Writers logo

War's over and Love's here

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1
War's over and Love's here
Photo by We-Vibe Toys on Unsplash

The 1917 war was well over. And soldiers were returning from duty. I had a love from yonder met him when I was just shy of 16. He was both handsome and strong. He made me feel like a woman. I loved his charm and sweet kisses. He swept me off of my feet. It was good back then but now I am out of my parents' home. I am completely on my own. No man to help guide me through the day or write sweet love letters. I stopped getting love letters from Mickey way back, a few months or weeks ago. I asked the postal man and he keeps saying the same thing that I did not receive anything. I called his family and no one responds. I couldn't reach his old friends because they all served with him. Yup alone in this big city. Something you learned from growing up poor, you learned guts. You learned grits. You learned how to tough it out. I recognized life is no apple pie. But life should be simpler. Life should be complete. Life should be whole. After all this is the country of freedom. This is the country of grace. This is the country of hope. Mickey would say that he loved me. Mickey would say that he missed me. Mickey would say that I am all that he dream of. He better not have gone off with some other woman. Some other who would care for him like me. Someone who would love him like me.

I worked all day at the laundry and at night I have a singing gig. I do laughed at people who think my work is hard. You just throw the damn clothes into the washer then the clean clothes into the dryer. And you keep doing this till the time run out. You dress like a maid because this is not some fancy dinner. And you worked until your time comes. And I don't work no overtime because that's when they get you, free labor there you go. I just worked my time and do a good job and get right back to work on time tomorrow. Hey maybe I would be head of the joint.

Anyways at night, that's where its fun at the jazz club singing. I would sing something new then end with something sassy. So I was doing my regular at the club. The crowd was a bunch of soldiers coming home. And they were loving every song, the night was young and my heart was really into it. I would end with the tip maker, the money maker, the silent secret. I would sing with two large feathers to give them a visage. And just when I was into it, a soldier was approaching I thought to get close and see. But he jump on the stage and cover me. He then kiss me on the stage and I slap him. And said who do you think you are. And he said Hi Marianne and that he was Mickey. And turned around and said she is mines guys and the show is over. Mickey stood at my door to my room and told me to hurry up because he really wanted to take me to that diner. I got ready and we went. Mickey said that I always wanted to take you there. And when we got there Mickey asked for the most prestigious table. And just when we got comfortable he got on one knee in front of everyone and asked me to marry him. I told Mickey that it was not right and that we should think it over because he left me. And Mickey was about to cry and he asked me again and said "Marianne, don't do this. Don't walk out on me. I love you. I have been faithful to you. You are the love of my life. And I don't ever think I would find someone like you. Will you marry me?" And I said I will while holding Mickey and not looking at the ring. And we went in together under the Moon of NYC in my apartment. And in the morning, I looked up and there was Mickey next to me. And I put on the ring again and enjoyed immensely the sun rising. Love was finally here and war was very much over.

Community
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.