Writers logo

The Beloved Princess

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Beloved Princess
Photo by Ema Studios on Unsplash

I remember a little bit about my mother and father. I knew they were in loved. I knew they were close at one time. I knew they were best friends. But I never understood why they parted. I never knew why they separated. My grandmother who raised me said they had loved but as much as they had loved, they had disagreements She believed that my father's family wanted him to marry someone else. And my mother felt isolated and unwanted so she ranaway with me. I longed for my father maybe sometimes even more. My father has always been in my heart but I could not express it. My mother left me when I was twelve and she told me everything she could about my father. She said he was some king in a faraway country. She said many things about how powerful and prestigious he was. And that she wrote him letters about me and she received no response. Now that I am about to marry, where a father supposed to wish his daughter well. I don't know where to turn. I don't even know he would notice me. He probably doesn't care. Maybe father moved on and started a new family. However grandma told me to write him as she gave me his address.

A messenger riding on a horse delivers a message to the King and all along the way he is calling Sire. He runs pass the guard and the commoners. And he doesn't hesitate on his way, he demands as if he has something important to tell the king. And the King motion for him to come. And he tells the king that it is a private matter and so the king demands privacy. And many exits out of the Throne room in haste and the king's guards blocked the doorway. And so the king motioned for the messenger to come near and read. And he reads the message. And the king cries "Ella, my beloved has passed. And I was not told about her passing. I promised her not to choose any other. That's why I never married." And the king's advisor instructed the king to hold back because there was more. The king exclaimed "We have a daughter named Bee. And she wrote this letter. She is that clever and beautiful as her mother." The king's advisor called in the Royal Writers but the King insisted that none will be taken. "I will go myself. My daughter Bee about to get married and she should have her father by her side. Gather all the King's men and all the King's horses." And the Prime Minister insisted that the King do not but the King instructed his advisor that he would do as he please and the king said, "I dedicated my life to this country. Now I should have some licensee. Give me licensee so I might attend to family duties."

"Grandmother it has been weeks and he did not respond. And I am frustrated. Maybe mother in her anger was right about him," said Bee. And her grandmother motioned for her to come. She showed her nature and said "You see all creatures wait for Spring and Summer yet they have to endured Winter and Fall. It is apart of life to be patient." And Bee finally got what she was saying if it will be then it will be. If my father was meant to come then he will come. And she breathed deeply and hugged her grandmother. And Jotham entered the room, as always he lovingly read his poetry to Bee as she lights up, he says " Your eyes are like light, your touch is as velvet, your heart is as gold. And you are the choicest of them all My Beloved Bee." Bee is overwhelmed with joy and ready to hugged her fiancee Jotham but grandmother gets between them and says after marriage. A few weeks passed by and then the Wedding of Bee and Jotham, the wedding is going on and as soon as the gents enter with the groom, then the maids enter, then the bride. All of sudden, they hear a noise everybody turn, trumpets and soldiers and horsemen, shouting Lift up the gates Lift up the gates for the King has entered. And Bee was holding hands with Jotham and her eyes moved from him searching for the king. The King well decorated step forward and march down the aisle. Bee was overcome with tears and joy crying father. "I named you Bee because you were beautiful just like your mother. Ella was the love of my life. I never married anyone else. I am sorry for not answering you sooner but I wanted to come myself in all of my array to see my beloved child, my only child," said the King. Bee hugged her father the King and Jotham asked who the king was. And Jotham moved to shake the King's hand but after Bee told her father the King who he was. The King bear hugged Jotham and motion for the wedding to continue.

Community
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.