Beat logo

A Playlist From Heaven

Songs That Mention Heaven In Their Title

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
8
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I think one of the worst parts of the Vocal editor is the autosave just after you start a story that wipes everything you have written so far, but it's something we all live with. I have been playing some magazine compilation CDs while I worked today and one was from "Q" magazine called "Eighties" and it had three covers that mention the word "Heaven" so I thought that could be a good theme for a Vocal playlist.

That also got me thinking that we keep hearing that certain decades are the best for life or music but I seldom hear the noughties, tens/ teens and twenties but put me right if I am wrong.

So here are a few songs that I love that contain the word "Heaven" in their title.

Wayne (now Jayne) County and The Electric Chairs - "Storm The Gates Of Heaven"

This is the title track of a favourite album of mine, and I know Dharrsheena loves this. It starts off with a horror intro, then a little gruesome comedy before the main song kicks in. Sort of Classic Alice Cooper lite, but still a wonderful six minutes of musical schlock horror, and an appropriate opener for this list.

The Cure - "Just Like Heaven" from "Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me"

One of many highlights from the album and I love the guitar sound that runs through this, and, I think, one of the albums I let Frances Dibley give a new home to in the nineteen eighties.

Fiction Factory - "(Feels Like) Heaven" from "Throw The Warped Wheel Out"

The band hail from Perth in central Scotland and formed in 1982. After landing a deal with CBS Records, they released this album and three singles with the label, the high point being the #6 hit in the UK with this song.

Echo & The Bunnymen - "Heaven Up Here"

I never understood why Echo & The Bunnymen were not as big as U2, though I could say that about a few Liverpool bands such as The Teardrop Explodes, Wah! and Amsterdam. This is not them in their finery, but still a rousing piece.

Bob Dylan - "Knockin' On Heaven's Door" from the soundtrack of "Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid"

A classic that has been covered so many times but for this playlist we go with the original. I did buy this as a single when it was released and loved it because I could play and sing it.

The Smiths - "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now" (single)

I don't know if this was meant to be funny but it always makes me laugh while being a great song. I don't have any time for Morrissey these days but the music has lasted a lot better than he has. It is available on many Smith's compilation albums.

XTC - "Heaven Is Paved With Broken Glass" (Single "B" side of "Ball and Chain")

Another song I was unaware of as I didn't buy the single, just the "English Settlement" album. This excellent song is available on the compilation below.

Talking Heads - "Heaven" from "Fear of Music"

This is an amazing album and I love the textured cover of the vinyl copy. I remember the brilliant "I Zimbra" being borrowed by Haircut 100 for their single "Favourite Shirts".

I love some of the sentiments in this song, though "It's a place where nothing happens" maybe should put us off wanting to walk through those supposedly pearly gates.

Thank you so much for reading this, and I hope that you have enjoyed these heavenly songs that I have shared with you.

playlistsong reviewscelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepwortha day ago

    Great songs! Stairway to Heaven as well!

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    Nice list. Knocking on Heaven's Door will always be a classic.

  • Mariann Carroll12 days ago

    Thank you for this playlist, my song pick is by Fiction Factory ♥️

  • Nice. I recommend the Stones song with Lady Gaga "Sweet Sounds of Heaven."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.