Writers logo

Back in Burroburg

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1
Back in Burroburg
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

It was way after slavery. It was somewhat peaceful. Momma said People were prospering like never before. People were doing things, inventing stuff that could change a million lives. I always looked to Momma because she was the smartest woman I've known. She would treat me like a treasure. I guess because I was her only child from the man who loved her so much. Momma said she believed father died from the war. All she knew was one day that she got a letter from the military when she was pregnant with me. The officers said their condolences and bow their head handing the letter and Papa's last check from the military. I grew up in Burroburg. Burroburg is my home as long as I can remember. It is a cross between a city and the country. My family was all I knew when I was growing up. As my cousins went away, and created their lives. I was hopelessly in love with Burroburg. I would go on walks with Momma throughout the nighttime. We would talk about growing up. Momma would reassure me that she loves me and I would tell Momma that I love her. As time went by other people were moving into Burroburg and as a long time resident of Burroburg I wanted to know. The community was thriving and upcoming. We have many businesses. We were building many houses. Every year most of the men would fix the roads. Then it was that year starting to become a woman and wanting new friends. I prayed to God that I would met someone who would inspire me to do something great. And a few days I met Haddie, she was lively and she was bursting with new energy. I don't think I ever seen someone in town who had as much energy as Haddie. "Pollie when are you gonna stop reading and start playing," said Haddie. I tried to tell her Momma wants me to do something great and be something better than her and Papa. I even offered to read the story to her. She listen and wanted to know where I got the book from. I told her it is from school. She walked me to school and I walked her school. Her school times were different and the weather did not help much. After some time, Haddie wanted to see my school so I asked Momma. Momma looked distressed she said " I don't know child. People aren't that open. And your relationship with Haddie is conditional Pollie. You can hang around her as long as you get your schooling okay." I signaled Yes obediently to Momma. Haddie was dying to meet my school and so I invited her to a community gathering. Most people ignored Haddie. Some said Hi and wave. I was embarrassed because they did not act that way when I was around them. They were lively and homely and welcoming. So after several hours, I told and motion for Haddie that it is time to leave. Haddie was still having fun and I was shocked by people's reaction. Haddie and I walked home. I said "You know Haddie they were putting on a show. They were doing that because you were White." Haddie ignored and kept smiling. And Pollie said, "Haddie, its your friend Pollie. And I had to tell you the truth. Momma said if I don't continue doing what's right and my schooling. Then we can't play together anymore." Haddie said "I know my mother and father said the same thing." "Hey we are of age you're 16 and I am 18. We haven't had our first kiss," said Haddie. Pollie uncomfortably said "Momma told me to wait till marriage." "Well maybe tonight is the night. See that young fella throwing rocks at the tree. He's cute," said Haddie. Haddie leave Pollie and begin to approach the young man. Haddie said "Ever kissed a woman like me fella." And the young man signal no. Haddie suggestively kiss and hug the young man. And Pollie in emotions begged Haddie to hurry up and she dragged her slightly . And Haddie signaled it wasn't over between her and the young man. Haddie said "Why did you do that?" Pollie explained "Haddie you just moved here. But people are racists. You kissing that young Black man could get him lynched. Are you crazy? If Momma hears about this then you can forget our friendship." "Well you think I am White. I'm Jewish Pollie. They act funny with me too. I'm tired of the looks. I'm tired of the acts. Why are people so racists?" said Haddie. And Pollie unable to explain walk away and they both go home crying. Haddie haven't heard from Pollie in a while, both are thinking about their friendship and the joys and ups and the downs. After several weeks of being apart, Pollie send Haddie a simple letter. And they met by the pond "I'm sorry Pollie. It will never happen again. it is not your fault or mines." said Haddie. "I am frustrated too. You are not my foe. You are not my enemy. You are my sister, my Jewish sister. And I will not never treat you like a token," said Pollie. And the two hugged and promised to secretly fight for eachother and look out for each other no matter what.

Community
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.