Beat logo

5 Artists and Their Songs That Kept My Spirit Alive in 2020

Music has done a lot for me this year. It’s been my rock and I’m ready to tell the world.

By PriscillaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Andrea Piacquadio | Pexels.com

I'm always talking about music on my Twitter and oftentimes I feel like I'm talking to an empty crowd. I keep doing it anyway. Why? Because music is an essential part of who I am and it’s what makes my life enjoyable. I'm proud that I am happy to talk about what I love regardless of who else is paying attention. You know? But music lovers, bring it in. Let’s talk...

Rewind back to January of 2020, I had finally managed to find a place to rent after years of trying to gather the funds--and months of dealing with biased estate agents (a story for another time). I'm over the moon that I get to escape a deteriorated relationship and that my autistic son and I can live somewhere with a little bit more space--and joy.

I finally did it, it's probably one of my greatest accomplishments and I want to share with you the music that was right there with me all of the way... (GIF below is totally me in the new flat when I finally got the keys!)

Electric Guest

Thanks to MKBHD on YouTube with the hookup, I came across this group and loved them instantly. I scrambled for my Shazam app and was ecstatic when I found out who they were. A fresh and lively sound with awesome vocals was just what I needed to celebrate my new found freedom. That bridge, though? That's where the height of my celebration was. "It's a celebration, thought I would die before I ever felt alright." Those lyrics definitely resonated with me. I really felt like I made it, like I came out the other end of a tunnel. Which I did--but the pandemic (unfortunately) was waiting also.

Rema

Since I live in the not-so-diverse county of Kent, I'm reminded daily that I'm not around many other Black folk. This can be very ostracising and super lonely, add lockdown to the mix and you have a recipe for being homesick among other things. I grew up in Hackney, London.

I wanted to feel close to my people and one of the ways I do that is by listening to our music. I've recently gotten into Afrobeats (thanks to Twitter) and discovered Rema. Their song 'Dumebi' is my top played song of 2020 on Spotify which I'm quite proud of! I feel in touch with my culture and a little less alone when I hear the voice of my people.

Collins

Here's an artist I couldn't be more grateful to have discovered this year. I have recently decided that he is one of my favourite vocalists, period.

On one of my many insomnia filled nights, I was listening to music to mellow myself out. I was listening to Mario on YouTube Music and afterwards a very similar sounding artist came on next--I was shocked it wasn't Mario when I finally checked. I searched Collins' music on Spotify immediately and realised I had found a treasure trove of great music.

The melodies, harmonies, conviction, key transitions... it was all there and beautifully done. I couldn't believe I had found something so magical and that made me forget all my worries. Only one artist has ever done that (we'll talk about them later on).

I have since personally thanked Collins for his contributions to music and was happy to have kept in contact with such a talented singer and a great person. It's not often that contemporary artists impress me, but with him it was effortless. My year wouldn't have been the same without his music and I mean that from the heart.

Jon B

Jon B is one of the artists that are as real as it gets when it comes to R&B. I have enjoyed his music since my late teens. I close my eyes and just drift away or shake my hips to his timeless music. I'm very grateful to him as an artist. It only makes sense that we're also birthday twins, because...greatness! One of his singles of 2020 was 'Priceless', which I particularly enjoyed. After leaving a lack-lustre relationship, I love being told (serenaded, in fact) that I'm worth spoiling because I'm priceless! In to my special playlist it went.

Michael Jackson

Let me start this off with proudly boasting that I was in Michael Jackson’s top 0.1% of listeners on Spotify this year. When I tell you I love this man... my appreciation for him as an artist couldn’t fully be expressed with words.

I suffer with depression and anxiety, I’ve had the displeasure of experiencing panic attacks. With each and every time, ‘Thriller’ has pulled me out of the dark and horrifying place that a panic attack takes me. It’s somewhat ironic, but I hold it very close to my heart. I’m so busy enjoying the musicianship and my appreciation of Michael Jackson that my extreme anxiety literally melts away. That’s powerful.

This year, ‘You Rock My World’ was my most listened song of Michael’s and it doesn’t surprise me. In 2020, I have never needed more of a boost to get on with life, to just get things done. Michael’s music along with many others ensured that.

Lastly, let me express my eternal gratitude to all the artists that helped me get through this year. When I needed to stay up and care for my despite not sleeping enough, do chores despite lacking the motivation, to carry on another day when I preferred everything just came to an abrupt halt—you all were there.

Your music reminds me what makes this existence that little bit sweeter. You gave me strength that I was struggling to find, you reminded me that I could enjoy life despite everything around me being a shambles. A million times thank you.

Well, that’s got me emotional! Since you made it to the end, thank you so much. If my story gave your spirit life; please like, share or even bless me with a tip. I’d be grateful to you as well as these brilliant artists I wrote about today.

I welcome you back for more. ‘Till then!

list
3

About the Creator

Priscilla

UK based English Language & Literature graduate. I write whatever I feel and never limit myself. Take a step into my world.

Find out more about my work here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.