with two pieces of vinyl that I did not need but am glad I now have.

When I bought the records I had a long chat with the Sound Bar guy on the horror of Spotify and how some people are so paranoid at being tracked by digital payments and vaccines, but still seem oblivious to the fact that their digital devices allow them to be tracked every minute of the day.

Despite the picture this is "Dancing With Myself" by Fingerprintz, check it out, it is a great record.

Christmas at the Sound Bar

I continued drinking my coffee, and then thought I would check out the seven-inch singles and found a lovely copy of the Jethro Tull "Ring Out, Solstice Bells" EP.

This wall of vinyl contained the inspiration for my last Vocal story and has a few of my favourites that I have on CD one of which is "Godbluff" by Van Der Graaf Generator which I reviewed here.

Above you can see the vinyl racks that I scoured to get my four pieces of, in my opinion, vital vinyl.

The final one was a copy of "Trespass" by Genesis, a mostly pastoral album apart from the vicious finale of "The Knife". I love all the songs on this album and the cover is beautifully designed with a long cut from a knife.

So that is the four pieces of vinyl that I bought today, shared with you digitally.

Why You Should Go To The Skipton Sound Bar

The staff are friendly and helpful, and there is always good music playing. As well as coffee there is a huge selection of wine and beer should you be so inclined. Check out the link to their website in the introduction to this piece.

They also put on a lot of live music, as you can see from the stage, in my Christmas picture.

There is a focus on classic rock but they put on new bands to give them exposure, and you can check them out on the website. Some do covers and some do original material.

When we talked about Spotify I said if no new music was ever produced, Spotify would be fine because it is about the money, not the music.

Thank you for reading,but listen to the music that I shared, you might enjoy it.

pop culturesong reviewsplaylistlistindustryconcertbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Am I correct in thinking you're in England? In your piece, Rebound, in a reply to my comment, you mentioned Newcastle. I've been to Newcastle, but only overnight. I am a fan of (and long time friends with) New Model Army, who are from Bradford. Do you know their music by chance?

  • Linda Rivenbark5 months ago

    I enjoyed listening to the selections and reading your story about the Skipton Sound Bar. Congratulations on your 1800th Vocal Story!

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    I used to live in Skipton but never even knew about this place 😲

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your 1800th piece! Also, you're not wrong about Spotify because it indeed is about money rather than music.

  • Fun music. Sounds like a fun place. Only one song wouldn't play for me.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Thank you for sharing!!!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Loved the trip to the Skipton Sound Bar. Congrats on adding for pieces of vinyl to your collection. Have you taken in a live performs there?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.