Writers logo

The Story from 8 Years Ago

Taking back what depression took from me

By Sarah GlassPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
The Story from 8 Years Ago
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Eight years ago, I started a story and ghosted it for the next seven.

But this time, I'm getting serious.

I know I've said it plenty of times before. A thousand times, I'm sure.

But this time, I'm for real.

To prove it to myself, I started an Instagram page dedicated to my writing. I now have followers interested in my story. They don't realize it, but their engagement and interest keep me accountable. I'm also about to get a Newsletter started as I finish writing my final draft. After that, it'll be ready to be handed over to beta readers.

And I do kick myself sometimes for waiting so long, but then I remember I was battling severe depression and anxiety for the last seven years. It drained me of any happiness and joy I took in creativity.

At one point, I did manage to grab a sliver of creativity back. I put a saddle on it and rode off into a sunset of designing children's clothing, sewing, and started a business doing it. There were a lot of learning curves with marketing and some financial restrictions, but I was certain it would someday become a side job for me.

Until Covid happened.

And more depression set in.

I took a break.

I lost my creativity again.

Thus, the dark cycle began again. Until last year in July when My husband and I went on our ninth-year anniversary, our first vacation away from the kids since our fifth anniversary.

It was in that cabin tucked in the woods with the fresh air, quiet evenings, and crisp mornings that I found my love for writing again. I revisited that story I hadn't touched in years because, truthfully, it had been on my mind all those years hoping one day I'd get to finish it.

It was so badly written and full of unnecessary characters, scenes, and dialogue, and I realized something else. When I'd written it, I was between the age of twenty and twenty-one years old. I was in a completely different season of life back then compared to now.

Regardless, I knew I could still use some of the characters and the world I'd built. So, I took the time to re-map it the best I could as a Pantser with ADHD and rewrote the entire story.

I got rid of characters.

I changed the theme.

I added character development.

Then I re-wrote it again this year. And again. And again. I'm nearly finished with my final draft and as I look back, I just smile and look forward again.

I know I've written the word 'again' three times up there, but that word holds a lot of meaning in my life. Because every day I'd tell myself, "I'll try again."

Only this time, 'again' means I'm getting better.

These past two years, I've stopped making excuses. I've started getting up early. I'm managing my depression and anxiety better. I go to the gym (not as much as I'd like, but it's a start). My youngest kid is in Pre-K now so it's easier to have a strong routine I can follow.

Today was my first day without any kids at home. This year is my first to have them all in school, full-time.

And for the first time, it feels like I've let go of a breath I'd been holding all these years.

Is this what freedom feels like?

I think for me it does.

Every now and then, depression, anxiety, or imposter syndrome comes to visit. But I'm getting better at telling them now. It's not perfect, but it's a process.

I know I'll never be a hundred percent rid of them, but seeing them less gives me hope.

I WILL self-publish my first book. And I'm going to write many more after.

R.I.P old self. I don't hate you. I love you. And it's time for me to let go and become something new.

ProcessWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockPublishingLifeInspirationChallengeAchievements

About the Creator

Sarah Glass

It started with FFX fanfiction stories and my love for creating a world to escape to when reality's teeth sank in too deep. I'm an artist, a dreamer, and I have an original story I've been working on for 8yrs. Time to get it published!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Test6 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Sarah D11 months ago

    Liked this a lot. Heartfelt feelings are expressed here. Read mine too? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Maggie Elizabeth 11 months ago

    Depression stole my creativity for many years, but recently I've started to feel some sunshine in my brain again. Thanks for writing this inspirational piece! Keep writing!

  • Kelly Khoo11 months ago

    "Resilience shines through adversity. 🌟 Keep writing and inspiring others!" ✍️

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Strong work. Good on you for sticking with it and keeping going no matter what. I really hope you get your book published. That’s an AWESOME achievement.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I was just talking about this with another writer this morning. I sometimes have to hold off on writing a story because I’m not mentally, emotionally, or physically ready to write it. Sometimes my mind is too distracted by other things that must be handled. Other times, I still need to process emotions or heal from things before I can write about them. Even if it’s fiction. It’s always close to my heart. So I have to let go of the pain before I can enjoy the creative process of telling a story. Other times I need rest, or a good meal. I’m so glad you took that time for yourself when you needed it, and that you’re back to writing again. Also, congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Good for you!! ❤️ You go girl!

  • Alexandria Stanwyck11 months ago

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing this with us and congrats on the Top Story. Your story gives me the strength to keep going, and not punish myself for my struggles and delays of stories I would like to share.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    I felt every line of this. Life has a way of getting in the way sometimes. But it seems that this time and your experiences have given you your voice. And I like that voice. You are a gifted writer, keep at it. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Alivia Varvel11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this! Such a lovely story of resilience. Love this bit: “Every now and then, depression, anxiety, or imposter syndrome comes to visit.” “Visiting” is such a great way to look at it. Simply greet them as they come and wave goodbye as they go. I’m so glad you’ve found power and freedom in your writing. Congrats!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I’m so with you! I dedicated my life to writing every single day no matter what. It’s been an awesome journey that I don’t regret. Congratulations on top story and I can’t wait to read more from you! 🥳🎉

Sarah GlassWritten by Sarah Glass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.