Beat logo

A case of mistaken identity

Thug vs Bud

By Alexis NichelePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

It was October 2006 and A friend of mine from Italy was in town working on an album with the same folks who had produced Nirvana. So he took a break and came to stay with me for the holidays. I had just bought my first house in the San Fernando Valley and was very excited to have company. Umberto is the lead singer of a Rock Band 🎸called URock. It wasn’t until a few years ago that Umberto finally told me the fantastic story of how the band was named.

Fantastic because I had no idea I had played a huge part in its creation. I guess the band was having a hard time coming up with a name and at that time I had written a letter to Umberto stating how awesome their music is and how much I love the band. I think I also mentioned that he might want to learn English and make a few songs in English for goofy Americans who don’t listen to foreign music (and he did). To make a long story short I ended the letter with the phrase ‘U Rock!’ Umberto being pressed for time to come up with a band name for legal reasons had been so uplifted by my letter and how I ended it, he thought, that’s it! URock! That’s the name! We’ll, I guess the rest is history.

We we’re invited by The DJ to A Halloween party at the Standard Hotel on Sunset Blvd in Hollywood. Excited we got dressed in costume and made our way to the hotel. I remember dressing as a witch however I do not remember what Umberto was dressed as.

The music was good and the party was fun. At some point I looked across the room and saw someone familiar, Bud, my best friends neighbor. Granted I probably had one or two drinks by now, so I danced over to Bud and I said, “Hey Bud! What’s up?” But Bud did not really acknowledge that he knew me he just gave me a very odd look. So I reminded him of how he knew me and he proceeded to just give me a funny look. Not only that but the girl he was with started side eyeing me as well. So of course I got a little bit of an attitude and I said, “Oh, it’s like that? Oh for real? Alright I see how you are!”

Annoyed I went up to my DJ friend and asked him, “hey who is that guy over there?” I was not expecting the reply that I received. My friend looks up and into the crowd at whom I was referring, then he looks back at me and says, ”It’s Suge Knight.” I was in shock. Haha. I really thought it was my friend Bud.

A few minutes later I returned to Suge to apologize and let him know that I honestly had mistakened him for my friend Bud. Suge did not respond. I proceeded to tell him that I’m not a crazed fan, my Godfather was Marvin Gaye and my dad got Stevie Wonder started in the biz so he didn’t have to be so stiff toward me and then I danced off. I noticed after that Suge kept watching me while I was dancing.

At the end of the night while Umberto and I were walking back to the car, all of a sudden I noticed a white Range Rover slowing down as it approached us. The driver then rolled down the window and yelled something at us. At first I did not realize who was driving until I recognized the scowl on the face of the woman in the passenger seat. It was Suge Knight and his date.

Unfortunately I did not hear what he yelled at me so I just smiled and waved and yelled happy holidays, all the while thinking he could very well have yelled a death threat at me. I don’t think he did but I’m just saying… Umberto was thrilled to be around a Hollywood celebrity and I was just glad that the night went well and that we managed to stay out of trouble.

I think the funniest part of this entire story is that when I told my friend what happened she proceeded to tell me that a lot of people mistake Bud for Suge often. So Bud had actually decided to dress as Suge Knight that particular Halloween. So as I was mistaking Suge Knight for Bud, Bud was actually running around Hollywood pretending to be Suge Knight and I didn’t even know it. Madness! What are the chances?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Alexis Nichele

Writer/Director of Mandela Affected. I was raised in Hollywood around many influential people and have lots of stories to tell. I love story-telling! I wrote a book about several different other worldly encounters I’ve had.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.