Writers logo

Write About Your Feelings

Don't fear what others might think about you for it.

By Carol TownendPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
5
Write About Your Feelings
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

We all have feelings, thoughts, and emotions.

Some people might agree with how we feel and think, whilst others might not.

At the end of the day; they are your feelings and emotions to explore.

The words that flow through your mind, or onto paper are your truth and yours alone. Nobody can write like you, and while some people may go through a similar experience to you; no two people will experience things in exactly the same way.

Let's chat about the benefits of writing about our feelings.

I write about my feelings in public and in private, depending on the situation and whether I want to just privately jot down personal feelings so that I can reflect on them later.

Here's another lightbulb;

I share many of my past and present experiences here on Vocal.

I do this because it helps me to share my confusing, upsetting, painful, and frustrating thoughts about certain experiences with others who might be able to relate to how I feel.

I write about mental health a lot here.

I don't just write about what helps or how-to articles.

I write about deeply personal experiences that I have been through, and I write about creative techniques and methods that also help me.

If you want to see a few examples, I have listed them below.

'Dear Past,' is a poem that I wrote at a time when my mind got stuck in a temporary relapse of flashbacks from a time when I was going through abuse and severe mental health problems.

It is an assertive poem

Assertive poems explore negative feelings. They allow the writer to freely express themselves using assertive language in the form of a poem.

You can read many assertive poems here.

Assertive poems help me to explore my perception of the things that matter to me, or how I think and feel about them.

'Screw You!' is a poem another assertion poem.

It is about a boyfriend from the past who deeply hurt me by kissing another woman. I explore anger and revenge in this poem, though I explore revenge in the sense that it gave me freedom from the 'shame' that I was told I should feel for how I reacted.

'When The Sun Went Down Forever,' is a true story, written as a memoir to my children.

It is me telling them the whole truth about a time when trauma ripped them away from me and shattered my life. During that time, so many lies were twisted against me by people who were supposed to be helping me. My past made me very mentally unwell, and many people had caused my children to believe they were unloved, abused, and neglected.

I told this story in all its truth, and I used my favorite songs dedicated to my children in order to help me tell it.

Sometimes there are feelings we can only share in words.

'Lost Little Girl,' explores my childhood trauma memories and my feelings about a parent and recent events.

It explores what I was taught, and how I lost my sense of identity because a parent who was supposed to be there, walked away from me and made me feel like a 'lost little girl.'

The expressions in this poem come from the heart; I am not an unfeeling person, but I can't identify with the parent despite recent events, because that parent was never there for me.

I have written many things that explore the topic of feelings and emotions, which are perfectly normal to feel when you have been through a lot of trauma.

I also do a lot of writing about my thoughts, feelings, and emotions in private, when I feel uncomfortable sharing them publicly.

These are the benefits of writing about your feelings, thoughts, and emotions.

  • Writing about feelings, thoughts, and emotions has the following benefits:
  • It will help you to connect with yourself on a deeper level.
  • It will allow you to understand how you perceive yourself and the events that have affected you.
  • It will help you to recognize how you feel mentally.
  • It can help you to decide what changes you want to make in your life.

You may wish to write your thoughts just for yourself and keep them private rather than share them with the world. However, sharing some of your thoughts, feelings, and emotions publicly can help you to connect with others who may be able to relate to you, which can make you feel less alone.

You don't need to fear writing about your feelings, and there is no shame in sharing your feelings, thoughts, and emotions about certain life events publicly.

What you share, whether with the world or with yourself may help you to think about things in ways that you never thought about before, and sometimes sharing certain experiences with others, can lead to a support network of friends that you might benefit from.

Writing ExerciseProcessLifeInspirationCommunityAdvice
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Nice 👍🏽 look forward to reading some more this weekend

  • Kageno Hoshino6 months ago

    Fantastic writing

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fantastic article and advice!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    I totally agree about writing about our feelings. I've done that so many times. I always considered it "good therapy". Love your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.