Writers logo

What it's Like Living With ADHD(Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder)

A Conversation With My ADHD Brain

By TonyaPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
3

“Hmm. Now Facebook is asking me what’s on my mind. OK! Here goes! I have three

more CEU (continuing education) classes to complete to renew my massage therapy

license by November 1st. I have several bills to pay soon. I’m texting now. Oh wow! I

can’t believe what I just saw someone post! That’s crazy! OK, Tonya. Focus on your

CEUs. I need to take my car to get it serviced. Darn! I forgot to pick up my meds on the

way home. Oh yeah! I need to start working on my rough draft for a chapter book that I

will be featured in. I must get started on my daughter’s children’s book. Damn! I forgot to

wash the dishes and the rest of the clothes. OK, Tonya! Don’t forget to complete your

CEU classes. I do not want to pay a late fee penalty and my license to be revoked. I just

remembered that I need to go and speak with a financial aid advisor at school. Ugh! My

homework assignment is due tonight by 11:59 p.m. I forgot to text my friend to set up

a playdate. Oh, snap! Groceries! The fridge is starting to look empty. I need to check my

email. Who is texting me this time? I am trying to focus! Oh shit! I forgot to reply to my

manager. Oh no! My manager is asking me where I’m at. Was I supposed to work

today? I thought I was off. OMG! My manager just blocked my schedule. I hope that I

don’t get fired. I just messed up big time. I need to remember to do my yoga to stay

grounded. I need to hurry up and book a hotel room for the powwow coming up next

week. What was that sound? That stupid smoke alarm is getting on my nerves. It

sounds like a loud bird chirping. I must get some more batteries. I am so drained. I

believe I will take a nap now. Ok. This is not working because I’m not able to relax.

Maybe I need to start searching for another job because I am worried that I’m going to

get fired. This homework is so boring. I need to be stimulated. Let me see what I can

find to snack on. Absolutely nothing because I have to stop by the grocery store. I’m

having company this evening and I haven’t even cleaned up the house yet. I’m feeling

really overwhelmed. Why hasn’t my package arrived yet? I ordered a couch for the

second time. I hope that the delivery guy didn’t go to the wrong address. Let me check

my voicemail. Ten new messages! I just cannot keep up. I feel like everything is

spiraling out of control. I just can’t do this alone. I feel like a bad mother because I

forgot to help my daughter with her assignment. Don’t forget to complete your CEUs

Tonya! HELP!”

The purpose of this article is to bring awareness of this invisible debilitating

neurological disorder. I feel like I’m on edge most of the time. I feel like I am my worst

enemy. Everything seems so chaotic. Every day is a struggle just to keep up in this

fast-paced World. My superpowers are hyper- focusing, multi-tasking, and being

creative. Often, I just feel like I don’t belong or that I am on a different frequency with

everyone else and that most people just don’t get me. Most days, I feel like being

secluded because having this disorder triggers my anxiety and depression. People with

ADD/ADHD are often seen as lazy, rude, and inconsiderate. That is not true in most cases. We are just misunderstood. Many people who have ADHD

also have anxiety and/or depression. According to the Mayo Clinic,

ADHD may contribute to low self-esteem, troubled relationships, and difficulty at school

or work. We are more prone to getting fired from a job. No

one wants to get fired. Rejection is the worst feeling. I have a friend who gives me

reminders and her name is Alexa. Also, she doesn’t judge me like most humans do.

Instead of judging and downplaying our disorder, please have some compassion and

educate yourself. If you are an individual who is struggling, don’t be afraid to ask for

help. There are organizations that offer resources. They include CHADD (Children and

Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder), ADDA (Attention Deficit Disorder

Association), forums, and support groups. With that said, I must go and complete my

online classes. I hope I didn’t leave anything else out.

Life
3

About the Creator

Tonya

I'm a Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist, the author of two books, and narrarated two audiobooks. I am also a blogger, and have been a guest on several podcasts. I love writing poetry, traveling, dancing, and watching movies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    This is like my brain 😳

  • Luther7 months ago

    Nice work great stuff ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I know what that’s like! I have ADHD too! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.