Writers logo

What Wonderful Writers!

Disaster... Deep Breath... Determined Detective!

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 4 months ago 2 min read
13
What Wonderful Writers!
Photo by Zlaťáky.cz on Unsplash

Karissa E. L. Cuff's "Harbinger of Nightmares"... "The Song that Never Ended" is one of my favourite stories on Vocal Media.

I am an avid reader... especially of fiction. Despite this historical content being frequently covered, this story still tugs at my almost atrophied 'heart strings'.

"The ocean was dancing. The wind was coaxing small gentle ripples into the otherwise calm sea like music urging lovers to slow dance in a ballroom."

Such lyrically poetic language actually succeeded in entrancing this hard core plot driven; character and dialogue loving reader.

The story within the historical tale was told from the interesting angle of the ship's musicians... sensitively depicting how they stepped up from playing for entertainment and potential fame, to a higher calling...

"Play like the sea is listening," he replied. "If anybody's music can save lives it's yours my friend. Give the survivors something angelic to remember. Give the drowning something alleviating to farewell them."

"The water was dancing again. A dance of disappointment. A dance of destruction. A dance of death."

Such beautiful imagery!

Historical accuracy lent authenticity to the ending, with the last song request.

"'Nearer, my God, to thee?'" he suggested.

Walter nodded approvingly and I smiled, salt water that wasn't from the sea staining my eyes. The song I'd wished would never end. The song we would never get to finish again."

This heartwrenchly, beautiful piece is an excellent reason for recommending this piece and writer.

*********************************

Prolific, Paul Stewart writes such a wide range of stories and poems that it's nigh on impossible to choose only one to write about... however...

"Evening Reflections" is a really, sweet poem, full of encouraging words...

"Tomorrow is on its way... But, you've got it, it's just another 24".

I also love the way it concludes in a similar vein to its start.

"Sigh

Deep breath

You made it

Another day...

*

You got this

Deep breath

Sigh."

Plus, the structure is cleverly, enjoyable to read, with each line increasing or decreasing by one syllable.

His newly released book "The Accidental Poet" is as expected, filled with wonderful poetry such as this!

***************************************************************

"Stealing A Smile" by Celia in Underland...

Celia in Underland also writes across a wide range of communities and genres. Being a keen fan of Who Dunnits, I was unable to resist this trip back in time via this wonderful, historical piece which had me entralled right from its cryptic title. It was fascinating following the tale from the perspectives of the renowned, criminologist and brilliant thief.

Despite my preference for plot and dialogue, the descriptive, language flowed so naturally and vividly that I felt immersed in the thrilling, bewildering events.

"Outside, the once docile city had become fevered and hectic as the Parisian police descended like pigeons, pecking and probing unfortunate passers-by."

Truly an amazingly delightful read with a brilliant conclusion!

*******************************************

This checks off another of Judey Kalchik's "No-Stress Creative Prompts..." number three! Thanks Judey, for such interesting writing prompts!

Writing ExerciseVocalShoutoutCommunity
13

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    I thought I had liked and commented on this, lol. Bad me, slap me. Thank you for an awesome shout-out and for including me among some other great writers. I shall need to do a little diving into the others!

  • Some really great writers. I was particularly impressed with Karissa's writing

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff4 months ago

    thank you very much for including my story Angie. I appreciate it greatly

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    A lovely tribute!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    This was beautiful and very touching. To share your favorite aspects of each story and then give your impressions on them is a wonderful way to show your appreciation to the writers. <3 Beautiful.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Beautiful tributes!

  • Test4 months ago

    Oh Angie, got a notification and tootled straight over! Was not expecting this -Thank you so much! Paul is a fabulous writer but I haven't read much of Karissa's work, but I will rectify that right after I've finished cleaning my house! I keep getting Vocal distracted! Judey's prompts are fab, I'm planning on working my way through as part of my New Year's plan!

  • I would like to share a word or two, perhaps more about Paul Stewart. I initially called him Sir Paul. Then I promoted him to King of Acrostics. The next rank was Sir Paul Shakespeare followed by Lord Paul Shakespeare. Now his rank is King Paul Shakespeare! Okay, I'll show myself out now 🤣🤣🤣

  • Test4 months ago

    Marvelous work! Keep it going

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.