Beat logo

10 Underrated Singers and Bands That Deserve Way More Attention

Update (and upgrade) your playlist with these sounds

By Livier LefrankPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Charlotte Cardin, a name to keep in mind

Music follows me everywhere, like if my life had a soundtrack. Like most people, I'm always looking for new singers and bands. The feeling of having a whole discography to discover is unique, incomparable. Each time it's like uncovering a brand new world. Each artist, each sound brings to light new perspectives on life to the keen listener. Without further ado, here are some of the singers and bands I consider underrated and more than worthy to feature on your next playlists. (This is not a Top 10, so there's no order)

1. Shawn James

Shawn James' music can be just as much powerful than soothing. It conveys a rustic, primal feeling that makes you feel warm inside. Shawn's voice is very recognizable and comforting. Guitar, violin, voice ; most of his songs shine with an extremely efficient simplicity, or authenticity shall I rather say. If I had to put his music in image, I'd say Shawn James is a lone wolf singing in the winter wilderness. Since I discovered him, he has become one of my go-to feel-good musical destination. He deserves to be much more known.

You should start with: Through the Valley

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtHubsyGD8w

2. Charlotte Cardin

Charlotte Cardin is a Quebecer that sings mostly in English. I'm from Quebec, and I can tell you ; she's our Billie Eilish. So much talent. She's by far my favorite in the list and I sincerely think she has superstar potential. See by yourself...

You should start with: Dirty Dirty

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZDG3BoNKWY&list=PLACtwgaUWi3Vfzz-zWX-hUmAUvS7ph-pl

3. Cigarettes After Sex

Their sound is light as smoke, calm as dust settling down, smooth as a cloud. Cigarettes After Sex is my latest discovery and I've been soothing myself down with their music since then. They have been climbing up the indie charts and making a name out of themselves lately. If you're looking for a band to go to when you need to take a break from the stressful world we live in, I strongly suggest Cigarettes After Sex.

You should start with: Apocalypse

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sElE_BfQ67s

4. Seafret

Their music sounds like summer and sure would be a great addition to your playlist as the hot season is coming. When I hear Seafret, I see beaches and oceans, I hear waves and wind.

You should start with: To the Sea

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faFoxh7bSR8

5. Savage Messiah

Miss the good old 80's thrash metal à la Metallica when they were still the gritty, raw band that recorded Kill 'em All, Ride The Lightning, Master of Puppets and Justice For All? Savage Messiah is what you're looking for. Their music is fast and furious and the singer delivers a stunning performance in every song.

You should start with: All Seeing I

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eakaBcockb8

6. Innerspace

Innerspace's Pink-Floyd-esque sound is a pure treat to hear. Their music is complex, their sound is intoxicating. They have only two albums but both of them are musts.

You should start with: Wild Flower

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JZlFldMsho&list=PLF6BFE82606E695F9&index=3

7. Greta Van Fleet

Rock and roll hasn't died. Those young men deliver a music worthy of the Airbournes of this world. They are gaining popularity fast though, so I don't think they'll be underrated for long. They've made it to NHL 19 soundtrack after all! Yet, I think they deserve more attention.

You should start with: When the Curtains Fall

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hurQgJXtpKI

8. fun.

Once well-known as a fast-emerging band, fun. has disbanded a few years ago and kind of faded out of the collective memories. Their Queen-esque sound is still a pure delight, even though we don't have much songs to dive into. It is surely a band the deserves to be remembered and rediscovered.

You should start with: Some Nights

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQkBeOisNM0

9. Zayde Wolf

If you like bands like Imagine Dragons, I bet you'll love Zayde Wolf. His music is powerfully epic and has a very contemporary sound. I sure would borrow one of his song if I had to make my life's soundtrack.

You should start with: Heroes

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4Ry4qpMXqs

10. Half Moon Run

Once more, great talents from Quebec that sings mostly in English. I've been listening to them for a long time, working or alongside a campfire and I just love how this band has evolved while staying true to its roots. Their music is just so beautifully organic. If you love vocal harmonies and sweet, comforting melodies that take you somewhere else, I strongly suggest Half Moon Run.

You should start with: Full Circle

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azV0Y7v6wsg&list=PLhvin05VcQwLN-z1pGbkyh6lV-b453Lud

Please share if you enjoyed, it helps a lot.

- Livier Lefrank

list
3

About the Creator

Livier Lefrank

Passionate screenwriter and Art lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.