Beat logo

A Bit of Britney and Eminem in My Top Agnst Playlist

The music embraces your soul and mind

By Andra Silvia HarțuchePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
A Bit of Britney and Eminem in My Top Agnst Playlist
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

It was a time when I used to listen to different types of music when I was a teenager. From Pop to Rock or even better from Hip-Hop to Latino. It is quite funny, no? You can imagine a teenager full of happiness, plenty of smiles all day and then a teenager who is sad, anxious and does not want to see the world at all. That was me. Music saved me from myself and from others as well. I did not own an iPod or a cool device to listen to music, but I had an old computer left in a corner of my room and that was my savage.

Every time I was in a good or bad mood, I listened to music and it made me feel even better or worse. Some experts are saying that music influences us in making and taking decisions. I can remember that in my teenage the moments of angst were more common than those of happiness just because I couldn't understand why people are so mean.

Eminem’s music has been part of my life since I was in high school and everyone who listened to him was kind of cool. For me it was kind of different. His lyrics made me feel better, understood and stronger. When you are a child, you see things differently and want to make a change in the world. When you grow up, you realize you can't change the world, but you can change yourself to make a better world. One of the songs that made me stronger is Beautiful.

5. Eminem - Beautiful

But don't let 'em say you ain't beautiful oh

They can all get, just stay true to you so

Don't let 'em say you ain't beautiful oh

They can all get, just stay true to you so

Many, many times I've been told that I am not good enough, that I am not like X and Y and that as a teenager makes you feel misunderstood and depressed. When I was sad and wanted to escape from that reality, I’ve been listening to Eminem’s song, “Beautiful” which made me more positive and stronger. No matter what, we are beautiful as we are and special in different ways.

4. Evanescence - Bring Me To Life

Wake me up inside (save me)

Call my name and save me from the dark (wake me up)

Bid my blood to run (I can't wake up)

Before I come undone (save me)

Save me from the nothing I've become

You will see in my Angst playlist different types of music because through my teen I listen to everything who made me feel understood and better at that moment.

Evanescence with her song, “Bring Me To Life” was embracing my sadness after I lost my grandma who I never met. I couldn’t understand how you can feel so close to someone you didn’t see physically. When she died, I cried, looking in the mirror and saying that one day, I will go straight away to the United States giving her a flower on her grave.

I can’t actually describe what “Bring Me To Life” meant for me, I could only listen over and over again.

3. Britney Spears - Everytime

And every time I try to fly I fall

Without my wings

I feel so small

I guess I need you baby

And every time I see

You in my dreams

I see your face

You're haunting me

I guess I need you baby

Britney is one of a kind. You can’t say you didn’t listen this song when you were sad or feeling worse because someone broke your heart into pieces and your entire world fell apart. When it happened to me, I was with me, myself and Britney Spears.

2. Vitamin C - Graduation

As we go on, we remember

All the times we had together

And as our lives change, come whatever

We will still be friends forever

During my last year in high school one of my best friends told me that she will go on holiday to a foreign country and she will come back after the summer holiday.

When she left, I tried many times to call her back, but her phone number was unavailable. I tried to reach out to her sister, but no chance. I couldn’t understand why she didn’t tell me what she’s doing or how she’s feeling.

I’ve been listening to this song during my last day in high school, thinking about her and how much I cared about her. And now, after years, I realised that people are coming into your life for a reason and leaving for a reason too.

1. Camila - De Mi

Y ahora estás aquí

Viéndome sufrir

Dime, cómo debo hacer para olvidarme

De tus besos y borrar tu nombre

My top one is in Spanish, I know, but it is so special for me. In the beginning of the video there is a dialogue which means a lot to me. It is saying that imagine that you love yourself as you are, you love your body as it is and your feelings as they are. Anyways, this one is a song about love, pain and confessions.

I couldn’t write more and share more as it was a long time ago and honestly, I am feeling a bit weird going through these memories, but I know all of these are made part of my life and my teen.

For me music is a good remedy and will always be! Live, love, music!

playlist
4

About the Creator

Andra Silvia Harțuche

Trying to find my best, my beliefs and goodness in every small piece of this life. Introvert but positive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.