Writers logo

Writer's Block

But it's a lot of other things.

By Sarah GlassPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
2
Writer's Block
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

It all started when I got all the feedback from my beta readers. I wrote my first book this year and I'm in the process of self-publishing. They left a lot of great feedback and I was excited to start changing things for the better once they were finished.

But when I had to sit down with the parts that needed to be fixed, it suddenly overwhelmed me and I had to close out of Google Drive.

I'm used to doing a lot of work. But that's the problem. I burn myself out. I might be burnt out now, but it feels like so much more. Is it writer's block? I don't know, but I feel depressed, I feel frustrated, I feel scared, I feel overwhelmed, and I feel like I've lost something that was once mine.

Where did my creativity go? My drive? My motivation?

I know I just need to start writing, but every time I sit down at the keyboard and write a few sentences it feels all wrong and I become frustrated again.

I don't like how long this writer's block is lasting. It's been weeks since my beta readers finished my book. I need to get my butt in gear and I promise I'm trying so hard!

Nobody can see it, but that's because the workload is in my head. It's bogged down in here. I'm wading through piles of ideas, starting points, middle points, low self-esteem, and imposter syndrome.

Wait...I don't remember inviting him in, but that's just like imposter syndrome, isn't it? He doesn't get invited. He slips in through the cracks, gets past the barricade of positive affirmations I've tapped up, and sits there like a blot of ink on a beautifully crafted picture...distracting me from what's really important.

I don't even know how I'm writing this.

Perhaps this is what I needed. I needed a brain dump moment.

Usually, writing on something else helps my creative juices start flowing. So I tried to write for one of the current challenges, Arid. I've had several ideas that I've fleshed out enough to make it into something, but each time I write he leans in and whispers in my ear.

"That's not good enough."

"That actually sounds pretty stupid."

It's the same words he whispered to me when I tried to work on my book.

How is it that such simple, softly spoken words can tear down an entire empire of a well-thought-out story driven by years of passion, determination, and hard work?

I hate it.

There, I said it. I hate it so much. And oddly enough, I'm starting to feel a little better. Just a little. I've been trying to ignore him for a while, hoping he'll go away on his own. But I think that's making it worse.

Perhaps I just need a change in scenery. I usually write at home tucked away in my corner of the dining room with a hot cup of bergamot and vanilla tea. The window blinds are closed when it's sunny out, otherwise, there's a glare on my screen and my right arm warms up fast.

I should go to my favorite local coffee shop tomorrow where they make the best iced vanilla matchas. There's a little nook with enough privacy to allow me to feel comfortable and safe. I'll just put in my earbuds and tune out the world so I can enter mine.

If that doesn't work, I'll go home and paint! I'll draw! I'll dress up in steampunk and pretend I'm the main character in the story I've written. I'll do whatever it takes to get it all back and shove imposter syndrome back out through the cracks from whence he came!

And maybe I'll enter that challenge. I don't know yet.

After all, I am a Pantser with ADHD.

Writer's BlockPublishingProcessLife
2

About the Creator

Sarah Glass

It started with FFX fanfiction stories and my love for creating a world to escape to when reality's teeth sank in too deep. I'm an artist, a dreamer, and I have an original story I've been working on for 8yrs. Time to get it published!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    First of all, take a break! Please. Breaks are necessary, no matter what line of work you do. You cannot write an entire book, and then immediately start rewriting it after beta readers see it. That’s not how the publishing industry works—it takes quite some time between when your literary agent accepts you as a client, and gets you a publisher, and your book is released in stores. That can take years. And that’s after the book has been perfected enough to submit! You wanting to immediately jump into this is harming you creatively and emotionally. You’re being too hard on yourself, and it’s making you feel like shit. Listen, you’ve got this. You wrote a full length book! The hardest part is over. You accomplished something most people on this planet never will. Do you know that? You’re in the minority. You’ve done something so exceptional. So you know that you can accomplish anything, even things no one in your life has done. You will rewrite this book after your well deserved break. You might rewrite it a few times. But you’ll take your time with it. And you’ll enjoy the process, as you’re meant to. And you’ll keep at it until your joy has peaked, because you’ve written something you’re so happy with. There’s no rush. Secondly, next time you hear that nasty voice in your head, argue with it. Seriously. It worked for me. I would hear those inner thoughts ridiculing me, and I’d shoot them down in my mind. I’d vehemently disagree. Then that voice gave up. And I never hear it anymore. You can’t just ignore it. You have to argue with it. That’s how you assert your will. You assert your will by ridiculing your own doubts until you have none. Again, you’ve got this. 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.