Writers logo

The Buffalo Loves

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
1
The Buffalo Loves
Photo by Agung Pratamah on Unsplash

It was right after the Civil War ended, we were commissioned to the West. I never been to the West being the son of a slave. I had never been exploring the country. I never had the money or the freedom. But I needed the job, I needed the challenge. Too many things happened in this country. Too many injustices and now it is time for my people to see the world. For my people to become something that they never were able to become. I did not agree with the cause but I wanted the adventure. My dear father died during the slavery years and my mother I did not know much. I had nothing left down South. I did not want to reminded of the pain and the terrible past. I was fully ready for an adventure. And I did not want to look back as a person, as a citizen and as a freeman. My eyes were set on the West. And I had a captain who understood my hopes and dreams. I had a captain James who understand my bout with life. A captain who would risked anything for us to get the justice we so desire.

Riding a horse is quite strange. First you got to win their trust then you got to guide them gently. I never thought in my life to ride a horse. Yet I was the first of my troops to do it besides the officers. I was unafraid and determined. I remember my father saying when they look you in the eye and see you as a man then you fulfilled my dreams for you. My father wasn't a proud man but a humble man. He chopped wood all of his life and he loved it because it took his anger about being enslaved off his mind. He was able to endure slavery because of his great hope and belief in God. He told me don't bow only for your life but bow to God son and he will lift you up. Remember he draws people to you if you humble yourself. So now our troops are called to gather the Natives. I never met a Native in my life but I wonder what they are like. I wondered why the government would enslaved these people like us.

One morning I was the first to get up with other troops, I saw some officers screaming at a proud Native telling him to lift those huge buckets of water. And I was shocked after everything my people went through, after all the injustices. They kept and threatening to beat him. So I ran toward them and just in time to stop them from beating him. I turned my backs toward the officers and ask the Native's name after asking if he understood English and he said Running Bull. Running Bull said that he is Chief of these people and they did no wrong. I shook his hand and said my name is Dickens. And I like my father's son starting lifting, it was a struggled but I was willing. I cried out and then yelled Almighty and drag the buckets of water to its place. The officers were angry and plan to reprimand me but my officer James told them about his soldiers. And he threatened to report them to the head officers. He also reiterated what the President of the United States said, we are suppose to be peaceful. He reminded the officers that they might trigger a rebellion among black soldiers if they see images of slavery. Running Bull signaled for me to represent his people and he welcomed me to his teepee'. As I walked in, I saw this beautiful maiden, long hair, pretty eyes and rosemary skin. Running Bull almost caught me being in a daydream over her. Running Bull said So you like my Beloved Little Sister, Annie Mae. I could barely get a word out. And she blushed and set a meal before me. I saw and ate. Running Bull said Be careful, I take it you never had our food before. Running Bull further said "I don't care what happens to me. I don't care what happens to my life. I lived long longer than my father. But my people is what I care about. They are leading us to a land and we fear its death." And Running Bull bow his head and walk out of the teepee'. Annie Mae asked if I wanted more. And I signaled that I did. Then she sat before me putting her hands upon my shoulders asking me to tell about my people. And after hours of telling her about my people, I lightly kiss her lips and hands. Soon after Running Bull came in, and he asked if I had another woman. I told him Elizabeth is my mother and she was White and my father Joseph was Black. And I never felt the way I feel about Annie Mae like anyone else. Running Bull said Then take her as your wife and become one people. So that night I kiss and embrace Annie Mae. I travelled all night to my station and asked my captain if I could marry her. James said " I don't know but you have been a worthy soldier. And good friend. The troop will miss you. And I don't trust those officers. They might plot to take more actions. Maybe it is for the best." Then I ran all day to see Annie Mae and I could not find her. I searched by the rivers and streams. I looked up the mountains and valleys. Then my Captain James said that he found her. She was weeping by the pond near Old Mountain. And I asked her why she was crying. She said they shot Running Bull and numerous of other men in her tribe. And the some of the women scatter. She was shaking and crying. And I held her close like a lamb, like a sheep, like a beautiful flower. And I kissed her tears and promised that she would be safe and that we can marry and be a people.

Community
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    A beautiful, heartwarming story. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.