Art logo

The Signature Of AI Art

Six Fingers, Three Legs, And More

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
8

Introduction

This is inspired by the meme my friend Rochelle shared which is the main image for this story.

I create a lot of AI Art mainly for my Vocal Stories and I share a lot on Pixabay.

I receive a lot of criticism for using it, and recently somebody said they wouldn't a story of mine because it had AI-generated art and was therefore a definite dangerous scam.

So What Happened And Why?

Well, it wasn't a dangerous scam, and someone pointed out that it was just a generated image and did not affect the content of the article. The person went on and read the article and complained no more.

This is a piece about why I work with AI-Generated Art and even if you don't read it you can see that I have used AI-generated art in the main image design.

The thing is, generally inanimate things work, but animals and humans are given extras that they shouldn't have. I recently got a great pirate picture but one of the pirates had three legs.

In animals dogs, horses and cats often have extra legs, and people's fingers often look like bunches of intertwined worms. I usually just delete pictures like this, but that is the thing with AI-generated art, it just takes a moment to create another one, and it is virtually free to do.

While the faces on this are ok, the finger looks like it is grafted to her face and the arm part at the bottom of the picture is nothing more than a blob. I did use the top part of this for a Vocal story.

This is a great example of the messiness of finger production. This was for a nightcafe piece based on pie, but the fingers and forks are a total mess. This was done for a nightcafe challenge about Pie.

The thing is, if you want a perfect picture it has to be a real artist or maybe a photograph. Sometimes when I generate a picture for a story it hits the first time, but more often than not it results in many generations before I get something that I find acceptable.

Many times I have to scour Unsplash or Pixabay looking for a royalty-free picture. I have been told over and over that I am stealing from artists by using an AI generator. I do not believe that as I have to take what I generate and cannot fine-tune it to ensure that animals have four legs and people have four fingers and a thumb on each hand.

I have AI and Photgraphs on my Pixabaty site. There are four hundred images, maybe a hundred are photographs. Eleven Thousand downloads have resulted in a single two-dollar tip.

I actually put them there to give people the opportunity to have a few more royalty-free images for the price of an acknowledgement. I am unaware of any of those downloads that have resulted in more visits for me, but the main point is allowing my creations to be used.

So, The Signature

Most AI Art looks good from a distance, but then when you zoom in there is an absolute plethora of devils in the detail. If you don't look too closely you will probably have a hugely satisfying image.

This is another that looks fine then you realise that the woman has only one leg. The top half of the picture looks fine, but it does carry the AI Art Signature.

I'll finish with an image that is OK because it has no people or animals to make it faulty, almost like real life.

TechniquesHistoryGeneralFictionCONTENT WARNINGContemporary Art
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    Great article. I too use AI art when in a pinch. I’m a digital artist though so I feel like I’m cheating. I would like to use it more to brainstorm and draw images from the ideas myself - but all that takes time and trying to find time to write and draw and edit on top of everything else in life is practically impossible. So I stopped beating myself up over using AI art for my articles and will work on my illustrations for other projects that need the time to put the work in. I love the examples you use. It sucks on numbers too. I needed a dog wearing a clock once and it took a few times before getting something usable. I’ve only used Dalle and what Adobe has built in so far.

  • You know what, I think I know why I gave up on Nightcafe. I just didn't have the patience for it, lol. But I still collect the free daily points hahaha. I love all your AI art, although that woman looked like she's digging her nose 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Interesting stuff. In that first picture, it's not the fingers grafted to the face but the length of that (double) wrist!

  • Great story! My son & daughter dabble in A1 art & I learnt to count the fingers & toes… hilarious. I can’t see the problem in using it when it’s acknowledged. I’ll have to check out your free images sometime… I usually make do with Unsplash if I don’t have my own photos as I don’t want to breach copyright.

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    That woman in the ai generated painting could just be standing at an odd angle where her right leg is hiding her left leg.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.